Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Reg


  Director : Antoine Danchin (adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The activity of the Unit combines in vivo and in vitro experiments to in silico analysis of the genomes. The work uses two model bacteria :Escherichia coli and Bacillus subtilis, together with counterparts that are important for the control of pathogens and human health and environment, Photorhabdus luminescens and Bacillus cereus (anthracis). Gene responsible for global gene coordination are studied, with emphasis on the metabolism of sulfur and polyamines. This work demonstrated that the organisation of the genome is not random, and that genes of sulfur metabolism are clustered, indicative of a strong selection pressure for compartmentalisation.



  report

cale

A new Rosetta Stone: comparison of the sequences of related genomes

In the last year of its activity, the Regulation of Gene Expression Unit began to develop comparative studies for two pairs of genomes, each consisting of the genome of a reference bacterium and of a bacterium that is an interesting model of disease. This Unit, which was dedicated to establishment of the genomic sequence of Bacillus subtilis and the management of associated knowledge, has now completed its activity. It served as a basis for the creation of a new research unit, the activity of which is based on techniques for the large-scale exploration of genomes. This unit is the Genetics of Bacterial Genomes Unit. The creation of this new unit is closely associated with the University of Hong Kong (China) of the HKU-Pasteur Research Center.

Two model microorganisms were used: Escherichia coli, the oldest model used by geneticists and the best known bacterium, and Bacillus subtilis, a bacterium often found attached to the surface of leaves and the soil and which is the source of numerous enzymes used in industry. These bacteria were compared, respectively, with Photorhabdus luminescens, which kills insects and propagates by the intermediary of a nematode, and Bacillus cereus, a sporulating bacterium implicated in many diseases, one of the closest relatives of which is the dangerous agent of anthraxis. The study was based on the identification and function of the key genes involved in the overall adaptation of the bacterium to its environment.


The H-NS protein and the response to metabolic transitions (Philippe Bertin)

The capacity to adjust to the availability and activity of cell proteins, particularly those involved in regulation and metabolic enzymes, is essential if cells are to grow and to adapt to changes in the environment. The H-NS protein is involved in many cell functions and affects the expression of genes regulated by environmental factors (temperature, pH, osmolarity etc.). It modifies the expression of numerous genes, affects recombination and transposition and is involved in bacterial virulence particularly via the control of motility.

Examination of wild-type and mutant strains by electron microscopy has shown that loss of motility results from a lack of flagella. The synthesis of flagella requires the expression of a large number of genes, organized in a hierarchical manner. The overexpression of the flhDC genes, the master operon in flagellum biosynthesis, in the hns mutant restores motility, suggesting that these genes are the preferential target of H-NS. Previous work has shown that the synthesis or the accumulation of several proteins is specifically affected by the hns mutation. We have therefore tried, in collaboration with C. Laurent-Winter (Génopôle, Pasteur Institute), to characterize these proteins, the synthesis of which is specifically affected by H-NS, and to identify the proteins regulated in this way. Several of these proteins have been identified by microsequencing or by superimposition of 2D electrophoresis reference maps of E. coli. Some correspond to known targets of H-NS (GadA, OmpF, OmpC, ProX). Other proteins, the synthesis or accumulation of which is affected in the hns mutant, are involved in mechanisms as diverse as construction of the cell wall, transport processes, carbohydrate metabolism and bacterial responses to diverse environmental conditions. In particular, the synthesis of several heat-shock proteins, including three chaperones (DnaK, GrolEL and GrpE), is induced in the hns mutant.
A complementary study, in collaboration with J.P. Le Caer (Laboratory of Neurobiology and Cell Biology, headed by J. Rossier, ESPCI Paris), made it possible to identify other proteins, the synthesis or accumulation of which is specifically affected by hns mutation. This work involved an important technical advance, the staining of 2D gels with silver nitrate. This staining technique is 100 times more sensitive than that generally used (Coomassie blue). In addition, it is compatible with the identification of proteins by mass spectrometry. Comparison of the electrophoretic profiles of the wild-type and mutant strains has shown that the level of accumulation of more than 60 proteins, almost half of which have been identified, is affected in an hns mutant.
The transcription products (the transcriptome) were analyzed in parallel with all the proteins of the bacterium separated by 2-dimensional electrophoresis (proteome) by use of the sequences of the corresponding genomes.
These very powerful methods revealed large groups of genes (the H-NS regulon comprises more than 250 genes) regulated in the same manner in the cell. We also carried out complementary phylogenetic (evolution of the protein) and structural analyses of several of the proteins identified in various organisms.


