Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Imphymol


  Director : Guy BORDENAVE (gbordena@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Cells of the immune system talk to each other by means of cell surface contacts. Cell surface receptors involved in these interactions are able to transduce informations inside the cells and to provoke the appropriate reaction. We designed systems (essentially with T and B lymphocytes) which allow to mimic some of these situations and to study the biochemical and genetical mechanisms underlying these relationships.



  report

cale

Activation of T-cells in presence of CSA induces the expression of a novel genetic program (Laurent Mascarell & Paolo Truffa-Bachi).

The discovery of the immunosuppressive property of CSA and its successful use in organ transplantation were important hallmarks in health care. CSA/cyclophilin complexes bind to calcineurin and inhibit the phosphatase activity of this enzyme. The cytosolic component of the nuclear factor of activated T-lymphocytes (NFAT) is not anymore dephosphorylated by calcineurin, preventing its translocation into the nucleus. Thus, the transcription of a set of genes possessing NFAT binding regulatory regions, such as IL2 and other cytokines participating in T-cell clonal expansion and differentiation, does not occur. CSA does not block the generation of AP-1, a transactivator that couples extracellular signals to gene-activation events in a developmental and tissue-specific manner. We hypothesized that the immunosuppressor may not interfere with the expression of genes regulated by AP-1 and we have asked whether activation of T lymphocytes in presence of CSA could modify the transcription of a set of inducible genes.

We used the proteomic approach, labeling new synthesized peptide with 35S-methionine. This study was a collaborative project between our group and the group of Dr. Lefkovits at the Roche Center for Medical Genomics, formerly the Basel Institute for Immunology. The proteomic technique is not restricted to the analysis of one or few cellular products but allows for qualitative and a quantitative measurement of several hundreds of proteins synthesized during a given interval and thus reflects the transcriptional and translational potential of the cells under various conditions. The comparison of the 2D gels from T-cells activated by ConA in presence or absence of CSA at different times showed that some polypeptides were made only in ConA-activated cells and that were common to both groups of cells. Strikingly, when activation was carried out in presence of CSA several radiolabeled polypeptides (>200), not found in ConA-activated T cells nor in non-activated cells, were detected supporting our hypothesis that CSA modifies the genetic program of LT activation.

The inhibitory effects of CSA on T cell activation processes are well documented; nevertheless, the outcome of CSA removal has received little attention despite the fact that discontinuation of the immunosuppressive treatment results in a rapid graft rejection. We have studied the effect of CSA removal by proteomic analyses. Around 80 polypeptides were synthesized de novo following CSA removal confirming that T cells, triggered in presence of CSA, have acquired a new program of gene expression.

In conclusion, we have shown that, in addition to its well-documented inhibitory effect on genes encoding for cytokines, CSA profoundly affects the genetic program of T-cell activation. T-cells triggered in presence of the immunosuppressor do not proliferate; nevertheless, they differentiate into cells expressing surface markers important in cell cooperation and migration. CSA promotes the synthesis of numerous proteins that are not found in resting or activated T-cells indicating that the immunosuppressor must act at the level of a class of transactivators that regulate the expression of the corresponding genes. Whether the changes in polypeptide representation indicate a spontaneous reshuffling of cellular differentiation functions or just a general shift towards a new cellular homeostasis remains to be assessed.


A molecule of vegetal origin, urtica dioica agglutinin, acts as a superantigen on mouse T-cells (Paula Rovira & Paolo Truffa-Bachi).

Although the physiological function of vegetal lectins is poorly understood, these proteins have been powerful tools for the analysis of T-cell activation. During the analysis of various lectins, we found that one of these molecules, Urtica dioica agglutinin (UDA) was a superantigen that triggers only the sub-population of T cells carrying the Vß8.3 domains of ß-chain of the TCR. Since the disclosing of UDA superantigenic activity, we have progressed in the understanding of its mode of action. The capacity of being presented by both class I and class II MHC molecules made of UDA a unique superantigen. In addition, we demonstrated that binding to MHC and TCR Vß chain was afforded by the recognition of oligosaccharides on these molecules. The tertiary structure of UDA was carried as a collaborative project with the group of Graham Bentley in our department. UDA crystals and their structures were obtained in free and oligosaccharide-complexes. These structures gave a molecular explanation of how a lectin, devoid of particular specificity towards two molecules mandatory for the immune response, could act as a superantigen. Vb8.3 chains possess a glycan residue, not found on other Vß, located in a position that allows UDA to bind simultaneously the TCR and class I (or class II) MHC molecules. The relative positioning of the MHC and Vb8.3 TCR molecules is indispensable to ensure T-cell activation and proliferation.


