Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Ida


  Director : GUESDON Jean-Luc (guesdon@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The activity of the Laboratory of Antibody Engineering is centered on studies of the function and structure of mouse and human monoclonal antibodies against microorganisms, bacterial or eukaryote toxins. The main objectives are the preparation and analysis of recombinant antibodies, in vitro antigenic stimulation, investigation of cellular receptor of autoantibodies, study of autoantibodies with catalytic activity and identification of peptides with various biological properties (e. g. enzyme inhibition) using phage display technology.
Moreover, the Laboratory establishes collaborations with Research Units of the Pasteur Institute or with other Research Institutions by preparing and characterizing mouse monoclonal antibodies of particular specificity.



  report

cale

Calreticulin, a potential cell surface receptor involved in cell penetration of anti-DNA antibodies (Nabila Seddiki-Si Ahmed)

A 50-kda protein was purified as a potential receptor, using an affinity matrix containing biotinylated F14-6 or H9-3 anti-DNA mAbs derived from autoimmune (New Zealand Black x New Zealand White)F1 mouse and membrane extracts from cells. This protein was identified as calreticulin (CRT) by microsequencing. Confocal microscopy and FACS analysis showed that CRT was present on the surface of various cells. CRT protein was recognized by a panel of anti-DNA mAbs in ELISA. The binding of F14-6 to lymphocytes and Chinese hamster ovary cells was inhibited by soluble CRT. Thus, the anti-DNA mAbs used in this study bound to CRT, suggesting that CRT may mediate their penetration into the cells and play an important role in lupus pathogenesis.


Study of catalytic antibodies associated with systemic lupus erythematosus
(Barbara Mouratou, Jean-Luc Guesdon)


The objective of this work is to define the physiological role of anti-DNA catalytic antibodies found in the serums of patients suffering from the autoimmune disease, systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE). These antibodies are able to catalyze the hydrolysis of the phosphodiester bond of nucleic acids. The strain of mice F1 NZB/NZW known to develop SLE spontaniously, has been chosen as the model for our study. A rapid screening microtiter assay (catELISA) allowing to detect efficiently the presence of catalytic antibodies in a large number of samples, is currently being developed.


Obtention of human antibodies by in vitro antigenic stimulation and combinatorial library (Farida Nato)

To produce human antibodies directed against non-vaccinating antigens, it is essential to immunise the lymphocytesin vitro before their immortalisation or to make an immunised antibody library. The lymphocytes are isolated from human tonsils, a major source of B lymphocytes (50 to 60% of the total cells) present at all the stages of differentiation. It is possible to generate a primary in vitro response by use of lymphocytes CD4+ sensitised in vivo by the tetanus toxoid because of obligatory vaccination against tetanus. The immunogen used is the T epitope of tetanus toxoïd coupled to the B epitope of the antigen of interest. This approach makes it possible to obtain the switch in vitro because the polyclonal response is an IgG response (IgG2 or IgG3). It is possible to reproduce the cellular cooperation between the various immunocompetent cells present in the germinal centre. However the response remains weak and few specific B lymphocytes are present, which could explain the absence of hybridomas by immortalisation by fusion or by transformation with the Epstein Barr virus. Thus, we will use genetic engineering to produce antibody fragments. The aim is to produce specific immune libraries for antigens of interest.


Production of antibody fragments in plants (Farida Nato et Pierre Lafaye)

This work is a collaboration between Dr. Parastoo Ehsani (Pasteur Institute of Iran), Dr Aimé Nato (Laboratoire de Morphogénèse Végétale Expérimentale - University Paris XI) and our laboratory. Antibody fragment production in plant cells may provide low cost reagents for immunodiagnosis and immunotherapy.The two murine scFv genes against human IL4 and IL6 cytokines were cloned in pGEJAE1 and mobilized to Agrobacterium tumefaciens. 251 Tobacco leaf discs were cocultivated with Agrobacteria and regeneration of plants were done on selective media.The results showed that tobacco plants can produce scFvs against human IL4 and IL6. Roots secrete twice scFvs in comparison to leaves. The biochemical and immunochemical characteristics of purified tobacco produced scFvs, are the same as bacterial produced scFvs.