Construction of sulfur-containing amino acids (Isabelle Martin-Verstraete)

As described below, in silico studies have demonstrated that sulfur metabolism genes play a particular, organizational role. This led to the initiation of a research program on sulfur metabolism and the metabolism of polyamines, compounds essential for cell construction. Very little is known about the biosynthesis pathways of sulfur-containing amino acids (methionine and cysteine) in gram-positive bacteria. Similarly, little is known about the pathways of sulfur assimilation and of metabolic regulation in these bacteria. The work of the Unit initially focused on the characterization of genes involved in the pathway of methionine and cysteine biosynthesis in Bacillus subtilis. In addition to the detailed characterization of numerous genes, this study provided evidence to support the hypothesis that enzyme activity gradually becomes more specific during the molecular evolution of metabolic pathways, with the primary activity of the enzyme generally fairly non-specific. As for the study on H-NS, we carried out a complementary analysis of the protein synthesis profile (proteome analysis by 2-dimensional electrophoresis) and of the transcription profile by membrane hybridization (transcriptome analysis). These complementary analyses demonstrated the essential role of sulfur metabolism (justifying this choice of subject as central to the genomic approach) and identified a certain number of groups of genes that are co-regulated. We were thus able to identify several genes of unknown function that seem to be involved in sulfur metabolism, including several encoding transporters. The work of the Unit was also dedicated to the identification of regulatory genes essential for sulfur metabolism. Several of these genes have been characterized. They differ markedly from known genes of gram-negative bacteria such as Escherichia coli, rendering this study particularly interesting.

All of this work is part of the BACELL program of detailed functional analysis of the genome of Bacillus subtilis funded by the European Union.


The degradation of aromatic compounds, iron and oxygen (Francis Biville)


The catabolism of aromatic compounds plays a key role in many organisms. It is particularly interesting because it generally uses oxygen (often in the form of gaseous oxygen) and is thus explicitly involved in control of the intracellular concentration of this extremely reactive gas. Several years ago, we characterized an oxygenase, the regulation of which seemed to be important as it was associated with the expression of a large number of genes (in particular, via the HcaR activator). The peptide sequence of this enzyme is, in any case, remarkable and is very similar to that of an enzyme essential for apoptosis in animal cells. Using computer, genetic, physiological and global (proteome, transcriptome) methods of analysis, the unit has identified targets of two structurally similar regulators (the HcaR and YhaJ regulators), the synthesis of which increases during entry into stationary phase. Inactivation of the hcaR gene has a significant effect on the level of expression of seven genes involved in the response to oxygen. This effect involves a large decrease in resistance to certain reactive derivatives of oxygen during the stationary phase. The product of the hcaR gene is also a regulator involved in the control of the initial stages of 3-phenylpropionic acid catabolism. We are currently studying the effect of hcaR inactivation on the perturbation of metabolism during entry into the stationary phase. Studies with yhaJ, encoding another regulator, showed that the overexpression of this gene leads to a change in the process of cell division. Identification of the targets of this regulator, involved in generating the observed phenotype, is underway. A third, unknown regulator of the LysR type (ygiP) has been identified as a positive regulator of genes encoding a protein with an activity necessary for growth on glycerol and in anaerobic conditions. Comparative transcriptome analysis led to the hypothesis that this activator modulates the expression of genes involved in its mobility and regulation, iron transport and acid stress. Physiological experiments have shown that the inactivation of ygiP leads to much more rapid biofilm formation, thereby confirming the transcriptome analysis results relating to the action of this regulator in flagellum biosynthesis. This work will help us to identify the targets of other unknown activators of the LysR family, to determine their mode of action and to define more accurately their DNA targets.


