Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Lrmyc


  Director : Véronique Vincent (vvincent@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

New genetical and immunological tools have been described in the laboratory : linear plasmids able to replicate in fast or slow growing mycobacteria, characterization of M. africanum strains, demonstration that mannosylation of proteins plays a key role in their antigenicity. These results received application in the National Reference Center for Mycobacteria.



  report

cale

Mycobacterium National Reference Center (Gilles Marchal, Véronique Vincent, Cristina Gutierrez-Perez, Anne Varnerot, Maria de Moura Goncalves, Jean Sautereau, Michèle Gilbert)

Our laboratory is a National Reference Center and is implied in the surveillance of tuberculosis and other mycobacterial infections. The molecular typing applied in our laboratory on M. tuberculosis strains received from several hospitals allowed to elucidate several cases of hypothesis of transmission between patients at hospital or in the community, and hypotheses of laboratory contamination. A molecular epidemiological study conducted in the Brest area identified contact settings and risk factors which have not been detected by conventional epidemiological investigation. Our laboratory is one of the co-coordinators of the WHO network for the surveillance of antituberculous drug resistance in Europe. In 2000, we participated to the national survey led by the Institut de Veille Sanitaire on infections due to M. xenopi. We participated to the WHO writing committee for the guidelines for drug susceptibility testing for second-line anti-tuberculous drugs.


Study of linear plasmids (Corinne Le Dantec, Véronique Vincent, Mathieu Picardeau)

We previously described the first linear plasmids in mycobacteria. The elements have an invertron structure, the telomeres of which have terminal inverted repeats and covalently attached proteins. We investigated the internal replication region of the smallest identified plasmid, pCLP, a 25 kb element. The region shows sequence identity with the replication regions of mycobacterial circular plasmids, indicating that these plasmids of distinct topology are related. Homology with linear plasmids from other actinomycetes is less, suggesting that the linear plasmids in actinomycetes may not have a common ancestor. pCLP, which replicates in slowly- (e.g. Mycobacterium bovis BCG) as well as in rapidly-growing mycobacterial species (e.g. M. fortuitum, M. smegmatis), may be useful for the introduction of genes in various species of mycobacteria. Moreover, pCLP represents a new compatibility group and may be used in co-transformation experiments with other mycobacterial vectors.


Genetic diversity of Mycobacterium africanum (Cristina Gutierrez-Perez, Véronique Vincent)

M. africanum encompasses tubercle bacilli strains, mostly isolated from patients from sub-saharian african countries, with heterogeneous phenotypes suggesting that the species could be defined as a continuum between M. tuberculosis and M. bovis. Molecular characterisation, based on several independent markers, confirmed the validity of the taxon and showed a specific pattern, distinct from both M.tuberculosis and M. bovis. Strains are subtyped in 3 subtypes, two homogeneous and one heterogeneous, with neither particular geographical link nor specific feature for a phenotypic identification. The homogeneity of the M. africanum sub-groups prevents an accurate strain typing otherwise efficiently performed in M. tuberculosis for the differentiation of non epidemiologically related strains.



Immune responses against tuberculosis

The immune protection against tuberculosis can be achieved only by prior vaccination with a living vaccine. The attenuated Mycobacterium bovis strain bacillus Calmette-Guerin (BCG) is widely administered to protect against tuberculosis. Two major ways of research have been explored during the last years. First to explore the efficacy of the enteral route of immunization in order to decrease the incidence of side effects and furthermore to secure the administration of BCG in developing countries in which risks of AIDS and hepatitis transmission are high. Second to define the major immunodominant molecules recognized by the immune system during a protective immunization.


BCG induces potent immune protection by oral or rectal immunization routes (Micheline Lagranderie, Mohammad Abolhassani, Pierre Chavarot, Anne-Marie Balazuc, Gilles Marchal)

The oral route was used by Calmette in 1921 for initial BCG vaccination but was abandoned due to its deleterious effects such as suppurative cervical adenitis. We demonstrated that BCG translocation across the oropharyngeal area after oral ingestion is not critical to the induction of a protective immunity against a virulent challenge with M. tuberculosis. The intragastric administration was as efficient as oral route to induce potent specific immune responses in mice.
Microencapsulation of the bacteria would be used to minimize the side effects of inadvertent pharyngeal inoculation, but such microencapsulation is not easy to perform. At the opposite the rectal route for BCG vaccination would be easy to use under field conditions, inexpensive and safe. Various animal species (mice, guinea pigs and macaques) have been immunized with lyophilized BCG by rectal and parenteral routes. The induced specific immune responses were similar. Similar levels of protection against a virulent challenge assessed 6 months after immunization were observed for the parenteral or the rectal routes of immunization.



