Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Sigcyto


  Director : Sandra Pellegrini (pellegri@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The focus of our work is on the molecular mechanisms underlying the cellular responses to the type I interferons (IFN-a/b), with particular attention to the assembly, activation and dynamics of the IFN receptor/JAK complex resulting in the phosphorylation of downstream effectors involved in the transcriptional induction of target genes. We have progressed in the study of the tyrosine kinase Tyk2. One project concerns the biochemical and functional characterisation of two Tyk2-binding partners identified as in a yeast-based two hybrid screen. A second project focuses on the subcellular distribution of Tyk2, which was found localized also in the nucleus and we wish to understand its function in this compartment. A third project analyses the role of IFN-a/b in helper T cell development. We have shown a down-modulation of the transcriptional response to IFN-a/b during differentiation of human naïves precursors into polarized Th1 and Th2 subsets.



  report

cale

Tyk2-interacting partners (M. Algarté, C. Steindler, T. Yeh, M. Oloomi)

The large amino-terminal moiety of the JAK proteins carries the molecular determinant for binding to cytokine receptors. Sequence analysis of the amino-terminal region of JAKs has revealed the presence of a band 4.1-related domain, named FERM. This domain was first identified in cytoskeletal proteins of the ERM family (ezrin, radixin, moesin) where it mediates intramolecular interactions and membrane targeting. Based on the conviction that they are still missing elements that physically interact with Tyk2, a large effort has been put on identifying novel partners of Tyk2. A yeast two-hybrid screen was performed using as bait the FERM domain of Tyk2 and eleven positive clones were isolated, six of them containing overlapping sequences. Experiments are in progress to characterize two novel proteins and to analyze the physiological role of their interaction with Tyk2.


Nuclear localization of Tyk2 (J. Ragimbeau, A. Vasserot)

We have studied the subcellular distribution of the wild-type Tyk2 protein and of several mutants expressed in Tyk2-deficient human cells. Direct GFP-associated fluorescence and immunostaining showed a diffuse localization of Tyk2 throughout the cell, including the nuclear compartment. The nuclear localization of Tyk2 requires a NLS-like motif, rich in arginine residues, that maps within the region mediating interaction with cytokine receptors. Our studies demonstrate that Tyk2 can reside in the nucleus independently of receptor binding and that the nuclear pool is dispensable for the transcriptional and anti-vesicular stomatitis virus responses induced by IFN-a/b. Current work is aimed at understanding the molecular mechanism of nuclear import and the function of Tyk2 in the nucleus.

Down modulation of IFN-a/b responses by receptor cross-interference (E. Dondi)

In contrast to the large number of cytokine receptors, only four JAK proteins exists in mammalian cells, implying the shared use of these kinases by many different receptor complexes and the possibility of interference if receptor numbers exceed the amount of available JAK. In a collaborative effort, we have investigated whether cross-competition among Tyk2-interacting receptors can occur. Our results suggest that exogenously expressed Tyk2-interacting receptors can sequester and titer out the kinase away from the endogenous IFNAR1 receptor chain, leading to a reduced IFN-a/b response. This represents a novel mechanism of trans-modulation between cytokine responses based on competition for a shared receptor-associated tyrosine kinase.


Study of the IFN-a/b response in differentiating human T cells (E. Dondi)

A critical aspect of the immune response to pathogens is mediated by the helper function of CD4+ T cells which are activated and differentiate into two functionally distinct subsets, Th1 and Th2. IFN-a/b produced in response to a viral or bacterial infection or by activated dendritic cells can direct human CD4+ T cells toward Th1 development, thus linking innate and adaptive immunity. We have recently found that human differentiated Th1 and Th2 cell lines display a strongly reduced sensitivity to IFN-a/b as compared to their naïve precursors. This down-modulation of IFN sensitivity appears intrinsic to the differentiation process itself. Considering the impact of IFN-a/b in determining T cell fate, the reduction of sensitivity that we have found may represent an important regulatory mechanism. Thus, we want to investigate the molecular mechanism(s) underlying the reduced IFN-a/b sensitivity of differentiated cells and the physiological relevance of this phenomenon.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Wendy Houssin

 