Annotation, information management and the analysis of results in silico (Ivan Moszer, Eduardo Rocha, Paris; Claudine Médigue, Evry)

The very large amount of data generated by the sequencing of genomes and the enigmatic nature of many of the genes discovered during this process have necessitated research based on the techniques and concepts of computing, statistics and mathematics, to complement experimental studies involving molecular genetics techniques. A specialized Bacillus subtilis database, which has served as the model for several others, has been constructed (available at: http://genolist.pasteur.fr/SubtiList/ ). This database is currently being improved, in terms of both its conception and data, by the results of transcriptome analysis carried out within the European BACELL Network. In addition, a platform of genomic annotation, Imagene, has been used to establish a general model for the identification of errors in genome sequences, giving rise to a major revision of the sequence and annotations of the B. subtilis genome. This project has been carried out by a consortium (Geno*) combining the Unit, an INRIA aboratory and two companies, Hybrigenics and GENOME Express. The most biological and naturalist aspect of this research aims to identify the link between the major functions of the living organism and cellular architecture. Genome analysis has shown that the order of genes on the chromosome is not random, but is instead related to the architecture of the cell. The study of sulfur metabolism has shown that the selection pressure leading to this unexpected link is probably the diffusion of reactive molecules, gas and free radicals. These reactions are due to the products of numerous genes the function of which is currently unknown. This raises the question as to whether cellular compartmentalization is at the origin of a characteristic of genomes that caused much surprise at its discovery: the large number of genes of unknownfunction.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Annie Beaudeux-Ligneul, Secrétaire ID Pasteur

Pr Antoine Danchin, Chef d’Unité Pasteur, DR1 CNRS

Philippe Bertin, C.R Pasteur

Francis Biville, C.R Pasteur

Isabelle Martin-Verstraete, M.C Paris 7

Claudine Médigue-Rousseau, CR CNRS

Ivan Moszer, CR Pasteur

Eduardo Pimentel Cachapuz Rocha, CR CNRS

Isabelle Guillouard, Post-doc, AR (CDD Contrat Européen)

Sylvianne Derzelle, Post-doc (CDD Contrat Industrie)

Sandrine Auger, 2ème année de thèse, Univ. Paris 7

Florence Hommais, 3ème année de thèse, Univ. Paris 7

Sandrine Moreira, 2ème année DESS Informatique

Olga Soutourina, 3ème année de thèse, Univ. Versailles

Cécilia Fabry, IE INRA

Evelyne Krin, I CNRS

Evelyne Turlin, TS Pasteur

Saravuth NGO, AI, CDD

Emma Brito, Technicienne de Laboratoire

Laurence Maranghi, Aide de Laboratoire


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Reg


  Responsable : Antoine Danchin (adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité explore au moyen des techniques de la génomique la façon dont le texte du génome organise l'expression des gènes, et en particulier l'architecture de la cellule. Deux modèles bactériens servent à cette exploration, le colibacille, et le bacille subtil. Les recherches développées associent l'étude à l'ordinateur des séquences génomiques (analyse in silico) et la validation des prédictions ainsi obtenues in vivo et in vitro. Les objets privilégiés de cette étude contrôlent l'expression d'un grand nombre de gènes (le métabolisme du soufre en particulier) et sont pour cette raison spécialement importants pour comprendre le caractère pathogène des bactéries.



  rapport

cale

Une nouvelle Pierre de Rosette : comparer le texte de génomes apparentés

Pour la dernière année de son activité, l'Unité de Régulation de l'Expression Génétique a commencé à développer l'étude comparative de deux couples de génomes, chacun constitué du génome d'une bactérie de référence et d'une bactérie intéressante comme modèle de maladies. Après s'être consacrée à l'établissement du texte génomique de Bacillus subtilis, et à la gestion des connaissances correspondantes, l'Unité a terminé son activité. Elle a servi de base à la création d'une nouvelle Unité de Recherche, dont l'activité est fondée sur les techniques d'exploration des génomes à grande échelle, l'Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens. Cette nouvelle Unité est étroitement associée à la création avec l'Université de Hong Kong (Chine), du HKU-Pasteur Research Centre.

