Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Igc


  Director : THEZE Jacques (jtheze@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

IL-2 is a major cytokine of the immune system. The work we are conducting in this field is focused on three main research areas: 1) the characterization of IL-2 signaling routes through a study of human IL-2 mimetic peptide, 2) the role played by IL-2 in controlling the amplitude of T cell responses and the maintenance of homeostasis, 3) the effect of IL-2/RIL-2 system deregulation on the immunodepression induced during HIV infection.



  report

cale

IL-2 mechanism of action: control of the equilibrium between activation/differentiation and maintenance of homeostasis (P. Chastagner, J. Reddy)

We have sought to identify new genes whose expression is under the control of IL-2. A subtractive CDNA approach was employed for a cell line able to grow in IL-2 or IL-4. From this we were able to select 66 different transcripts. The expression kinetics of 8 of these transcripts suggested that they are induced during activation/differentiation phenomena triggered by IL-2 in T lymphocytes. The first group of these genes code for factors involved in transcription control e.g. CCCTC-binding factor, Jun inhibitor factor-1 and transcription factors E2F-4 and AMP-responsive element-binding protein, zhx-1. IL-2 also increases the expression of a-tubulin, a cytoskeletal protein, and multifunctional proteins such as b-catenin and nucleolin. In addition, we demonstrated that TNF-b is one of the first genes to be induced by IL-2 through a mechanism identified previously in the induction of the IL-2Ra chain (activation of the Jak/STAT pathway and presence of a binding site for STAT5 upstream of the TNF-b gene). The study of the expression of these genes was continued in vivo using mice where the IL-2 gene is either disrupted or not (IL-2-/-, IL-2-/+). IL-2-/- mice are characterized in terms of secondary lymph organs by increased proliferation of T lymphocytes but a thymus that is normal both in structure and function. Our studies in IL-2 deficient mice showed that some of the genes coding for secondary lymph organs were not expressed. As far as these organs are concerned, other genes of the TNF group (TNF-a, LT-b, TNFR1 and TNFR2) have been shown — in the same manner as TNF-b - to be under the control of IL-2. The critical role played by IL-2 in the expression of these genes suggests that they may be involved in controlling the activation and maintenance of homeostasis in peripheral T cells. Recently, we showed that the proliferation and lesser susceptibility to opoptois of T cells taken from IL-2-/- mice is associated with enhanced expression of cFLIP, a protein that inhibits the activation of TNF-R- or FAS-dependent apoptosis.


Characterization of a new human RIL-2b agonist (R. Eckenberg,, J-L. Moreau, F. Gesbert.)

In the framework of our structure-function studies of human IL-2, we characterized a new agonist of the RIL-2 b chain known as peptide p1-30. This peptide consists of the first 30 amino acids of IL-2. In order to elucidate its mechanism of action, we undertook to study the physicochemical and biological properties of this new molecule. A determination of its secondary and quaternary structure in solution showed that it folded into an a helix and associated to form a tetramer. Studies conducted using cell lines expressing one or several chains of human IL-2R, or with specific antibodies directed against these chains showed that only the b chain is essential for peptide's activity. Synergy was observed when this peptide was used in combination with IL-2, IL-4, IL-9 and IL-15, i.e. all cytokines which include the gc chain in the composition of their receptor. In view of the elective association of this peptide with the b chain, we undertook to characterize the signaling cascade triggered by p1-30. The transduction signals induced by p1-30 were studied. In a similar manner to IL-2, p1-30 induces phosphorylation of the SHC adaptor protein and activation of protein kinase p56lck. In the IL-2/RIL-2 system, these two proteins are specifically recruited by RIL-2b.
Unlike IL-2, p1-30 induces phosphorylation of the kinase Tyk2 but does not lead to activation of the Jak1 or Jak3 proteins, nor STAT5s. At a transcriptional level, p1-30 induces Bcl-2 expression and synergetic induction with IL-2 of the proto-oncogenes c-myc, c-jun and c-fos. This could explain the synergetic effect of these two molecules on cell proliferation.
Work has also been performed to identify potential cell targets for p1-30 in PBMCs. Here, p1-30 induces LAK activity and production of IFN-g. CD69, an early marker of cell activation, is detected exclusively in NK and CD8low sub-populations, both being involved in cytotoxic phenomena and presenting constitutive expression of the IL-2R b chain.
Our studies of p1-30 also aim to determine its potential use in therapy and to identify derivatives with a higher therapeutic index.


