Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Strepto


  Director : TRIEU-CUOT Patrick (ptrieu@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research is directed mainly towards characterizing the virulence factors of Streptococcus agalactiae, a major cause of invasive infections in the neonate. To this end, genetic and cellular technics are combined with the use of a murine model to characterize the genes involved in the virulence of this bacterium. Beside this research, we also studied the dissemination of antibiotic resistance in the enterococci, streptococci, and related bacteria. Lastly, we have developed a novel genotypic method for accurate identification of Gram-positive bacteria (enterococci, streptococci, staphylococci,...) at the species level based on the rapid sequencing of the monocopy target gene sodA.



  report

cale

Virulence factors of Streptococcus agalactiae

Lancefield's group B Streptococcus (GBS), also referred to as S. agalactiae, is part of the normal flora colonizing the respiratory, gastrointestinal, and urogenital tracts of humans. It is the leading cause of invasive infections (septicemia, meningitis, and pneumonia) in neonates and is also responsible for invasive infections in adults, in particular in immuno-compromised hosts. GBS are subclassified into serotypes according to the immunologic reactivity of the polysaccharide capsule. Of the nine serotypes described so far, the types Ia, Ib, II, III, and V are responsible for the majority of neonatal human GBS disease. Serotype III GBS is particularly important because it causes a significant percentage of early-onset disease (infection occurring within the first week of life) and the majority of late-onset disease (infection occurring after the first week of life) in human neonates. It is also responsible for the majority (80%) of neonatal GBS meningitis cases.
The physiopathology of GBS infections implies that this bacteria i) can evade the host defense, ii) can adhere to and invade various types of epithelial cells, including those constituting the brain blood barrier, and iii) can rapidly adapt to various growth conditions (pH and temperature variations, nutritional starvation, etc...).


1. Contribution of the Mn-Cofactored Superoxide Dismutase (SodA) to the Virulence of S.agalactiae.

Superoxide dismutases convert the superoxide anions to molecular oxygen and hydrogen peroxide which, in turn, is metabolized by catalases and/or peroxidases. These enzymes constitute one of the major defense mechanisms of cells against oxidative stress and, hence play a role in the pathogenesis of certain bacteria. We previously demonstrated that GBS possesses a single Mn-cofactored superoxide dismutase (SodA). To analyze the role of this enzyme in the pathogenicity of GBS, we constructed a sodA-disrupted mutant of Streptococcus agalactiae NEM316 by allelic exchange. This mutant was subsequently cis-complemented by integration into the chromosome of pAT113/Sp harboring the wild sodA gene. The SOD specific activity detected by gel analysis in cell-free extracts confirmed that active SODs were present in the parental and the complemented strains, but absent in the sodA mutant. The growth rate of the mutant in aerated medium was lower than that of the wild and complemented strains, whereas the growth rates of these strains were comparable in standing cultures. In mouse bone marrow-derived macrophages, the sodA mutant showed an increased susceptibility to bacterial killing by macrophages. In a mouse infection model, after i.v. injection, the survival of the sodA mutant in the blood and the brain was markedly reduced in comparison to those of the parental and complemented strains, whereas only minor effects on survival in the liver and the spleen were observed. These results suggest that SodA plays a role in GBS pathogenesis.


2. Biosynthesis of D-alanyl-lipoteichoic acid in S. agalactiae is regulated by a novel two-component regulatory system and contributes to virulence.