Deux micro-organismes modèles ont été utilisés : Escherichia coli, le plus ancien modèle des généticiens et la bactérie la mieux connue, et Bacillus subtilis, bactérie source de nombreux enzymes utilisés en industrie, que l'on trouve souvent collée à la surface des feuilles et sur le sol. Ces bactéries sont comparées respectivement à Photorhabdus luminescens, qui tue les insectes et se propage par l'intermédiaire d'un ver nématode, et Bacillus cereus, bactérie sporulante impliquée dans de nombreuses maladies et dont l'un des voisins est le dangereux agent du charbon. L'étude porte sur l'identification et la fonction de gènes pivots de l'adaptation globale de la bactérie à son environnement.


La protéine H-NS et la réponse aux transitions métaboliques (Philippe Bertin)

La capacité d'ajuster la disponibilité et l'activité des protéines cellulaires, en particulier les protéines de régulation et les enzymes du métabolisme, est essentielle pour permettre la croissance des cellules et leur adaptation aux changements de l'environnement. La protéine H-NS est impliquée dans de nombreuses fonctions cellulaires et affecte l'expression de gènes régulés par des facteurs de l'environnement (température, pH, osmolarité, ...). Elle modifie l'expression de nombreux gènes, affecte la recombinaison et la transposition et intervient dans la virulence bactérienne, par le contrôle de la motilité en particulier.

L'examen des souches sauvage et mutante en microscopie électronique a révélé que cette perte de motilité résulte d'une absence de flagelles. Leur synthèse requiert l'expression d'un grand nombre de gènes, organisée de manière hiérarchique. La surexpression dans un mutant hns des gènes flhDC, l'opéron maître de biosynthèse des flagelles, restaure la motilité, ce qui suggère que ces gènes constituent la cible préférentielle d'H-NS. Un travail antérieur a montré que la synthèse ou l'accumulation de plusieurs protéines est affecté spécifiquement par la mutation hns. Nous avons par conséquent entrepris, en collaboration avec C. Laurent-Winter (Génopôle, Institut Pasteur), de caractériser ces protéines dont la synthèse est spécifiquement affectée par H-NS et de faire l'inventaire des protéines ainsi régulées. Plusieurs de ces protéines ont été identifiées, soit par microséquençage, soit par superposition aux cartes de références 2D des protéines d'E. coli. Certaines correspondent à des cibles déjà connues d'H-NS (GadA, OmpF, OmpC, ProX). D'autres protéines dont la synthèse ou l'accumulation sont affectées dans un mutant hns sont impliquées dans des mécanismes aussi divers que la composition de la paroi cellulaire, les processus de transport, le métabolisme des hydrates de carbone, ou la réponse bactérienne à diverses conditions de l'environnement. En particulier, la synthèse de plusieurs protéines de choc thermique dont trois chaperones (DnaK, GroEL et GrpE) est induite dans le mutant hns.

Un travail complémentaire, en collaboration avec J.P. Le Caer (Laboratoire de Neurobiologie et Diversité Cellulaire dirigé par J. Rossier, ESPCI de Paris) a permis d'identifier d'autres protéines dont la synthèse ou l'accumulation est spécifiquement affectée par une mutation hns. Ce travail a utilisé une importante amélioration technique où les gels 2D sont colorés au nitrate d'argent. Cette coloration est en effet 100 fois plus sensible que celle qui est généralement utilisée (bleu de Coomassie). De plus, elle est compatible avec l'identification des peptides par spectrométrie de masse. La comparaison des profils électrophorétiques des souches sauvage et mutante a montré que le niveau d'accumulation de plus de 60 protéines, dont près de la moitié ont été identifiées, était affecté dans un mutant hns.

L'analyse de l'ensemble des produits de la transcription (transcriptome), associée à celle de toutes les protéines de la bactérie séparées par électrophorèse à deux dimensions (protéome), a été conduite en parallèle en utilisant la séquence des génomes correspondants.

Ces méthodes très puissantes ont mis au jour de grands ensembles régulés (le régulon H-NS compte plus de 250 gènes) de la même manière dans la cellule.

Ces études ont été complétées par des analyses phylogénétiques (évolution de la protéine), et structurales de plusieurs protéines identifiées dans divers organismes.