Presence of the mannose residues on the Apa protein is essential for the antigenicity of the molecules (Félix Romain, Cynthia Horn, Pascale Pescher, Gilles Marchal)

The 45/47 kDa antigen complex (Apa) present in culture filtrate of BCG, M. tuberculosis or M. bovis has been identified and isolated based on its ability to interact mainly with T lymphocytes and/or antibodies induced by immunization with living bacteria. The protein is glycosylated ; mannose residues are convalently linked on defined threonines. The chemical or enzymatic removal of the mannose residues was performed. The deglycosylated antigen was 30 to 100 fold less active than native molecules in eliciting delayed type hypersensitivity reactions in guinea pigs immunized with BCG or in stimulating in vitro specific T lymphocytes.
The recombinant Apa molecules expressed in Mycobacterium smegmatis was 4 to 10 fold less potent than the native proteins in correlation with the glycosylation pattern. When expressed in E. coli, the recombinant protein was nearly non antigenic in relation with the absence of glycosylation. The role of mannose residues in the constitution of the T cell epitope is presently under study.


Role of Mycobacterium tuberculosis Copper Zinc superoxide dismutase (Olivier Dussurget, Pascale Pescher, Gilles Marchal)

Superoxide dismutase (SOD) play an important role in protection against oxidative stress and have been demonstrated to contribute to the pathogenicity of many bacterial species. M. tuberculosis and M. bovis null mutants have been constructed. The ability of such superoxide dismutase strains to resist oxidative stress has been only slightly decreased in vitro. The mycobacterial CuZn SOD was demonstrated to do not contribute to the pathogenicity of M. tuberculosis.


Use of the 45/47 kDa (Apa) antigen for the diagnosis of active tuberculosis (Cynthia Horn, Gilles Marchal)

In an attempt to develop a tuberculosis diagnostic tool, monoclonal antibodies directed against the 45/47 kDa (Apa) antigen and the molecule itself have been used in a collaborative work performed at Institut Pasteur de Madagascar by Vohangy Rosolofo and Suzanne Chanteau.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Fabienne Courmarcel (1/2 temps)

Martine Mercier (1/2 temps)

Gilles Marchal

Véronique Vincent

Maria-Cristina Gutierrez Perez

Stefano Bonora

Nilay Coplu

Stéphane Flamant

Corinne Le Dantec

Céline Louveau

Raymond Kouassi N'Guessan

Sara Irène Ngo Niobe-Eyangoh

Félix Romain

Pierre Chavarot

Michèle Gilbert

Eddie Maranghi

Maria de Moura Goncalves

Pascale Pescher

Jean Sautereau

Anne Varnerot

Sylviane Wolkom


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Lrmyc


  Responsable : Véronique Vincent (vvincent@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

De nouveaux outils génétiques et immunologiques ont été décrits au sein du laboratoire : plasmides linéaires répliqués dans des bactéries à croissance lente ou rapide, caractérisation d'isolats de M. africanum, démonstration que la mannosylation de certaines protéines est déterminante pour leur antigénicité. Ces résultats sont applicables dans le cadre du Centre National de Référence des Mycobactéries.



  rapport

cale

Le National de Référence (Gilles Marchal, Véronique Vincent, Cristina Gutierrez-Perez, Anne Varnerot, Maria de Moura Goncalves, Jean Sautereau, Michèle Gilbert)