Studies on the interactions of LPSs from bacteria of different genera, and growing in different biotopes, with cells of the immune system. (group conducted by Robert Girard).

Introduction.

The knowledge of the first steps of the interaction of LPS with cells of the immune system, and of other tissues (pulmonary, intestinal) represents a major step for understanding the various and pleiotropic effects (septic shock being the most dramatic of them) triggered by these amphiphilic molecules. We have shown that LPSs from different bacterial strains (including Salmonella enterica subsp. enterica and Bordetella spp.) can induce, at the surface of mouse or human bone marrow granulocytes, the expression of receptors with high affinity for Lipid A. These receptors, identified as CD14, exhibit a marked specificity for various bacterial constituents such as LPSs, peptidoglycans, and lipophosphoglycans, and are distinct from constitutive receptors. This induction phenomenon is under the control of the lps locus present on mouse chromosome 4. Recently, Beutler's group described the sequence of a gene in this locus, coding for a transmembrane protein termed TLR4, belonging to the family of Toll-like receptors (TLRs).In line with our initial observation, we continued to study the constitutive receptor(s) of LPS, and the signal transduction pathways involved in the expression of CD14 at the surface of mouse bone marrow granulocytes.

Constitutive LPS receptor(s).

We have shown previously that the interaction of LPS with receptors expressed on the surface of bone marrow granulocytes was inhibited by the synthetic glycolipid PPDm2. This specific interaction is reversible, saturable, and time- and temperature-dependent. Using the novel compound PPDm2-B, a synthetic analogue of lipid A prepared by the group of R. CHABY, which specifically inhibits the induction of CD14, we have been able to prepare a new photoactivatable compound, radiolabeled with 125I. With this reagent, we carried out experiments in which cytoplasts of bone marrow cells expressing the Ly6-G marker were radiolabeled. Analyses by SDS-PAGE, and 2 D gels, indicated that several proteins (about 70, 30, and 20 kDa) were radiolabeled, and that labeling could be partially inhibited in the presence of LPS. By centrifugation through a saccharose gradient, the 30 kDa protein was enriched in a fraction of density 1.12. The 30 kDa protein was also found in membranes of cytoplasts from LPS-unresponsive mice. It is noteworthy that the molecular mass of this protein is similar to that of the recently described MD-2 molecule which, in association with TLR-4, may represent the LPS sensor in some macrophage cell lines. Definite identification of these radiolabeled molecules should allow us to define the constitution of the LPS-receptor present on the surface of mouse bone marrow granulocytes, and to consider to carry out a comparative study on receptors present on more differentiated cell types, or on different cell types (B- and pre-B lymphocytes).

Our experimental results indicated that LPSs from Rhizobium spp. can induce the expression of CD14 in bone marrow granulocytes of LPS-unresponsive mouse strains. This observation indicates that the lps locus is not involved, and that other TLRs, different from TLR4, can take part in the detection of structurally atypical lipid A molecules.


2. Transduction signals involved during the induction of CD14.

We have shown previously that the LPS-induced expression of CD14 requires the participation of protein tyrosine kinase, and the MAP kinase p38, but not of protein kinase C. However, other serine/thréonine protein kinases are certainly involved, as shown by the decreased response of the granulocytes to LPS in the presence K252a and KT-5823, which are known inhibitors of this family of kinases. We found that pre-treatment of the bone marrow granulocytes with phorbol myristate acetate (PMA) completely blocks the induction of CD14 by LPS. The unmodified binding of radiolabeled LPS to cells pre-treated with PMA indicated that the phorbol ester triggers a biochemical event which follows the interaction of LPS with its constitutive receptor. The observation that a specific activator of the PKC-a isoform mimics the inhibitor effect of PMA, whereas a specific inhibitor of this isoform antagonizes this effect, suggests a regulatory role of PKC-a in the signaling pathway triggered by LPS.