L'édification des acides aminés contenant du soufre (Isabelle Martin-Verstraete)

Comme on le verra plus bas un travail in silico a mis en évidence un rôle organisateur partiulier des gènes du métabolisme du soufre. Cela a justifié le démarrage d'un programme de recherche sur ce métabolisme et celui des polyamines, composés essentiels à la construction cellulaire. Très peu de données sont connues chez les bactéries à Gram-positif concernant les voies de biosynthèse des acides aminés contenant du soufre (méthionine et cystéine), aussi bien que les voies d'assimilation des sources de soufre ou la régulation du métabolisme correspondant. Le travail de l'Unité a donc d'abord porté sur la caractérisation de gènes impliqués dans la voie de biosynthèse de la méthionine et la cystéine chez Bacillus subtilis. En dehors de la caractérisation explicite de nombreux gènes, cette étude a permis d'ajouter quelques éléments à la validation d'une hypothèse sur l'évolution moléculaire des voies métaboliques qui suppose que la spécification progressive des activités enzymatiques se fait au cours de l'évolution à partir d'une activité primaire peu spécifique. Cette étude a été complétée, comme dans le cas de l'étude de H-NS, par l'analyse du profil d'expression protéique (analyse du protéome par gels bidimensionnels) et du profil de transcription par hybridation sur membranes (analyse du transcriptome). Ces analyses complémentaires l'une à l'autre ont mis en évidence un rôle essentiel du métabolisme du soufre (ce qui justifie pleinement le choix de ce thème comme central à l'approche génomique) et ont permis d'identifier un certain nombre d'ensembles co-régulés. Plusieurs gènes de fonction inconnue vraisemblablement impliqués dans le métabolisme du soufre ont ainsi pu être identifiés dont plusieurs transporteurs. Les travaux de l'Unité se sont aussi consacrés à l'identification de gènes de régulation essentiels pour le métabolisme du soufre. Plusieurs d'entre eux ont été caractérisés. Ils diffèrent notablement de ce qui était déjà connu chez les bactéries à coloration de Gram négative comme Escherichia coli, ce qui donne un sens particulièrement intéressant à cette étude.

L'ensemble de ces travaux fait partie du programme BACELL d'analyse fonctionnelle détaillée du génome de Bacillus subtilis financé par l'Union Européenne.


La dégradation des composés aromatiques, le fer, et l'oxygène (Francis Biville)

Le catabolisme des molécules aromatiques joue un rôle clé chez de nombreux organismes. Il est d'autant plus intéressant qu'il utilise en général l'oxygène (souvent sous la forme de molécule de dioxygène) et qu'il participe donc explicitement au contrôle de la concentration intracellulaire de ce gaz extrêment réactif. Les travaux de l'Unité ont permis, il y a quelques années de caractériser une dioxygénase dont la régulation paraît importante du fait qu'elle est couplée à l'expression d'un grand nombre de gènes (en particulier via l'activateur HcaR). La séquence peptidique de cette enzyme est, de façon remarquable, est très voisine d'une enzyme essentielle à l'apoptose dans les cellules animales. À l'aide des méthodes d'analyse informatique, de génétique, de physiologie et d'analyse globale (protéome, transcriptome), les travaux de l'Unité ont permis d'identifier des cibles de deux régulateurs structurellement voisins (les activateurs hcaR et yhaJ) dont le niveau d'expression était augmenté au cours de l'entrée en phase stationnaire. L'inactivation de hcaR affecte de façon significative le niveau d'expression de sept gènes impliqués dans la réponse à l'oxygène. Cet effet se traduit par une forte diminution de la résistance à certains dérivés réactifs de l'oxygène au cours de la phase stationnaire. Le produit du gène hcaR est aussi un régulateur impliqué dans le contrôle des premières étapes du catabolisme de l acide 3-phénylpropionique. L'étude des perturbations du métabolisme, créées par l'entrée en phase stationnaire par l'inactivation de hcaR est en cours. Les résultats obtenus avec le régulateur yhaJ montrent que la surexpression de ce gène entraîne une altération du processus de division cellulaire. L'identification des cibles de ce régulateur, impliquées dans ce phénotype, est en cours. Un troisième régulateur inconnu de type LysR (ygiP) a été identifié comme le régulateur positif de gènes voisins codant pour une activité nécessaire à la croissance sur glycérol et anaérobiose. La méthode d'analyse comparative des transcriptomes a permis de proposer l'hypothèse selon laquelle cet activateur modulerait l'expression de gènes impliqués dans la mobilité et sa régulation, le transport du fer et le stress acide. Les résultats d'expériences de physiologie ont montré que l'inactivation de ygiP entraîne une très forte accélération de la formation des biofilms et confirme ainsi les données de transcriptome relatives à l'action de ce régulateur sur la régulation de la biosynthèse des flagelles.
Ces travaux vont contribuer à l'identification des cibles d'autres gènes activateurs inconnus de la famille LysR et permettre de comprendre leur mode d'action et de mieux définir leurs cibles au niveau de l'ADN.