Involvement of IL-2 and its receptor in the immunopathology associated with HIV infection (D. David, H. Keller, L. Bani, S. Beq, V. Pasquier, M. Kryworuchko, J-H. Colle.)

We analyzed the expression of the three IL-2R chains on the surface of lymphocytes in blood taken from normal individuals and from patients suffering from chronic infection with HIV. Two profiles were observed in the normal individuals, representing the separation of cells into those involved in non-specific versus innate responses. NK cells and monocytes show abundant expression of the b and g chains respectively. When lymphocytes were examined (T CD4, T CD8 and L B) none of the three chains was detected on the surface. The g chain is nevertheless expressed by T, CD4, CD8, NK and L B cells but remains in the intracellular compartment. HIV+ patients show strong expression of the three RIL-2 chains on the surface of CD8 and L B. In these patients, the L B react well to this cytokine but the CD8 cells are insensitive and the NK cells show reduced reactivity.
These biological parameters were studied in patients receiving HAART and in whom the viral load had fallen below the limit of detection. Under these conditions we noted that as the CD4 count increased, the CD8 cells acquired reactivity to IL-2 and the reactivity of the NK cells was restored. It has been known for some time that the CD4 cells of HIV+ patients have a diminished capacity to produce IL-2 and this is considered to play an important role in the immune deficiency of these patients. The abnormalities we have demonstrated in the expression and function of the IL-2R chains would also appear to contribute to this defect. More recently, IL-2R expression and function were analyzed in patients enrolled for discontinuous IL-2 treatment because their CD4 count remained below the critical threshold despite the fact that they were receiving HAART and their viral load was effectively reduced. Once the treatment was started, we noted a rapid rise in the CD4 count associated with the following changes in the CD4 cells: a decrease in susceptibility to cell death by apoptosis, an increase in Bcl-2 expression and the acquisition of reactivity to IL-2.
In most patients receiving HAART, a decrease in viral load is generally accompanied by restored CD4 count and reactivity to IL-2. Studies conducted in the last group of patients showed a new facet of immune deficiency not dependent on a persistent active viral process. These studies will be continued to further elucidate the IL-2 mechanism of action in vivo and will be broadened to the therapeutic evaluation of IL-2.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

BREGEAT Annick abregeat@pasteur.fr

COLLE Jean-Hervé jhcolle@pasteur.fr

GESBERT Franck fgesbert@pasteur.fr

BEQ Stéphanie ( Doc-1) sbeq@pasteur.fr

KRYWORUCHKO Marko. (post Doc) mkrywor@pasteur.fr

PASQUIER Virginie (Doc-2) vmazard@pasteur.fr

Ingénieur : MOREAU Jean-Louis. jlmoreau@pasteur.fr

Technicienne : CHASTAGNER Patricia. pchasta@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Igc


  Responsable : THEZE Jacques (jtheze@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'IL-2 est une cytokine majeure du système immunitaire. Elle interagit avec un récepteur (RIL-2) composé de trois sous-unités (a, b et g). Nous développons trois grands axes de recherche :1) la caractérisation des voies de signalisation de l'IL-2 grâce à l'étude d'un mimétique de l'IL-2 humaine ; 2) rôle de l'IL-2 dans le contrôle l'amplitude des réponses T et le maintien de l'homéostasie ; 3) étude de l'impact de la dérégulation du système IL-2/RIL-2 sur l'immunodépression induite au cours de l'infection par le VIH.



  rapport

cale

Mode d'action de l'IL-2 : contrôle de l'équilibre activation/ et maintien de l'homéostasie (P. Chastagner, J. Reddy)