Cellular and molecular mechanisms of the T-cell-induced suppression of mouse IgG2ab expression and of its T-cell- immune tolerance (group conducted by Guy Bordenave).

Introduction

We previously observed that, in the absence of any preliminary stimulation or immunization, T splenocytes from normal Igha mice with different genetic backgrounds — BALB/c (H-2d), BC8 (H-2b) strains — possessed a constitutive inhibitory activity against the expression of IgG2ab (IgG2a from mice of the Ighb haplotype, prototype C57Bl/6 strain). This intrinsic anti-IgG2ab TL activity of normal Igha mice can be enhanced in vivo by one or two i.v. injections of, for instance, B splenocytes from an Ighb congenic strain. Such an operation is termed "sensitization" and the resulting mice and T lymphocytes (L) are called sensitized mice and T1sens or T2sens respectively, according to the number of sensitizations. With Tsens injected to Igha/b or Ighb/b newborns (prepared by mating Igh congenic strains, which thus are histocompatible) we are able to induce a total, specific and chronic (but experimentally reversible) suppression of IgG2ab expression in 100 % of the recipients. As the suppression is strictly restricted to the IgG2ab allotype, we can say that it operates downstream the allelic exclusion and the isotypic switch leading to IgG2ab producing plasmocytes. The suppression is transferable into histocompatible Igha/b newborns by means of T splenocytes from mice subjected to the suppression.

One of the advantages of our model is that it deals with an unambiguous case of T-cell-mediated downregulation of immunoglobulin production. With this in vivo experimental system we are thus able to interrupt or provoke, at will, the production of large amounts of an immunoglobulin. Consequently it allowed us and continues to allow us a fine dissection of the partners, LT, LB taking part in a negative regulation of the immune system. More recently it offers a way to study problems pertaining to the immune tolerance.

For instance, we established that the suppression induction, in the Tsens newborn recipients, required the cooperation between CD4+ and CD8+ TL which had to possess the anti-IgG2ab specificity. Nevertheless, CD8+ TL alone were essential for suppression maintenance. During the sensitization phase, in Igha mice, CD4+ helper TL were indispensable to obtain a full recruitment of anti-IgG2ab cytotoxic TL.

Role of the CD40 molecule in the suppression of IgG2ab expression.

A new model called "sequential cellular interactions" recently emerges to try to explain the CD4+-dependent generation of CD8+ cytotoxic TL (CTL). The CD4+ TL help for CD8+ CTL responses was shown to be mediated by the intermediary of an antigen presenting cell (in fact dendritic cells : DC) carrying both MHC class I and MHC class II components able to present antigen derived peptides to CD8+ TL and CD4+ TL, respectively. The involvement of CD40 molecule on DC by CD40 ligand on activated CD4+ TL would trigger the DC which, in turn, would acquire the capacity to stimulate CD8+ TL directed against the same antigenic determinant and to lead them to the state of cytotoxic effectors. For instance, in the absence of CD4+ TL, their help for CD8+ TL could be reconstituted by the action of agonistic anti-CD40 antibodies. As the suppression of IgG2ab expression provides a good example of CD4+ TL-dependent generation of CD8+ CTL, we wondered whether CD4+ TL-depleted Igha mice, subjected to an in vivo agonistic anti-CD40 treatment, and of course sensitized against Ighb congenic BL, were able to recruit regulatory CD8+ TL with potential to inhibit IgG2ab production in Igha/b recipients. We observed that it was the case compared to CD4+ TL-depleted Igha mice which did not suffer the anti-CD40 injections. Nevertheless, despite the significant ability to negatively regulate IgG2ab production, the anti-IgG2ab CD8+ CTL recruited by CD40 stimulation in CD4+ TL-depleted Igha mice, failed to induce full suppression in all Igha/b recipients as if they were less effective than anti-IgG2ab CD8+ CTL normally obtained in the presence of CD4+ TL. This incomplete CD4+ TL help replacement by in vivo CD40 triggering could reflect the need for a parallel CD40-independent DC stimulation or direct CD4+-CD8+ TL communication for the priming of CD8+ CTL. Nevertheless, our data provide evidence that agonistic anti-CD40 treatment helps in recruiting CD8+ CTL implicated in immune regulatory functions.