Le Laboratoire est Centre National de Référence des Mycobactéries et est à ce titre impliqué dans la surveillance épidémiologique de la tuberculose et des autres infections mycobactériennes. Le typage moléculaire développé dans notre laboratoire sur des souches de M. tuberculosis reçues de divers hôpitaux a permis de résoudre des cas de suspicion de transmission inter-patients nosocomiale ou communautaire ou de suspicion de contamination de laboratoire. Une étude d'épidémiologie moléculaire conduite dans la Communauté urbaine de Brest a identifié des sites de contact et des facteurs de risque de transmission de tuberculose qui n'avaient pas été détectés par les méthodes d'épidémiologie conventionnelle. Le CNR a été désigné comme l'un des coordinateurs du réseau européen de surveillance de la résistance aux antituberculeux mis en place par l'OMS. En 2000 , le CNR a participé à l'enquête nationale menée par l'Institut de Veille Sanitaire sur les infections à M. xenopi. Le CNR a participé à l'élaboration des recommandations de l'OMS concernant le test de sensibilité des antituberculeux de seconde ligne.


Etude de plasmides linéaires (Corinne Le Dantec, Véronique Vincent, Mathieu Picardeau)

Notre laboratoire a décrit les premiers plasmides linéaires chez diverses espèces mycobactériennes. Il s'agit d'éléments en invertron dont les télomères présentent des séquences terminales inversées répétées et des protéines liées de façon covalente. L'étude s'est focalisée sur l'origine de réplication interne du plus petit plasmide identifié, pCLP, un élément de 25 kb. La région révèle une identité de séquence avec les origines de réplication de plasmides circulaires mycobactériens, indiquant des relations entre ces éléments de topologie distincte. L'homologie avec les plasmides linéaires d'autres actinomycètes est moindre, suggérant des événements génétiques distincts à l'origine de ces éléments. Le plasmide pCLP se réplique chez les mycobactéries à croissance lente (Mycobacterium bovis BCG) comme chez les espèces à croissance rapide (M. fortuitum, M. smegmatis) et constitue un outil intéressant pour l'introduction de gènes chez les diverses espèces mycobactériennes. Il représente un nouveau groupe de compatibilité et peut être utilisé dans des expériences de co-transformation avec d'autres vecteurs mycobactériens.


Diversité génétique de Mycobacterium africanum (Cristina Gutierrez-Perez, Véronique Vincent)

M. africanum rassemble des souches de bacilles de la tuberculose, surtout isolées chez des patients d'Afrique subsaharienne. M. africanum se caractérise par des phénotypes hétérogènes suggérant un continuumphénotypique entre M. tuberculosis et M. bovis. La caractérisation moléculaire, effectuée grâce à des marqueurs indépendants, confirme la validité du taxon et met en évidence un profil caractéristique distinct de M. tuberculosis et M. bovis. Les souches se répartissent en 3 groupes, dont deux très homogènes et un hétérogène. Le regroupement des souches ne fait apparaître ni de lien géographique particulier ni de caractère spécifique autorisant une identification phénotypique de chaque groupe. De plus l'homogénéité des sous-groupes ne permet pas de réaliser de typage moléculaire de qualité comme chez M. tuberculosis pour différencier des souches sans lien épidémiologique.


Réponses immunitaires au cours de la tuberculose

Une réponse immunitaire protectrice contre une infection expérimentale par Mycobacterium tuberculosis ne peut être obtenue que par l'injection d'un vaccin vivant. La souche de virulence atténuée de M. bovis, BCG, est ainsi utilisée comme vaccin contre la tuberculose. Deux voies majeures de recherche ont été explorées au cours des dernières années. L'efficacité de l'administration par la voie digestive a été analysée de façon à proposer une voie d'administration du vaccin susceptible de diminuer les effets secondaires locaux et d'éviter les risques d'infections dues à l'injection comme la transmission de virus (VIH-SIDA, hépatite). La caractérisation des molécules immunodominantes, reconnues par le système immunitaire lors d'une vaccination, a été un thème majeur de recherche.