Elisabetta Dondi, Post-Doc

Corinna Steindler, Post-Doc

Arnaud Vasserot, Étudiant DEA

Josiane Ragimbeau, Ingénieur


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Sigcyto


  Responsable : Sandra Pellegrini (pellegri@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre recherche est centrée sur l'étude des mécanismes moléculaires à la base des réponses cellulaires aux interférons de type I (IFN-a/b). En particulier, nous nous intéressons à l'assemblage et à la dynamique d'activation du récepteur complexé aux kinases de la famille JAK. Nous avons progressé dans l'étude de la tyrosine kinase Tyk2. Un projet vise à la caractérisation fonctionnelle et biochimique de deux nouveaux partenaires de Tyk2 identifiés par l'approche du double hybride. Un deuxième projet touche à la localisation de Tyk2 dans la cellule et en particulier à l'étude d'une fraction de Tyk2 résidant dans le noyau. Un troisième projet analyse le rôle de l'IFN-a/b dans le développement des cellules T accéssoires. Nous avons mis en évidence une diminution remarquable de la réponse transcriptionnelle à l'IFN-a/b au cours de la différenciation de précurseurs naïves en sous-populations de type Th1 et Th2.



  rapport

cale

Nouveaux partenaires de Tyk2 (M. Algarté, C. Steindler, T. Yeh, M. Oloomi)

La région amino-terminale des protéines JAK contient les déterminants moléculaires impliqués dans l'interaction avec les récepteurs de cytokines. L'analyse de cette région a révélé la présence d'un domaine apparenté au domaine bande 4.1, nommé FERM, identifié dans les protéines du cytosquelette de la famille ERM (ezrine, radixine, moesine), où il participe à des interactions intramoléculaires et de ciblage à la membrane. Cette région est vraisemblablement engagée dans d'autres interactions protéine-protéine. Nous avons entrepris un criblage double hybride chez la levure en utilisant comme appât le domaine FERM de Tyk2. Onze clones ont été isolés, dont six contenant des séquences chevauchantes. La caractérisation de deux nouvelles protéines est en cours.


Localisation nucléaire de Tyk2 (J. Ragimbeau, A. Vasserot)

Un effort a été porté sur l'étude de la localisation de Tyk2 sauvage et de diverses formes mutées, exprimées dans une lignée Tyk2-négative. La visualisation directe de la GFP fusionnée à Tyk2 et des expériences d'immunofluorescence ont permis de démontrer une distribution diffuse de Tyk2, y compris dans le noyau. La localisation nucléaire de Tyk2 nécessite d'un motif de type NLS, riche en arginines, qui est situé dans le domaine d'interaction avec les récepteurs de cytokines. Nos études montrent que Tyk2 réside dans le noyau indépendemment de sa liaison au récepteur. Cette fraction nucléaire ne semble pas intervenir dans les réponses transcriptionnelle et antivirale induites par l'IFN-a/b. Différentes approches sont en cours pour définir le mécanisme moléculaire d'import et la fonction de Tyk2 dans le noyau.


Interférence entre récepteurs de cytokines partageant Tyk2 (E. Dondi)

Chez les mammifères, les quatre membres de la famille de protéine tyrosine kinases JAK sont partagés entre un grand nombre de récepteurs de cytokines, suggérant la possibilité d'interférence en cas d'excès de récepteurs. En collaboration, nous avons établi un modèle d'étude du comportement de la kinase Tyk2 partagée entre différents récepteurs, qui nous a permis de démontrer une diminution de la réponse à l'IFN-a, suite à expression d'un récepteur exogène. Nos résultats suggèrent que des récepteurs associant Tyk2 peuvent séquestrer la kinase et de ce fait diminuer la réponse à IFN-a/b. Ceci représente un nouveau mécanisme de trans-modulation entre réponses


Etude de la réponse à IFN-a/b au cours de la différenciation des cellules T humaines (E. Dondi)

Un aspect critique de la réponse immune aux pathogènes est médié par les cellules T accessoires CD4+ qui sont activées et se différencient en deux sous-populations fonctionnellement distinctes, Th1 et Th2. L'IFN-a/b produit en réponse à une infection virale ou bactérienne ou par les cellules dendritiques activées est capable de diriger les cellules T CD4+ vers la voie Th1, ainsi reliant l'immunité innée et adaptative. Nous avons trouvé que les cellules différenciées Th1 et Th2 possèdent une sensibilité à l'IFN-a/b fortement réduite par rapport aux précurseurs naïves. Le mécanisme moléculaire et la relevance physiologique de ce phénomène sont à l'étude.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Wendy Houssin

 

Elisabetta Dondi, Post-Doc

Corinna Steindler, Post-Doc

Arnaud Vasserot, Étudiant DEA

Josiane Ragimbeau, Ingénieur


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.