We formerly showed that IgG2ab+ target BL were lysed by anti- IgG2ab TL which, alternatively, or concomitantly, used perforin or Fas cell-death pathway. By employing pore-forming protein (perforin) "knockout" Igha mice (Pfp-/-) we established that this suppression could be fully induced by only the Fas mediated cytotoxic mechanism. As Fas is not expressed on the surface of mature BL, its up-regulation which can occur particularly via CD40 triggering, would constitute a prerequisite for induction and maintenance of IgG2ab suppression by means of the Fas pathway. Thus our model of suppression of IgG2ab expression also furnishes the opportunity to investigate the possible involvement of CD40 expression on Ighb BL when the Igha CD8+ TL effectors operate exclusively by the Fas pathway. We demonstrated by utilizing Pfp-/- Igha mice (exclusively operating through the Fas pathway) and CD40 "knockout" (CD40-/-) Ighb mice that Pfp-/- Igha TL failed to establish full suppression against CD40-/- Ighb BL while they were able to totally induce it against CD40+/+ BL. One can imagine the existence of two kinds of IgG2ab-producing BL : i) a highly represented population, readily susceptible to Fas induced suppression, which up-regulates Fas through a CD40 independent mechanism, and ii) a weakly represented population, chronically escaping Fas-induced suppression in the absence of CD40-mediated Fas up-regulation. There is obviously a direct involvement of BL CD40 expression in in vivo negative control of an immunoglobulin production.

From another point of view we also observed that transfer of CD40+/+ and mainly CD40-/- mature peripheral Ighb BL into RAG2 "knockout" mice (RAG2-/-), the RAG2 gene governs the recombination of the genetic elements of antibodies and TCR and its absence results in mice without T and B cell compartments, led into these LB to an enhanced switch recombination to IgG2ab. For CD40-/- Ighb BL, the order of magnitude of frequency and absolute number of IgG2ab-producing cells was increased around 500 times when transferred into a RAG2-/- environment.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Madame THEPAUT Sylvana, I.P.

CHABY Richard DR2 CNRS (à temps très partiel)

GIRARD Robert M.C. University Paris VII

MAJLESSI Laleh C.R. I.P.

TRUFFA-BACHI Paolo DR2 CNRS

MASCARELL Laurent PhD student

DARDENNE Pascal I.P.

DENOYELLE Chantal IE2 CNRS

HUESCA-FALCO Michèle CNRS

PEDRON Thierry I. I.P.

SELLIER Christèle CNRS


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Imphymol


  Responsable : Guy BORDENAVE (gbordena@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les cellules du système immunitaire (lymphocytes (L)T, LB), entretiennent, lors de leurs fréquents contacts, de multiples et complexes communications. Les récepteurs cellulaires sollicités émettent alors des signaux qui transfèrent l'information à l'intérieur des cellules incriminées. La réaction appropriée est, à ce moment-là, provoquée. Nous avons développé des systèmes qui permettent de mimer certaines de ces interactions et d'étudier les mécanismes biochimiques et génétiques qui régissent ces relations.



  rapport

cale

L'activation des lymphocytes T en présence de cyclosporine A (CSA) induit l'expression d'un nouveau programme génétique (Laurent Mascarell et Paolo Truffa-Bachi)

La découverte des propriétés immunosuppressives de la cyclosporine A (CSA) ainsi que son utilisation en transplantation d'organes sont des avancées fondamentales en santé publique. Le complexe CSA-cyclophilines se lie à la calcineurine et inhibe l'activité phosphatase de cette enzyme. Le composé cytosolique du facteur nucléaire d'activation des lymphocytes T (NFAT) n'est plus déphosphoré par la calcineurine et n'est plus exporté vers le noyau. L'ensemble des gènes, tel l'IL2, possédant des régions régulatrices liant NFAT n'est alors plus transcrit. Néanmoins la CSA ne bloque pas l'induction d'AP-1, un autre transactivateur. Nous avons donc émis l'hypothèse que la CSA n'interférait pas avec l'expression de gènes régulés par AP-1 et que l'activation des lymphocytes T (LT) en présence de cet immunosuppresseur modifiait la transcription de l'ensemble des gènes inductibles.