La vaccination par le BCG induit des réponses immunitaires protectrices par voie orale ou rectale (Micheline Lagranderie, Mohammad Abolhassani, Pierre Chavarot, Anne-Marie Balazuc, Gilles Marchal)

L'administration du BCG par voie orale a été utilisée initialement par Calmette en 1921. Cette voie a été abandonnée du fait d'effets secondaires tels que le développement d'adénopathies cervicales importantes, éventuellement suppurées. Nous avons montré que la translocation, passage du BCG dans l'aire oropharyngée, n'est pas indispensable pour induire une immunité protectrice vis-à-vis d'une épreuve infectieuse par M. tuberculosis. L'administration intragastrique est aussi efficace que la voie orale pour induire une réponse immunitaire spécifique chez la souris.
La microencapsulation des bactéries pourrait réduire leur passage dans l'aire oropharyngée et réduire ainsi les effets secondaires. Une telle encapsulation est difficile à obtenir, aussi la voie rectale a-t-elle été explorée. Cette méthode de vaccination est facile à mettre en œuvre, peu dispendieuse et sûre. Les essais conduits chez trois espèces animales (souris, cobayes et macaques) montrent que les réponses immunitaires spécifiques sont similaires à celles observées après injection par voie sous-cutanée ou intradermique. Des niveaux de protection identiques ont été obtenus vis-à-vis d'une épreuve infectieuse avec une souche virulente au moins 6 mois après l'immunisation.


La présence de résidus mannose sur la molécule Apa est indispensable pour l'expression de l'antigénicité de cette molécule (Félix Romain, Cynthia Horn, Pascale Pescher, Gilles Marchal)

Les molécules sécrétées de 45/47 kDa (Apa), présentes dans les filtrats de culture de BCG, M. tuberculosis ou M. bovis, ont été identifiées et purifiées sur leur capacité à interagir essentiellement avec les lymphocytes T ou les anticorps induits par l'immunisation avec des bactéries vivantes. Ces molécules sont glycosylées ; des résidus de mannose sont fixés de façon covalente sur des thréonines déterminées. Une élimination des résidus de mannose par voie chimique ou enzymatique a été effectuée. Ces molécules déglycosylées sont 30 à 100 fois moins actives que les molécules natives pour initier les réactions d'hypersensibilité de type retardé chez les cobayes immunisés par le BCG vivant ou pour stimuler in vitro les lymphocytes T spécifiques.
Les molécules Apa recombinantes produites dans M. smegmatis sont 4 à 10 fois moins efficaces que les molécules natives, en relation avec le schéma type de glycosylation. Les molécules recombinantes produites dans E. coli sont quasiment inactives, en relation avec l'absence de glycosylation. Le rôle des résidus de mannose dans la constitution même de l'épitope reconnu par les lymphocytes T spécifiques est actuellement en cours d'étude.


Rôle de la superoxyde dismutase à zinc ou cuivre de M. tuberculosis (Olivier Dussurget, Pascale Pescher, Gilles Marchal)

Les superoxyde dismutases jouent un rôle déterminant dans la protection contre les dérivés actifs de l'oxygène. Les enzymes ont été rapportés comme étant des facteurs de pathogénicité chez de nombreuses espèces bactériennes. Ont été préparées des souches mutantes de M. tuberculosis et de BCG où le gène codant la superoxyde dismutase Zn/Cu est inactivé. De telles souches de bactéries montrent in vitro une susceptibilité légèrement accrue aux dérivés de l'oxygène. Par contre ces souches gardent la même virulence lors des infections expérimentales. La superoxyde dismutase Zn/Cu ne paraît pas jouer de rôle essentiel pour la pathogénicité de ces bactéries.


Utilisation des molécules 45/47 kDa (Apa) pour le diagnostic de tuberculose (Cynthia Horn, Gilles Marchal)

Afin de développer une méthode de diagnostic rapide de la tuberculose, des anticorps monoclonaux dirigés contre les molécules de 45/47 kDa (Apa) et les molécules elles-mêmes ont été utilisés par Vohangy Rosolofo et Suzanne Chanteau à l'Institut Pasteur de Madagascar.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Fabienne Courmarcel (1/2 temps)

Martine Mercier (1/2 temps)

Gilles Marchal

Véronique Vincent

Maria-Cristina Gutierrez Perez

Stefano Bonora

Nilay Coplu

Stéphane Flamant

Corinne Le Dantec

Céline Louveau

Raymond Kouassi N'Guessan

Sara Irène Ngo Niobe-Eyangoh

Félix Romain

Pierre Chavarot

Michèle Gilbert

Eddie Maranghi

Maria de Moura Goncalves

Pascale Pescher

Jean Sautereau

Anne Varnerot

Sylviane Wolkom


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.