The dlt operon of gram-positive bacteria comprises four genes (dltA, dltB, dltC, and dltD) that catalysed the incorporation of D-alanine residues into the lipoteichoic acids (LTAs). We characterised the dlt operon of S. agalactiae which, in addition to the dltA-dltD genes, included two regulatory genes, designated dltR and dltS, located upstream of dltA. The gene dltR encodes a 224 amino acid putative response regulator belonging to the OmpR family of regulatory proteins. The gene dltS codes for a 395 amino acid putative histidine kinase thought to be involved in the sensing of environmental signals. The dlt operon of S.agalactiae is mainly transcribed from the PdltR promoter which directs synthesis of a 6.5-kb transcript encompassing dltR, dltS, dltA, dltB, dltC, and dltD. We demonstrated that PdltR is activated by DltR in D-Ala deficient LTA mutants resulting from insertional-inactivation of the dltA gene which encodes the cytoplasmic D-alanine-D-alanyl carrier ligase DltA. The DltA- mutant displayed the ability to form clumps in standing culture and an increased susceptibility to the cationic antimicrobial polypeptide colistin. We also reported that incorporation of D-Ala residues in the LTAs is important for the virulence of S. agalactiae since, in a mouse infection model, the DltA- mutant was eliminated more rapidly from the blood, brain, liver, and spleen than the wild type strain.
The dramatic clearance of the DltA- mutant in the blood was interpreted as resulting from an increased susceptibility to phagocytosis by polymorphonuclear cells and/or macrophages since the wild type strain and D-Ala deficient LTA mutant are similarly resistant to direct killing by mice or human serum in the absence of specific antibodies. Consistently, preliminary results have shown that this mutant is more susceptible to bacterial killing by murine macrophages than the wild type strain. Since the main phenotypic alterations caused by D-Ala ester deprivation in LTAs of S.agalactiae were an increased susceptibility to the cationic antimicrobial polypeptide colistin, a likely explanation for this observation is that the DltA- mutant is more susceptible to the murine defensins. An alternative possibility is that the mutant is more susceptible to the growth conditions (pH and oxidative stress) encountered in the phagolyzosome.

3. Structural analysis and functional analysis of the genome of S. agalactiae (In collaboration with Dr F. KUNST and Dr P. GLASER, Laboratoire de Séquençage des Micro-organismes Pathogènes, Pasteur Institute and with Dr T. MSADEK, Unité de Biochimie Microbienne, Pasteur Institute).

This research program was conceived to valorise at the best the availability of the genome of S. agalactiae that was sequenced by Dr F. KUNST and Dr P. GLASER (Laboratoire de Séquençage des Micro-organismes Pathogènes, Pasteur Institute). The three main objectives followed (resistance to oxidative stress, surface proteins, environmental adaptation and expression of virulence genes) were chosen because they constitute key elements in the comprehension of the physiopathology of GBS infections and for the characterization of the gene(s) involved in the crossing of the brain blood barrier. Furthermore, their elucidation may provide new targets to develop therapeutic treatments, in particular for the development of a vaccine.


A novel genotypic method for accurate identification of gram-positive cocci at the species level.

Several genotypic methods based on the analysis of PCR products derived from selected target DNA have been developed for bacterial species identification including the determination of the 16S rDNA sequence. In the latter case, however, the interpretation of these data may be complicated by the fact that closely related species may have identical 16S rDNA sequences or, alternatively, that divergent 16S rDNA sequences may exist within a single organism. To solve this problem, it is possible to use alternative monocopy target sequences which exhibit a higher divergence than that of the 16S rDNA. The sodA gene of the gram-positive cocci which encodes the manganese-dependent superoxide dismutase fulfills these criteria and we recently reported that sequencing of the sodA PCR product with the use of a single pair of degenerate primers constitutes a valuable approach to the genotypic identification of streptococcal and enterococcal species. We recently used the same universal primers to construct a sodA database of all coagulase-negative staphylococcal (CNS) type species described so far and we demonstrated the usefulness of this library for a rapid sequence-based identification method of CNS isolates. These sodA databases might be used to develop a rapid microbial identification system based on the DNA chips technology.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
   

TRIEU-CUOT, Patrick (IP)

POYART, Claire (Necker)

de BARROS NASCIMENTO BAPTISTA, Marina (Post-doc)

LALIOUI, Lila (Post-doc)

LAMY, Marie-Cécile (PhD student)

 

filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Strepto


  Responsable : TRIEU-CUOT Patrick (ptrieu@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre recherche porte essentiellement sur la caractérisation des facteurs de virulence de Streptocccus agalactiae, un agent majeur des infections néonatales. A cette fin, les techniques de génétique et de biologie cellulaire sont combinées avec l'utilisation d'un modèle murin pour caractériser les gènes impliqués dans la virulence de ce pathogène. Parallèlement à cette recherche, nous étudions la dissémination de la résistance aux antibiotiques dans les entérocoques, les streptocoques et les bactéries apparentées. Enfin, nous avons développé une nouvelle méthode génotypique pour une identification précise au niveau de l'espèce des bactéries à Gram positif (entérocoques, streptocoques, staphylocoques,...) basée sur le séquençage rapide de la cible monocopie du gène sodA.



  rapport

cale

Les facteurs de virulence de Streptococcus agalactiae.