Nous avons utilisé l'approche protéomique en analysant les nouvelles synthèses protéiques par incorporation de méthionine marquée au soufre S-35. Une collaboration a été établie entre notre groupe et celui du Dr Leftkovitz du " Basel Institute for Immunology ", devenu le " Roche Center for Medical Genomics ". L'analyse par le protéome n'est pas restreinte à l'analyse de quelques produits cellulaires, mais permet une mesure qualitative et quantitative de plusieurs centaines de protéines durant un intervalle de temps donné et reflète ainsi la transcription et la traduction potentielles des cellules sous diverses conditions. Le profil comparatif des gels en deux dimensions des cellules T activées à différents temps, en présence et en absence de CSA, montre que certains polypeptides ne sont synthétisés que chez les cellules activées et que de nombreuses protéines sont aussi communes chez les deux groupes de cellules activées, ce qui était attendu. Le fait que des polypeptides soient synthétisés uniquement en présence de la CSA justifie notre hypothèse.

Les conséquences de l'élimination de la CSA n'a pas fait l'objet d'une grande attention en dépit du fait qu'une interruption du traitement immunosuppresseur conduise à un rejet rapide de la greffe. C'est pourquoi nous avons étudié les effets de l'élimination de la CSA sur la synthèse protéique par une analyse protéomique. Nous avons trouvé qu'environ 80 polypeptides étaient synthétisés de novo suite à l'élimination de la CSA. Les nombreux changements dans la représentation polypeptidique confirment que les LT activés en présence de CSA acquièrent un nouveau programme d'activation génique.

En conclusion nous avons démontré que la CSA modifiait le programme génétique d'activation des LT. Bien que les LT activés en présence de l'immunosuppresseur ne prolifèrent pas, ils se différencient en cellules qui expriment à leur surface des marqueurs impliqués dans la coopération cellulaire et la migration. La découverte que la CSA induit la synthèse de nombreuses protéines qui ne se retrouvent ni chez les cellules au repos ni chez les cellules activées indique que l'immunosuppresseur doit agir au niveau d'une classe de transactivateurs qui régulent l'expression des gènes correspondants. Il reste encore à élucider si ce changement de représentation polypeptidique conduit la cellule vers des fonctions de différenciation connues ou si la modification du profil protéique dirige la cellule vers de nouvelles caractéristiques homéostatiques.


Une molécule d'origine végétale, l'agglutinine de la grande ortie, agit comme un superantigène sur les lymphocytes T de souris (Paula Rovira et Paolo Truffa-Bachi).

Bien que les fonctions physiologiques des lectines végétales soient peu connues, ces protéines sont de puissants outils dans l'analyse de l'activation des LT. Parmi les nombreuses lectines étudiées au laboratoire, nous avons trouvé que l'une d'entre elles, l'agglutinine de la grande ortie (UDA), était un superantigène activant la sous-population Vb8.3 des LT murins. La capacité de présentation par des molécules du complexe d'histocompatibilité de classe I et II (CMH I et CMH II) font de l'UDA un superantigène unique. De plus, nous avons démontré que la liaison entre UDA, CMH et TCR était liée à la reconnaissance des oligosaccharides portés par ces deux dernières molécules. La structure tertiaire de l'UDA a été réalisée en collaboration avec le groupe du Dr Graham Bentley dans notre département. Des cristaux d'UDA libre ou complexés à des oligosaccharides ont été obtenus et leur structure déterminée. Ces structures donnent une explication moléculaire de l'action de l'UDA en tant que superantigène. La chaîne Vb8.3 possède un résidu glycane dans une position unique par rapport aux autres chaînes Vß qui permet la liaison simultanée de l'UDA au TCR et au CMH. Ces contacts spécifiques sont responsables de l'activation et la prolifération des LT.


Etude des interactions de lipopolysaccharides (LPS) provenant de différents genres bactériens, se développant dans divers biotopes, avec les cellules du système immunitaire. (groupe dirigé par Robert Girard).

Introduction.