Nous avons cherché à d'identifier de nouveaux gènes dont l'expression est sous contrôle de l'IL-2. Une soustraction de banque de cDNA a été réalisée à partir d'une lignée cellulaire capable de proliférer avec del'IL-2 ou de l'IL-4. Ceci, nous a conduit à la sélection de 66 transcrits différents. La cinétique d'expression de 8 de ces transcrits a suggéré que ces transcrits seraient induits au cours du phénomène d'activation /différenciation déclenché par l'IL-2 au niveau des lymphocytes T (L T). Un premier groupe de ces gènes codent pour des facteurs impliqués dans le contrôle de la transcription, CCCTC-binding factor, Jun inhibitor factor-1,et les facteurs de transcriptions E2F-4 et AMP-responsive element-binding protein, zhx-1. L'IL-2 augmente aussi l'expression de l'a-tubuline, une protéine du cytosquelette et de protéines plurifonctionnelles i.e. b-catenine et nucleolin. Par ailleurs, nous avons montré que le TNF-b fait partie des gènes précocement induits par l'IL-2, grâce à un mécanisme précédemment identifié pour l'induction de la chaîne de l'IL-2Ra, (activation de la voie Jak/STAT et la présence d'un site de fixation pour STAT5 en amont du gène du TNF-b). L'étude de l'expression de ces gènes a été poursuivie in vivo dans des lignées de souris où le gène de l'IL-2 est invalidé ou non, (IL-2-/-, IL-2-/+). Les souris IL-2-/- se caractérisent dans les organes lymphoïdes secondaires par une prolifération aberrante des LT qui contraste avec un thymus normal (structure et fonction). Dans les souris IL-2 déficientes, nous avons observé un défaut d'expression de certains de ces gènes, spécifiquement au niveau des organes lymphoïdes secondaires. Dans ces organes, d'autres gènes de la famille du TNF (TNF-a, LT-b, TNFR1 et TNFR2) ont été montré comme le TNF-b sous le contrôle de l'IL-2. Le rôle critique joué par l'IL-2 sur l'expression de ces gènes suggère leur implication possible dans le contrôle de l'activation et le maintien de l'homéostasie des LT en périphérie. Récemment, nous avons montré que la prolifération et la résistance excessive des LT des souris IL-2-/- est associée à une plus forte expression de cFLIP, une protéine inhibitrice de activation de l'apoptose dépendante du TNF-R ou de FAS.


Caractérisation d'un nouvel agoniste du RIL-2b humain (R. Eckenberg,, J-L. Moreau, F. Gesbert.)

Dans le cadre d'une étude structure-fonction de l'IL-2 humaine, nous avons caractérisé un nouvel agoniste de la chaîne b du RIL-2, le peptide p1-30. Ce peptide est composé par les 30 premiers aminoacides de l'IL-2. Afin d'élucider les mécanismes d'action de cette nouvelle molécule, nous avons étudié ses propriétés physico-chimiques et biologiques. L'étude de sa structure secondaire et quaternaire en solution ont montré un repliement en hélice a et une association sous forme d'un tétramère. Des études conduites avec des lignées cellulaires exprimant une ou plusieurs chaînes de l'IL-2R humain ou encore à l'aide anticorps spécifiques de ces chaînes ont montré que seule la chaîne b est indispensable à son action. Une synergie est observée quand ce peptide est utilisé en association avec l'IL-2 l'IL-4, l'IL-9 et l'IL-15, des cytokines pour lesquelles la chaîne gc rentre dans la composition de leur récepteur. Compte tenu de l'association élective de ce peptide avec la chaîne b nous avons entrepris une caractérisation de la cascade de signalisation mise en jeu par p1-30. Les signaux de transduction induits par p1-30 ont été étudiés. De façon similaire à l'IL-2, p1-30 provoque la phosphorylation de la protéine adaptatrice SHC et l'activation de la protéine kinase p56lck. Dans le système IL-2/RIL-2, ces deux protéines sont spécifiquement recrutées par le RIL-2b.
Contrairement à l'IL-2, p1-30 provoque la phosphorylation de la kinase Tyk2 et ne conduit ni à l'activation des protéines Jak1 et Jak3 ni de STAT5s. A un niveau transcriptionnel, p1-30 induit l'expression Bcl-2 et une induction synergique avec l'IL-2 des proto-oncogènes c-myc, c-jun et c-fos et pourrait expliquer la synergie de ces deux molécules sur la prolifération cellulaire.

