Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Listeria


  Director : MARTIN Paul (listeria@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

National Reference Center of Listeria : Laboratory-based surveillance of listeriosis and participation in investigations of listeriosis epidemiology in France.



World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Foodborne Listeriosis : Participation in laboratory-based surveillance of listeriosis in some Countries, multicenter study on L. monocytogenes typing.

Research : characterization of two populations of L. monocytogenes (strains isolated from humans and from foods) by their virulence proteins profiles, development of DNA micro-arrays for typing and epidemiological studies.



  report

cale

National Reference Centre (CNR) for Listeria:

Listeriosis is a serious disease that preferentially affects subjects with disturbed immune systems (pregnant women and newborns, the elderly, immunocompromised subjects and patients suffering from cancer or cirrhosis or on immunosuppressive treatment). This infection manifests itself in various ways, depending on the case. It may cause abortion or result in the birth of an infected child; it may infect the central nervous system or cause bacteraemia or septicaemia. Diagnosis is based on isolation of the bacterium from a site that is normally sterile. The CNR receives strains isolated by medical biologists and these strains are then characterised by phenotyping and molecular techniques. The CNR also receives a certain number of strains isolated from foods and their environment during checks carried out by the agrofood industry itself or official controls carried out by veterinary departments or the laboratories of the General Directorate for Competition, Consumer Affairs and Fraud Prevention.


Regular monitoring of the results makes it possible, for strains of human origin: (i) to evaluate trends in the total number of cases; (ii) to detect the first clusters of cases at the start of an epidemic; (iii) to follow the progression of listeriosis in populations at risk; (iv) to evaluate the impact of preventive measures on the incidence of the disease; (v) to facilitate the mandatory declaration of the disease (all cases notified to the CNR are immediately transmitted to the health surveillance services) and (vi) to monitor the susceptibility of strains to antibiotics. For strains isolated from food, we are able to monitor the distribution of strains and to constitute a database to make it easier to identify cases with a food-borne origin among clustered cases.

During epidemics, the CNR fulfils the following functions:


  • Detection of clusters of cases,

  • Identification of epidemic cases,

  • Participation in the identification of the food vehicle responsible, by comparing strains isolated from foods with strains isolated from epidemic cases.


Situation with respect to human listeriosis in 2000, according to the results of the CNR :

Two hundred and sixteen sporadic cases were registered in 2000, based on the strains received by the CNR. The clinical forms were distributed as follows: 48 (22%) maternal and neonatal forms and 168 (78%) non-maternal and non-neonatal forms. A large decrease in the number of perinatal forms was observed in 1994 and the number of perinatal forms has steadily decreased ever since. The non-perinatal forms were distributed as follows: 110 cases (65%) of bacteraemia/septicaemia, 42 cases (25%) of central nervous system infection and 16 cases (10%) of other forms. This distribution is similar to that observed in 1999.
Between 1996 and 2000, the annual number of cases of listeriosis was between 216 and 230. The results for 2000 therefore confirm the large decrease in the number of cases observed since 1996 (301 cases in 1995). This decrease must be seen in the light of the measures taken concerning the production and distribution of foodstuffs and the recommendations given to populations at risk.

WHO Collaborating Centre (WHOCC) for food-borne listeriosis :


  • participation in the monitoring of listeriosis in certain countries by strain typing,

  • Collection of information concerning listeriosis in various countries (incidence, epidemiological characteristics),

  • Multicentre study of typing methods for L. monocytogenes.


Research :

Study of virulence proteins in L. monocytogenes.

Several observations have suggested that certain strains present in food may be less frequently responsible for infections in humans. These observations include the non-uniform distribution of serovars, ribovars, isoenzyme profiles and surface proteins according to whether the strain is of human or food origin. Further evidence that this may be the case is provided by heterogeneity in the virulence of strains in animal and cell models. The work carried out by the "Unité des InteractionsBactéries-Cellules" has demonstrated molecular mechanisms for host invasion in L. monocytogenes. A study of the expression of several virulence factors involved in various stages of the infections cycle is being carried out in collaboration with this unit, to compare clinical strains and strains isolated from food. Having compared expression of the virulence genes encoding listeriolysin O (LLO), Act A (involved in actin polymerisation), Ami (bacteriolysin) and InlB (required for entry into host cells) in 300 strains of Listeria monocytogenes isolated from sporadic human cases and 150 strains isolated from foods, attention is currently focused on the gene encoding InlA, which is required for the entry of the bacterium into human intestinal cells.

General approach to the epidemiology of listeriosis.

This programme involves three groups from the Pasteur Institute. Its principal aim is to identify differences between the genomes of L. monocytogenes (a species pathogenic in humans) and L. innocua (a non-pathogenic species) with a view to developing new tools for the epidemiology and typing of Listeria monocytogenes and to improving our understanding of the virulence mechanisms of this species. The laboratory is primarily involved in epidemiological aspects, for the development of a new method of typing for L. monocytogenes based on DNA microarrays.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Christine PHAN - listeria@pasteur.fr

Paul MARTIN

Christine JACQUET

Malika GOUALI (chercheur temporaire)

Michel DOUMITH (chercheur temporaire)

 

Laeticia BELLON

Evelyne FILIATRE

Elodie PINET


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Listeria


  Responsable : MARTIN Paul (listeria@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Centre National de Référence des Listeria (CNR): surveillance microbiologique de la listériose humaine, détection des épidémies et participation aux investigations épidémiologiques de la listériose en France.
Centre Collaborateur de l'OMS pour la listériose d'origine alimentaire (CCOMS): participation à la surveillance de la listériose dans certains pays, étude multicentrique sur les méthodes de typage de L. monocytogenes.
Recherche : étude de l'expression de protéines de virulence dans une population de souches de L. monocytogenes isolées de cas cliniques et d'aliments, développement de puces à ADN pour l'étude épidémiologique et le typage



  rapport

cale

Centre National de Référence des Listeria (CNR) :