La connaissance des premières étapes d'interaction du LPS avec les cellules du système immunitaire, et d'autres tissus (système épithélial pulmonaire, intestinal) constitue un enjeu majeur dans la compréhension des nombreux effets pléiotropes, (le choc septique, souvent mortel, en est la manifestation la plus dramatique) déclenchés par ces molécules amphiphiles. Nous avons montré que des LPS de différentes souches bactériennes (notamment Salmonella enterica subsp. enterica et Bordetella spp.) pouvaient induire, à la surface des granulocytes de moelle osseuse d'homme ou de souris, l'expression de récepteurs très affins pour le lipide A. Ces récepteurs, identifiés comme étant le CD14, présentent une spécificité très large vis à vis de nombreux constituants bactériens comme les LPS, les peptidoglycanes, les lipophosphoglycanes, et sont distincts des récepteurs constitutifs. Ce phénomène d'induction est sous le contrôle du locus lps situé sur le chromosone 4 de la souris. Récemment, l'équipe de Beutler a décrit la séquence d'un gène situé à ce locus, codant une protéine transmembranaire appelée TLR4 appartenant à la famille des Toll-like-receptors (TLRs).Dans le cadre de notre observation initiale nous avons poursuivi l'étude du (ou des) récepteur(s) constitutif(s) au LPS et des voies de transduction des signaux impliqués dans l'expression du CD14 à la surface des granulocytes de moelle osseuse de souris.

Récepteur(s) constitutif(s) au(x) LPS.

Antérieurement nous avions montré que l'interaction du LPS avec des récepteurs exprimés à la surface des granulocytes de moelle osseuse était inhibée par le glycolipide de synthèse PPDm2. Cette interaction spécifique est réversible, saturable, temps et température dépendante. Avec le nouveau composé PPDm2-B, analogue de synthèse du lipide A, préparé par le groupe de R. CHABY, inhibant spécifiquement le phénomène d'induction du CD14, il nous a été possible d'obtenir un nouveau produit photoactivable et radiomarquable à 125 I. Avec ce réactif, des expériences de marquage par photo-affinité des cytoplastes de cellules de moelle osseuse exprimant le marqueur Ly6-G ont été réalisées. Des analyses en SDS-PAGE, et gel en 2 D,ont révélé que plusieurs protéines (d'environ 70, 30, 20 Kda) étaient radiomarquées, et que ce marquage était inhibé, partiellement, en présence de LPS. Par passage sur un gradient de saccharose la protéine 30Kda est enrichie dans une fraction de densité 1,12g/cm3. Cette protéine de 30Kda est également présente dans les membranes des cytoplastes préparés à partir des souris non répondeuses au LPS. Il est intéressant de noter que la masse moléculaire de cette protéine est équivalente à celle de la molécule MD-2 récemment décrite, qui en association avec TLR4 constituerait le détecteur du LPS pour certaines lignées de macrophages de souris. L'identification précise de ces molécules radiomarquées devrait permettre de définir la constitution du récepteur au LPS présent à la surface des granulocytes de moelle osseuse de souris et d'envisager une étude comparée avec les récepteurs présents sur des cellules plus différenciées ou sur des types cellulaires différents (lymphocytes B et pré-B).

Nos résultats expérimentaux ont montré que les LPS provenant de Rhizobium spp. pouvaient induire l'expression de CD14 à la surface des granulocytes de moelle osseuse provenant de lignées de souris non sensibles. Cette observation indique que le locus lps n'est pas impliqué et que probablement d'autres TLR, que TLR4, peuvent intervenir dans la détection de lipide A ayant des structures atypiques.

Signaux de transduction impliqués lors de l'induction du CD14.

Précédemment nous avions montré que le phénomène d'induction par le LPS du CD14 impliquait l'intervention de protéine tyrosine kinase et de la MAP kinase p38 mais non de la protéine kinase C. Cependant d'autres sérine/thréonine protéines kinases doivent intervenir comme l'indique la chute de la réponse des granulocytes au LPS obtenue avec les inhibiteurs K252a et KT.5823 de cette catégorie de kinases. Nous montrons que le pré-traitement des granulocytes de moelle osseuse par le phorbol myristate acétate (PMA) bloque totalement l'induction du CD14 par le LPS. L'absence de modification de la fixation du LPS radiomarqué sur ces cellules pré-traitées par le PMA nous indique que le phorbol ester déclenche un événement biochimique qui suit l'interaction du LPS et de son récepteur constitutif. L'observation qu'un activateur spécifique de l'isoforme PKC-a mime l'effet inhibiteur du PMA, alors qu'un inhibiteur spécifique de cette isoforme antagonise cet effet suggère un rôle régulateur de la PKC-a dans cette voie de signalisation déclenchée par le LPS.


Mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires, chez la souris, de la suppression, induite au moyen de lymphocytes T, de l'expression de l'IgG2ab, et de la tolérance immunitaire des lymphocytes T à son égard (groupe dirigé par Guy Bordenave).

Introduction

Nous avons antérieurement montré que les souris de l'haplotype allotypique Igha (prototype : souris BALB/c) possédaient une fonction intrinsèque de LT contre l'expression de l'IgG2ab c'est-à-dire contre l'IgG2a de l'haplotype allotypique Ighb (prototype : souris C57Bl/6). On peut amplifier in vivo cette activité anti-IgG2ab de LT chez les souris Igha par ce que nous appelons la sensibilisation et qui consiste en l'injection, par voie veineuse, de LB de souris Ighb congéniques. Avec ces LT sensibilisés injectés à des nouveau-nés Igha/b ou Ighb/b (préparés par croisement de lignées Igh congéniques et donc histocompatibles) on induit une suppression totale, chronique (mais expérimentalement réversible) et spécifique de l'IgG2ab (chez 100 % des receveurs). Les autres allotypes, dont l' IgG2aa, et isotypes d'immunoglobulines continuent d'être normalement exprimés ce qui indique que cette suppression agit en aval de l'exclusion allélique et de la commutation isotypique qui conduisent aux plasmocytes producteurs d' IgG2ab. Ce dispositif expérimental in vivo, grâce auquel on peut interrompre ou faire reprendre, en quelque sorte à volonté, la production de grandes quantités d'une immunoglobuline, nous a permis et continue de nous permettre une dissection fine des partenaires (LT, LB) qui entrent en jeu dans une régulation négative au sein du système immunitaire. Depuis plus récemment il nous autorise également l'abord de problèmes qui relèvent de la tolérance immunitaire.

Nous avons, en particulier, montré que l'induction de cette suppression était sous la dépendance des deux sous-populations de LT : les LT CD4+ et les LT CD8+ qui ont à possèder l'activité anti- IgG2ab. Cependant, seuls les LT CD8+ paraissent indispensables au maintien de cette suppression. Au cours de l'amplification, chez les souris Igha, des LT anti-IgG2ab, on note que le recrutement des LT cytotoxiques CD8+ est tributaire des LT CD4+ amplificateurs.

Role de la molécule CD40 de la surface cellulaire dans la suppression de l'expression de l' IgG2ab.

Cette sujétion, c'est-à-dire la nécessité de l'aide de LT CD4+ pour engendrer des LT CD8+ cytotoxiques anti-IgG2ab nous a offert l'opportunité de tester le modèle "d'interactions cellulaires séquentielles" qui peut régir les rapports entre LT CD4+, LT CD8+ et cellules dendritiques (CD). Les LT CD4+ activés par un antigène induiraient la maturation des CD via l'interaction du constituant de surface CD40 présent sur les CD et le ligand de ce CD40 présent sur les LT CD4+ activés. Cette maturation conférerait aux CD la capacité à stimuler les LT CD8+ spécifiques dudit antigène et à les conduire à l'état d'effecteurs cytotoxiques. Par exemple, en l'absence de LT CD4+, leur effet amplificateur auprès des LT CD8+ pourrait être remplacé par l'action agoniste d'un anticorps anti-CD40. Nous nous sommes demandé si des souris Igha appauvries en LT CD4+, soumises in vivo à un traitement agoniste anti-CD40 et bien sûr sensibilisées contre des LB provenant de souris Ighb congéniques étaient capables de recruter des LT CD8+ régulateurs avec la potentialité d'inhiber la production d' IgG2ab chez des receveurs Igha/b. Nous avons observé que de telles souris étaient parfaitement aptes à développer in vivo une activité amplifiée de LT CD8+ anti-IgG2ab, tandis que celles qui ne subissaient pas le traitement agoniste anti-CD40 en étaient incapables. Néanmoins, en dépit de leur aptitude significative à moduler négativement la production d' IgG2ab, les LT CD8+ anti-IgG2ab recrutés au cours d'une stimulation par un anticorps anti-CD40 agoniste chez des souris Igha appauvries en LT CD4+ n'induisent pas une suppression totale chez tous les receveurs Igha/b comme on y parvient aisément avec les LT anti- IgG2ab CD8+ suscités en présence de LT CD4+ Ce remplacement incomplet, pour la stimulation des LT cytotoxiques CD8+, de l'effet auxiliaire des LT CD4+ par celui d'un anticorps agoniste anti-CD40 pourrait refléter la nécessité d'une stimulation parallèle des CD qui serait indépendante du constituant membranaire CD40 ou d'une communication directe entre LT CD4+ et LT CD8+. Il est toutefois évident que nos résultats montrent qu'un traitement agoniste anti-CD40 aboutit au recrutement de LT CD8+ cytotoxiques engagés dans des fonctions de régulation immunitaire.