Peptides which bind to the LRR of Listeria monocytogenes InlB mime anti-LRR monoclonal antibodies (Iain Old et Pierre Lafaye)

This work is a collaboration with Pr Pascale Cossart (Unité des interactions bactéries cellules ). In an attempt to isolate mimotopes of monoclonal antibodies directed against the LRR (Leucine Rich Repeat) region of the InlB protein of Listeria monocytogenes, libraries of random peptides displayed on the minor coat protein (pIII) of bacteriophage M13 were screened using purified InlB. From a total of 281 clones screened by ELISA, 16 phage which bound specifically to InlB were isolated and were distributed in 5 different groups. These different phages have an exceptionally high affinity for InlB with an IC50 of between 560 pM and 1.00 nM and bound specifically to purified fragments of InlB containing the LRR region. The phage and the derived synthetic peptides competed for binding to InlB with those monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) raised against the LRR of InlB which blocked the invasion of Vero cells but did not compete for binding with anti-LRR mABs which do not block invasion. Molecular modelling of the anti-LRR mAb A13.1 suggests that a tyrosine residue present in CDR-H2 is important for the interaction with the LRR of InlB. The tyrosine residue found in each displayed InlB-specific peptide sequence may mime the tyrosine present in the antibody paratope. Accordingly, the cellular receptor of InlB, unidentified, probably presents one or several tyrosine involved in the interaction with InlB.


Design of genetically engineered immunological tools (Serge Pauillac)

The hybridoma technology described by Kholer and Milstein (1975) allows the unlimited production of specific monoclonal antibodies that are used clinically and in numerous basic or applied fields of research. The specificity and affinity of such tools can be modulated by genetic engineering by successive rounds of mutation and selection. Alternatively, these tools can be directly investigated by phage display technology by screening large libraries of antibody fragments (single chain Fv or scFv) displayed on the surface of filamentous phages.
These two strategies will be developed to produce hybrid proteins (scFv-PhoAv) comprising a potent bacterial alkaline phosphatase variant (PhoAv) linked to various scFv fragments directed to the E2 envelope protein of hepatitis C virus (in collaboration with Agata Budkowska, Laboratoire d'Epidémiologie Moleculaire des Entérovirus) or to marine toxins (e.g. saxitoxin, responsible for paralytic shellfish poisoning).


Development of rapid tests for the diagnosis of plague and cholera (Farida Nato)

This project was financed internally as part of the "Projet Transversal de Recherche" (PTR) in collaboration with Suzanne Chanteau (Peste/Tuberculose Unit at the Institute Pasteur, Madagascar), J. M. Fournier (Cholera and vibrio unit), and E Carniel (Molecular and Medical Bacteriology unit). The objective is to develop an immunochromatographic test for the rapid diagnosis of the plague and cholera which are both serious bacterial diseases that must be declared and are subject to International Health Regulations. They are caused by Y. pestis and V cholerae (serogroups O1 and O139) respectively. The F1 antigen, a capsular glycoprotein specific toY. Pestis, is excreted in large amounts and is a good candidate for the diagnosis of the plague because it is found in large quantities in bubo aspirates, at lower concentrations in the blood and urine of patients. In the case of cholera, the lipopolysaccharide is a a good candidate for diagnosis. Diagnostic methods such as PCR, dot-blot and ELISA have been described, but they are expensive and not practicable in many developing countries. Thus, we propose to develop rapid tests that can be easily carried out by health staff. The strip is soaked in a tube containing the test sample and the results appear after 10 minutes. The interpretation of the results is easy due to the use of gold coloured particles. The strips can be sent by post and scored for a few months at room temperature. The test is currently being validted in Madagascar.


Production of murine monoclonal antibodies (Farida Nato)

In collaboration with researchers at the Institut Pasteur, the laboratory use the technique developed by Köhler and Milstein (1975) to produce murine monoclonal antibodies. In addition to the value of monoclonal antibodies can for diagnosis, they are also widely used to analyse the structure-function relationship of various models studied in fundamental research. The biochemical characteristics (isotype, measurement of the afffinities, epitope) of the produced antibodies are determined in the laboratory by immunochemical methods.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

ESNARD Muriel – I.P. (mesnard@pasteur.fr)

DEMANGEL Caroline, I.P., actuellement en stage post-doctoral.

GUESDON Jean-Luc, I.P. (guesdon@pasteur.fr).

LAFAYE Pierre, I.P. (plafaye@pasteur.fr)

MAZIE Jean-Claude, I.P. (jcmazie@pasteur.fr)

MOURATOU-PECORARI Barbara, I.P. (Boursière, Fondation Roux), (mouratou@pasteur.fr).

OLD Iain, I.P. (igold@pasteur.fr).

ELOUARD Béatrice, Technicienne, Centre d'Etudes du Bouchet (DGA).

FEKI Salma, Etudiante en thèse, Faculté des Sciences de Tunis.

MAHMOUDI Nassira, Etudiante en 3e cycle, Paris.

PAUILLAC Serge, Chargé de Recherche, Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés.