S. agalactiae, streptocoque du groupe B de Lancefield (SGB), est un constituant normal de la flore humaine qui colonise les voies respiratoires, digestives et urogénitales. Cette bactérie est la principale cause d'infections (septicémie, méningite et pneumonie) chez le nouveau-né et est également responsable d'infections chez l'adulte, notamment sur terrain fragilisé. Les SGB peuvent être classés en sérotypes sur la base de l'immuno-réactivité de leur capsule polysaccharidique. Parmi les neuf sérotypes capsulaires caractérisés à ce jour, les types Ia, Ib, II, III et V sont responsables de la majorité des infections néonatales à SGB. Le sérotype capsulaire III est particulièrement important car il est fréquemment associé aux infections néonatales précoces qui surviennent au cours de la première semaine après la naissance et est responsable de la majorité des infections néonatales tardives qui surviennent après la première semaine. Ce sérotype est également responsable de la majorité des cas de méningites néonatales dues aux SGB.
La physiopathologie des infections à SGB implique que cette bactérie puisse i) échapper aux défenses immunitaires de l'hôte, ii) adhérer et envahir différents types de cellules épithéliales dont celles constituant l'épithélium pulmonaire et la barrière hémato-méningée et iii) s'adapter rapidement à des conditions de culture très différentes (pH, température, carences nutritives, ...).


1. Contribution de la superoxide dismutase Mn-dépendante (SodA) dans la virulence de S.agalactiae.

Les superoxide dismutases convertissent les superoxides en oxygène et en peroxydes qui, à leur tour, sont métabolisés par les catalases et/ou les peroxydases. Ces enzymes constituent les principaux mécanismes de résistance des cellules au stress oxydatif et, de ce fait, jouent un rôle dans la virulence de certaines bactéries. Nous avons préalablement montré que les SGB synthétisaient une superoxide dismutase Mn-dépendante (SodA) unique. Pour analyser le rôle de cette enzyme dans la virulence des SGB, nous avons construit un mutant SodA- de la souche S. agalactiae NEM316 en inactivant le gène sodA par échange allélique. Ce mutant a été par la suite complémenté par intégration dans le chromosome du vecteur pAT113/Sp qui contenait le gène sodA sauvage. L'étude des activités Sod par analyse électrophorétique d'extraits bactériens a confirmé la présence d'une enzyme active dans les souches sauvages et complémentées mais non dans la souche mutante. En culture aérée, la croissance de la souche mutante était inférieure à celle de la souche sauvage ou complémentée, alors qu'aucune différence de croissance n'était observée en culture non aérée. Par ailleurs, le mutant SodA- présentait une sensibilité accrue à la lyse par des macrophages différentiés à partir de monocytes de moelle osseuse de souris. Dans un modèle d'infection murin, après injection i.v., la survie du mutant SodA- dans le sang et le cerveau était significativement réduite en comparaison de celles des souches sauvages et complémentées alors que peu de différence était observée dans le foie et la rate. Ces résultats suggèrent que la protéine SodA contribue à la virulence des SGB.


2. L'estérification des acides lipotéchoïques chez S. agalactiae est régulée par un nouveau système de régulation à deux composants et contribue à sa virulence.