Nous avons aussi précédemment montré que la lyse des LB IgG2ab+ cibles, par les LT anti-IgG2ab, mettait en jeu alternativement ou simultanément la perforine et un composé de la surface cellulaire appelé Fas. Nous savons, grâce à l'emploi de souris Igha invalidées pour le gène de la perforine, qu'on peut provoquer cette lyse par la seule voie de cytotoxicité du composé Fas. Or, il est connu, que les LB matures n'expriment pas de molécule Fas à leur surface. Sa présence est pourtant nécessaire à une cytolyse s'opérant par son truchement. Sa régulation à la surface des LB matures est sous la dépendance de la stimulation du CD40 par son ligand CD40-L. Notre modèle expérimental fournit aussi par conséquent la possibilité de tester l'intervention de l'expression de CD40 sur les LB IgG2ab+ quand les LT CD8+ effecteurs, de souris Igha, agissent exclusivement par la voie de mort cellulaire impliquant Fas. Nous avons établi (en utilisant des souris invalidées pour la perforine : Pfp-/-, qui n'empruntent donc que la voie Fas pour lyser leurs cibles et des souris Ighb invalidées pour le constituant CD40 : CD40-/-) que les LT de souris Igha Pfp-/- n'établissaient qu'une suppression partielle de l'expression de l' IgG2ab chez les LB de souris Ighb CD40-/- tandis qu'ils réalisaient une suppression totale chez les LB de souris Ighb CD40+/+. On peut imaginer qu'il existe deux sortes de LB produisant l'IgG2ab : i) une population très représentée qui régule le constituant Fas par un procédé indépendant de CD40 et qui est donc très susceptible à la suppression induite par l'intermédiaire de Fas ; ii) une population plus modestement représentée qui a besoin que l'expression du constituant Fas soit amplifiée à la surface cellulaire par l'intermédiaire de l'interaction CD40, CD40-L pour être sujette à la suppression. Ceci a fourni la première démonstration de l'intervention de la molécule CD40 dans une régulation négative au sein du système immunitaire.

Dans un autre ordre d'idée, nous avons aussi observé que le transfert de LB Ighb matures périphériques de souris CD40+/+ et plus encore de souris CD40-/- chez des souris invalidées pour le gène RAG2 (souris RAG2-/-), gène qui commande la recombinaison des éléments géniques des anticorps et des récepteurs pour l'antigène des LT et dont l'absence se traduit par la disparition des compartiments B et T, conduisait, chez ces LB, à une commutation isotypique amplifiée vers le gène IgG2ab. Pour les LB Ighb CD40-/- l'ordre de grandeur de la fréquence et du nombre absolu des cellules produisant l'IgG2ab est augmenté d'environ 500 fois lorsqu'ils sont transférés dans un environnement RAG2-/-.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Madame THEPAUT Sylvana, I.P.

CHABY Richard DR2 CNRS (à temps très partiel)

GIRARD Robert M.C. University Paris VII

MAJLESSI Laleh C.R. I.P.

TRUFFA-BACHI Paolo DR2 CNRS

MASCARELL Laurent prépare une thèse

DARDENNE Pascal I.P.

DENOYELLE Chantal IE2 CNRS

HUESCA-FALCO Michèle CNRS

PEDRON Thierry I. I.P.

SELLIER Christèle CNRS


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.