L'annotation, la gestion des connaissance et l'analyse des données in silico (Ivan Moszer, Eduardo Rocha Paris, Claudine Médigue, Evry)

En raison de la masse très importante de données engendrées par le séquençage des génomes et de la nature énigmatique de beaucoup de gènes découverts à cette occasion, les études expérimentales développées en utilisant les techniques de la génétique moléculaire sont complétées par un ensemble de recherches utilisant les techniques et les concepts de l'informatique, de la statistique et de la mathématique. Une base de données spécialisée sur le génome de Bacillus subtilis, servant de modèle à plusieurs autres, a été construite (elle est accessible par le World-Wide Web à l' adresse : http://genolist.pasteur.fr/SubtiList/ ). Elle est actuellement enrichie, tant en terme de schéma conceptuel que de données, par les résultats d'analyse du transcriptome issus du programme européen BACELL Network. Par ailleurs une plateforme d'annotation génomique, Imagene, a servi à établir un modèle général d'identification des erreurs dans les séquences génomiques, donnant lieu à une mise à jour majeure de la séquence et des annotations du génome de B. subtilis. Le projet correspondant est développé au sein d'un consortium (Geno*) qui associe l'Unité, un laboratoire de l'INRIA, et les compagnies Hybrigenics et GENOME express. L'aspect plus biologique et naturaliste des recherches vise à identifier le lien entre les grandes fonctions du vivant et l'architecture cellulaire. L'analyse des génomes a montré que l'ordre des gènes dans le chromosome n'est pas aléatoire, mais correspond à l'architecture de la cellule. L'étude du métabolisme du soufre a permis de proposer que la pression de sélection qui a conduit à ce lien inattendu est sans doute la diffusion de molécules réactives, gaz et radicaux libres. Ces réactions sont dues au produit de nombreux gènes dont la fonction était restée jusqu'à présent incomprise. Ainsi la compartimentation cellulaire est-elle à l'origine d'une caractéristique des gènomes qui avait beaucoup surpris au moment de sa découverte, à savoir la présence de nombreux gènes sans fonctionconnue.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Annie Beaudeux-Ligneul, Secrétaire ID Pasteur

Pr Antoine Danchin, Chef d’Unité Pasteur, DR1 CNRS

Philippe Bertin, C.R Pasteur

Francis Biville, C.R Pasteur

Isabelle Martin-Verstraete, M.C Paris 7

Claudine Médigue-Rousseau, CR CNRS

Ivan Moszer, CR Pasteur

Eduardo Pimentel Cachapuz Rocha, CR CNRS

Isabelle Guillouard, Post-doc, AR (CDD Contrat Européen)

Sylvianne Derzelle, Post-doc (CDD Contrat Industrie)

Sandrine Auger, 2ème année de thèse, Univ. Paris 7

Florence Hommais, 3ème année de thèse, Univ. Paris 7

Sandrine Moreira, 2ème année DESS Informatique

Olga Soutourina, 3ème année de thèse, Univ. Versailles

Cécilia Fabry, IE INRA

Evelyne Krin, I CNRS

Evelyne Turlin, TS Pasteur

Saravuth NGO, AI, CDD

Emma Brito, Technicienne de Laboratoire

Laurence Maranghi, Aide de Laboratoire


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.