La listériose est une maladie grave survenant préférentiellement chez les sujets dont le système immunitaire est perturbé (femmes enceintes et nouveau-nés, personnes âgées et sujets immunodéprimés, personnes atteintes de cancers, de cirrhoses ou sous thérapie immunosuppressive). Cette infection se traduit selon le cas, par des avortements ou la naissance d'un enfant infecté, des infections du système nerveux central ou encore des bactériémies/septicémies. Le diagnostic repose sur l'isolement de la bactérie à partir d'un site normalement stérile. Le CNR reçoit les souches isolées par les biologistes médicaux et les caractérise avec des méthodes phénotypiques et moléculaires. Parallèlement, le CNR reçoit un certain nombre de souches isolées des aliments et de leur environnement, lors d'autocontrôles effectués par les industriels de l'agro-alimentaire, lors de contrôles officiels effectués par les services vétérinaires ou par les laboratoires de la Direction Générale de la Concurrence, de la Consommation et de la Répression des Fraudes.
La surveillance régulière des données permet pour les souches d'origine humaine : - d'évaluer des tendances concernant le nombre total de cas, - de détecter les premiers cas groupés en début d'épidémie, - de suivre l'évolution de la listériose dans les populations à risque, - d'évaluer l'impact des mesures de prévention sur l'incidence, - de participer à la déclaration obligatoire de la maladie (toute notification de cas au CNR étant immédiatement transmise à l'Institut de Veille Sanitaire), - de surveiller la sensibilité des souches aux antibiotiques, - et pour les souches d'origine alimentaire : de surveiller la distribution des souches et de disposer d'une banque de données permettant d'orienter les investigations pour identifier l'origine alimentaire de cas groupés.
Lors d'épidémies, le rôle du CNR est le suivant :


  • détection des cas groupés,

  • identification des cas épidémiques,

  • participation à l'identification du véhicule alimentaire par comparaison des souches isolées des aliments avec les souches isolées des cas épidémiques.


Etat de la listériose humaine en 2000 selon les données du CNR :

Deux cent seize cas sporadiques ont été recensés en 2000, à partir des souches reçues au CNR. La répartition des formes cliniques a été la suivante : 48 (22%) formes materno-néonatales et 168 (78%) formes non materno-néonatales. Une diminution importante du nombre des formes périnatales a été observée en 1994 et depuis cette date, le nombre de ces formes diminue régulièrement. La distribution des formes non périnatales est la suivante : bactériémies/septicémies : 110 cas (65%) ; infections du système nerveux central : 42 cas (25%) et autres formes : 16 cas (10%), est comparable à celle de 1999.
Entre 1996 et 2000, le nombre de cas de listériose a été compris entre 216 et 230 cas. Les résultats de l'année 2000 confirment donc la baisse importante du nombre de cas observé depuis 1996 (301 cas en 1995). Cette baisse est à mettre en relation avec les mesures concernant les denrées alimentaires (de la production à la distribution) et avec les recommandations aux populations à risque.

Centre Collaborateur de l'OMS pour la listériose d'origine alimentaire (CCOMS) :


  • Participation à la surveillance de la listériose dans certains pays par le typage des souches,

  • Collecte d'informations sur la listériose dans différents pays (incidence, caractéristiques épidémiologiques),

  • Etude multicentrique sur les méthodes de typage de L. monocytogenes.



Recherche :

Etude de l'expression de protéines de virulence chez L. monocytogenes

Un certain nombre d'observations suggère que certaines souches présentes dans les aliments pourraient être moins fréquemment responsables d'infections chez l'homme : inégale répartition des sérovars, des ribovars, des profils d'isoenzymes ou des protéines de surface des souches selon leur origine humaine ou alimentaire, hétérogénéité de la virulence des souches sur modèles animaux ou cellulaires. Les travaux effectués l'équipe de l'Unité des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules a conduit à la mise en évidence des mécanismes moléculaires d'invasion de l'hôte par L. monocytogenes. Une étude de l'expression de plusieurs facteurs de virulence impliqués dans différentes étapes du cycle infectieux est réalisée en collaboration avec cette unité, afin de comparer les souches cliniques et les souches d'origine alimentaire. Après avoir comparé l'expression des gènes de virulence codant pour la listériolysine O (LLO), pour ActA (polymérisation de l'actine), pour Ami (bactériolysine), et pour InlB (nécessaire à l'entrée dans les cellules hôtes), sur 300 souches de Listeria monocytogenes isolées de cas sporadiques humains et 150 souches isolées d'aliments, le travail de recherche est poursuivi sur la protéine codée par InlA, nécessaire à l'entrée de la bactérie dans les cellules intestinales humaines.


Approche générale pour l'épidémiologie de la listériose.

Ce programme implique 3 équipes de l'Institut Pasteur. Son objectif principal est d'identifier les différences à l'échelle génomique entre L. monocytogenes (espèce pathogène pour l'homme) et L. innocua (espèce non pathogène) afin de développer de nouveaux outils pour l'épidémiologie et le typage de Listeria monocytogenes, et de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de virulence. Le laboratoire est principalement impliqué dans l'aspect épidémiologique pour la mise au point d'une nouvelle méthode de typage de L. monocytogenes : les puces à ADN.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Christine PHAN - listeria@pasteur.fr

Paul MARTIN

Christine JACQUET

Malika GOUALI (chercheur temporaire)

Michel DOUMITH (chercheur temporaire)

 

Laeticia BELLON

Evelyne FILIATRE

Elodie PINET


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.