L'opéron dlt des bactéries à Gram-positif est composé de 4 gènes (dltA, dltB, dltC, et dltD) qui catalysent l'incorporation de résidus D-alanine dans les acides lipotéchoïques (LTAs). Nous avons caractérisé l'opéron dlt de S. agalactiae qui, en plus des gènes dltA-dltD, possèdent 2 gènes régulateurs, désignés dltR et dltS, en amont de dltA. Le gène dltR code pour un régulateur transcriptionnel putatif de 224 acides aminés appartenant à la famille OmpR. Le gène dltS code pour une histidine kinase putative de 395 acides aminés vraisemblablement impliquée dans la captation de signaux environnementaux. L'opéron dlt de S. agalactiae est majoritairement transcrit à partir d'un promoteur PdltR qui dirige la synthèse d'un transcrit de 6,5 kilobases qui chevauche les gènes dltR, dltS, dltA, dltB, dltC et dltD. Nous avons démontré que PdltR était activé dans un mutant DltA- incapable d'incorporer du D-Ala dans les LTAs construit par insertion-inactivation du gène dltA qui code pour une D-alanine-D-alanyl carrier ligase cytoplasmique. Le mutant DltA- présentait la particularité de former des agrégats en culture non agitée et de posséder une sensibilité accrue à la colistine, un peptide antibactérien. Nous avons également montré que l'incorporation de résidus D-Ala dans les LTAs était importante pour la virulence de S. agalactiae puisque, dans un modèle d'infection murin i.v., le mutant DltA- était plus rapidement éliminé du sang, du cerveau, du foie et de la rate que la souche sauvage.
L'élimination rapide du mutant DltA- du sang des souris infectées a été interprétée comme résultant d'une sensibilité accrue à la phagocytose par les polynucléaires neutrophiles et/ou par les macrophages puisque les souches sauvages et mutantes présentent la même sensibilité au sérum en absence d'anticorps anti-SGB. En accord avec cette hypothèse, des résultats préliminaires ont montré que le mutant DltA- était plus sensible à la phagocytose par les macrophages murins que la souche sauvage. Etant donné que les principales modifications phénotypiques observées dues à l'absence de D-Ala dans les LTAs de S. agalactiae étaient une sensibilité accrue au polypeptide cationique colistine, une hypothèse vraisemblable rendant compte de cette observation est que le mutant DltA- serait plus sensible aux défensines que la souche sauvage. Une hypothèse alternative est que ce mutant soit plus sensible aux conditions (pH et stress oxydatif) rencontrées dans le phagolysozome.


3. Analyse structurale et fonctionnelle du génome de S. agalactiae (En collaboration avec les Dr F. KUNST et Dr P. GLASER, Laboratoire de Séquençage des Micro-organismes Pathogènes, Institut Pasteur et avec le Dr T. MSADEK, Unité de Biochimie Microbienne, Institut Pasteur).
Ce programme de recherche a été conçu afin de valoriser au mieux la connaissance du génome de S. agalactiae, actuellement déterminé par F. KUNST et P. GLASER à l'Institut Pasteur. Les 4 principaux objectifs poursuivis (résistance au stress oxydatif, protéines de surface, adaptation environnementale et expression de gènes de virulence) ont été choisis parce qu'ils constituent des éléments clefs pour la compréhension de la physiopathologie des infections à SGB et pour la caractérisation du ou des gène(s) impliqué(s) dans le franchissement de la barrière hémato-méningée. De plus, leur élucidation devrait permettre de proposer de nouvelles cibles pour de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques et, notamment, pour le développement de vaccins.


Une nouvelle méthode génotypique permettant l'identification des cocci à Gram positif au niveau de l'espèce

De nombreuses méthodes génotypiques utilisant l'analyse de produits d'amplification génique issus de gènes cibles ont été développées pour identifier les bactéries au niveau de l'espèce. Ces techniques incluent le séquençage de l'ADNr 16S qui est souvent considéré comme méthode de référence. Dans ce dernier cas, cependant, l'analyse des données de séquence peut être compliquée par le fait que des espèces proches peuvent posséder des séquences d'ADNr 16S identiques ou, au contraire, que des séquences d'ADNr 16S différentes peuvent coexister dans une bactérie donnée. Pour résoudre ce problème, il est possible d'utiliser des séquences cibles monocopies qui possèdent une divergence évolutive supérieure à celle de l'ADNr 16S. Le gène sodA des cocci à Gram positif, qui code pour une superoxide dismutase Mn-dépendante, satisfait à ces critères et nous avons montré que le séquençage d'un fragment interne, sodAint, obtenu par PCR à l'aide d'une paire d'amorces dégénérées permettait l'identification fiable au niveau de l'espèce des streptocoques et des entérocoques. Nous avons récemment utilisé la même paire d'amorces universelles pour construire une génothèque de fragments sodAint correspondant à toutes les espèces de staphylocoques à coagulase-négative (SCN) décrites à ce jour et montré que son utilisation permettait l'identification rapide et fiable d'isolats cliniques de SCN. Les génothèques sodAint pourraient être utilisées pour le développement d'un test d'identification bactérien rapide utilisant la technologie des puces à ADN.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
   

TRIEU-CUOT, Patrick (IP)

POYART, Claire (Necker)

de BARROS NASCIMENTO BAPTISTA, Marina (Chercheur post-doctorant)

LALIOUI, Lila (Chercheur post-doctorant)

LAMY, Marie-Cécile (Thèse sciences)

 

filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.