RALAFIARISOA Angeltine, Technicienne, I.P. de Madagascar.

TOUNSI Yacine, Ingénieur, I.P. d’Alger.

NATO Farida, I.P., Ingénieur.

SEDDIKI-SI AHMED Nabila, I.P., Ingénieur.

CADET Véronique, I.P., Technicienne.

DARTEVELLE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne.

JEANNEQUIN Odile, I.P., Technicienne.

ROUYRE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne.


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Ida


  Responsable : GUESDON Jean-Luc (guesdon@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'activité du Laboratoire d'Ingénierie des Anticorps est orientée essentiellement sur l'analyse fonctionnelle et structurale des anticorps murins ou humains. Le Laboratoire s'intéresse plus particulièrement aux anticorps impliqués dans les maladies auto-immunes et aux anticorps capables de neutraliser des micro-organismes ou des toxines bactériennes ou eucaryotes.
Pour réaliser cette analyse nous utilisons et adaptons à notre objectif les techniques modernes de biologie cellulaire et de biologie moléculaire.
Ce volet est complété par une étude des antigènes, ligands ou inhibiteurs peptidiques présentés à la surface de phages (méthode du "phage display").
De plus, le Laboratoire établit des collaborations avec des Unités de l'Institut Pasteur ou d'autres organismes de Recherche dans le but d'appliquer la technologie des hybridomes à des projets de recherche fondamentale ou appliquée. Dans ce cadre, le Laboratoire a préparé et caractérisé des anticorps monoclonaux murins à spécificité fine.



  rapport

cale

La Calréticuline est un récepteur potentiel, impliqué dans la pénétration cellulaire des anticorps anti-ADN (Nabila Seddiki-Si Ahmed)

Une protéine de 50kDa a été purifiée comme un récepteur potentiel à partir des extraits membranaires de cellules, en utilisant des anticorps anti-ADN, F14-6 ou H9-3 biotinylés fixés sur une colonne d'immunoaffinité. Ces anticorps proviennent d'une fusion de souris lupique F1 (New Zealand Black x New Zealand White). Cette protéine a été identifiée comme étant la calréticuline par micro-séquençage. La microscopie confocale et les analyses en cytomètrie en flux montrent que la calréticuline est présente à la surface de nombreux types cellulaires. Elle est reconnue par différents anticorps anti-ADN en ELISA. La fixation de F14-6 sur les lymphocytes et les cellules CHO est inhibée par la calréticuline soluble. Ainsi, les anticorps anti-ADN utilisés dans cette étude se fixent sur la calréticuline, suggérant que celle-ci pourrait jouer un rôle dans leur pénétration intra-cellulaire et dans la pathogénèse du lupus.


Étude des anticorps catalytiques associés au lupus érythémateux systémique (Barbara Mouratou, Jean-Luc Guesdon)

L'objectif de ce travail est de définir le rôle physiologique des anticorps anti-ADN catalytiques présents dans les sérums des patients atteints de lupus érythémateux systémique (LES), maladie auto-immune, et capables de catalyser l'hydrolyse de la liaison phosphodiester des acides nucléiques.
La lignée de souris F1 NZB/NZW, connue pour présenter spontanément un LES, a été choisi comme modèle d'étude. Une méthode rapide de screening (catELISA) permettant de détecter avec efficacité la présence d'anticorps catalytiques dans un grand nombre d'échantillons, est actuellement au cours de développement.


Obtention d'anticorps humains par stimulation antigénique in vitro et librairie combinatoire (Farida Nato)

Pour produire des anticorps humains contre les antigènes non vaccinants, il est indispensable d'immuniser in vitro les lymphocytes avant leur immortalisation ou pour faire une librairie immunisée d'anticorps.
Les lymphocytes proviennent des amygdales, source intéressante de lymphocytes B car ils représentent 50 à 60% des cellules totales, ils sont présents à tous les stades de différenciation. Il est possible de générer une réponse primaire in vitro en utilisant les lymphocytes CD4+ sensibilisés in vivo par l'anatoxine tétanique du fait de la vaccination obligatoire contre le tetanos. L'immunogène utilisé est l'épitope T de l'anatoxine tétanique (ATT) couplé à l'épitope B de l'antigène d'intérêt. Cette approche permet d'obtenir la commutation isotypique in vitro car la réponse polyclonale est de type IgG (IgG2 ou IgG3). Il est possible de reproduire dans les grandes lignes la coopération cellulaire entre les différentes cellules immunocompétentes présentes dans le centre germinatif. La réponse ainsi obtenue reste cependant faible et peu de lymphocytes B spécifiques sont présents, ce qui peut expliquer l'absence d'hybridomes par immortalisation par fusion ou par transformation par le virus de Epstein Barr. Pour ces raisons, nous produisons les fragments d'anticorps par Génie Génétique et souhaitons construire des librairies immunes spécifiques pour l'antigène d'intérêt.