L'identification des cibles cellulaires potentielles de p1-30 dans les PBMCs a été entreprise. Sur les PBMCs. P1-30 induit une activité de type LAK et la production d'IFN-g. CD69 qui est un marqueur précoce de l'activation cellulaire est exclusivement détectée sur les sous-populations NK et CD8low, des sous-populations intervenant dans les phénomènes de cytotoxicités et présentant une expression constitutive de la chaîne b de l'IL-2R.
Nos études, sur p1-30, ont aussi comme perspectives de déterminer quel est son potentiel thérapeutique ou encore l'identification de dérivés possédant un meilleur indexe thérapeutique.


Implication de l'IL-2 et de son récepteur dans l'immunopathologie associé à l'infection VIH (D. David, H. Keller, L. Bani, S. Beq, V. Pasquier, M. Kryworuchko, J-H. Colle.)

Nous avons réalisé l'analyse de l'expression des trois chaînes de l'IL-2R à la surface des cellules lymphomonocytaires provenant de sang d'individus normaux et de patients en cours d'infection chronique avec le HIV. Chez les individus normaux, on observe deux profils qui recoupent la séparation schématique en cellules de la réponse non spécifique versus spécifique. Les cellules NK et les monocytes expriment de façon abondante soit la chaîne b soit g respectivement. Avec les lymphocytes (T CD4, T CD8 et L B) aucune des trois chaînes n'est détectée en surface. La chaîne g est néanmoins exprimée par les T CD4, CD8, NK et les L B et reste localisée dans un compartiment intracellulaire. Chez les patients, HIV+, une forte expression de surface des trois chaînes du RIL-2 est observée avec les CD8 et les L B. Chez les patients, la réactivité à l'IL-2 des LB contraste avec l'insensibilité des CD8 ou à une diminution de la réactivité des NK à cette cytokine.
L'étude de ces paramètres biologiques a été conduite avec des patients bénéficiant d'une tri thérapie et pour lesquels la virémie est passée en dessous du seuil de détection. Dans ces conditions, nous avons observé conjointement à l'augmentation du nombre des CD4, une acquisition d'une réactivité à l'IL-2 pour les CD8 et la restauration de celles des NK. La faible capacité de production d'IL-2 par les CD4 des patients HIV+ est connue depuis longtemps et considérée jouer un rôle important dans le mécanisme du déficit immunitaire de ces patients, les anomalies que nous avons mises en évidence au niveau de l'expression du fonctionnement des chaînes de l'IL-2R, semblent aussi contribuer à ce défaut. Plus récemment, l'analyse de l'expression de l'IL-2R et sa fonctionnalité a été réalisée chez des patients enrôlés dans un traitement discontinu d'IL-2, car malgré le fait qu'ils bénéficiaient d'une trithérapie et d'un contrôle efficace de la virémie leur nombre de CD4 restait en dessous d'un seuil critique. Après l'instauration de ce traitement, conjointement à une remonté rapide des CD4, nous avons observé les changements suivant pour les CD4 : une diminution de la susceptibilité à la mort par apotose, un accroissement de l'expression de Bcl-2 et l'acquisition d'une réactivité à l'IL-2.
Pour la plus part des patients bénéficiant d'une trithérapie, le contrôle de la charge virale est le plus souvent associé à certaine restauration du nombre des CD4 mais aussi de la réactivité à l'IL-2. Les études réalisées avec le dernier groupe de patients révèlent un nouvel aspect du déficit immunitaire, qui n'est pas dépendant de la persistance d'un processus viral actif. Ces études seront poursuivies au niveau du mode d'action de l'IL-2 in vivo et étendues à l'évaluation thérapeutique de l'IL-2.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

BREGEAT Annick abregeat@pasteur.fr

COLLE Jean-Hervé jhcolle@pasteur.fr

GESBERT Franck fgesbert@pasteur.fr

BEQ Stéphanie ( Doc-1) sbeq@pasteur.fr

KRYWORUCHKO Marko. (post Doc) mkrywor@pasteur.fr

PASQUIER Virginie (Doc-2) vmazard@pasteur.fr

Ingénieur : MOREAU Jean-Louis. jlmoreau@pasteur.fr

Technicienne : CHASTAGNER Patricia. pchasta@pasteur.fr


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.