<
B>Production de fragments d'anticorps dans les plantes (Farida Nato et Pierre Lafaye)

Ce travail est une collaboration avec le Dr Parastoo Ehsani (Institut Pasteur d'Iran) et le Dr Aimé Nato (Laboratoire de morphogénèse végétale expérimentale - Université Paris XI). La production de fragment d'anticorps dans les cellules de plantes peut fournir des réactifs bon marché pour l'immunodiagnostic et l'immunothérapie. Deux gènes murins codant pour des scFv dirigés contre l'IL4 et l'IL6 ont été clonés dans pGEJAE1 et introduit dans Agrobacterium tumefaciens. 251 disques folliaires de tabac ont été cocultivés avec Agrobacteria et la régénération des plantes a été réalisée sur milieu sélectif. Les résultats montrent que les plants de tabac transformés peuvent produire des scFv dirigés contre l'IL4 et l'IL6. Les racines sécrètent deux fois plus de scFv que les feuilles. Les caractéristiques biochimiques et immunochimiques des scFv purifiés à partir du tabac sont identiques à celles des scFv produits en bactérie.


Les peptides qui se fixent sur la région riche en Leucine de Listeria monocytogenes miment les anticorps monoclonaux anti-LRR (Iain Old et Pierre Lafaye)

Ce travail est mené en collaboration avec le Pr Pascale Cossart (Unité des interactions bactéries cellules). Des librairies de peptides exprimés à la surface du phage M13 ont été criblées vis à vis de l'internaline B (InlB) pour isoler des mimes peptidiques d'anticorps monoclonaux dirigés contre la région riche en Leucine (LRR) de Listeria monocytogenes. Sur 281 phage-peptides testés en ELISA,16 se fixent spécifiquement sur InlB et se répartissent en 5 groupes différents. Ces phages-peptides ont une affinité exceptionnellement élevée pour InlB avec un IC50 compris entre 560 pM et 1 nM. De plus, ils se fixent spécifiquement sur des fragments purifiés de InlB contenant la région LRR. Les phages et les peptides synthétiques dérivés entrent en compétition pour la fixation sur InlB avec des anticorps monoclonaux spécifiques de InlB qui bloquent l'invasion de cellules Vero mais pas avec des anticorps anti-LRR qui ne bloquent pas l'invasion. La modélisation moléculaire de l'anticorps anti-LRR A13-1 suggèrent qu'une tyrosine présente dans la région H2 de la chaîne lourde joue un rôle important dans l'interaction avec le LRR de InlB. La tyrosine présente dans toutes les séquences peptidiques pourrait mimer la tyrosine présente dans le paratope de l'anticorps. Par conséquent, le récepteur de l'InlB, non identifié, doit aussi posséder une ou plusieurs tyrosines impliquées dans l'interaction avec InlB.


Mise au point de réactifs immunologiques issus du génie génétique (Serge Pauillac)

La technique de préparation d'hybridomes murins par immunisation de souris suivie de la fusion des cellules immunocompétentes avec des cellules myélomateuses histocompatibles (Kholer et Milstein, 1975) permet la production illimitée de réactifs standardisés utilisables en clinique et en recherche fondamentale ou appliquée. La spécificité et l'affinité de ces réactifs peuvent être modulées par les techniques de biologie moléculaire impliquant plusieurs cycles de mutation et de sélection. Alternativement de tels réactifs peuvent être recherchés par la technique du "phage display" grâce au criblage de grandes banques de fragments d'anticorps (single chain Fv ou scFv) exprimés à la surface des phages filamenteux.
Ces deux voies seront explorées pour la production de protéines hybrides (scFv-PhoAv) composées d'un variant bactérien de phosphatase alcaline (PhoAv) couplé à divers fragments scFv spécifiques de la protéine E2 d'enveloppe du virus de l'hépatite C (collaboration avec Agata Budkowska, Laboratoire d'Epidémiologie Moléculaire des Entérovirus) ou de toxines marines (exemple : la saxitoxine, responsable de l'intoxication paralytique par les fruits de mer).


Développement de tests rapides pour le diagnostic de la peste et du choléra (Farida Nato)

Ce projet a obtenu un financement interne sous forme de Projet Transversal de Recherche (PTR) en collaboration avec Suzanne Chanteau (Unité Peste/Tuberculose de l'Institut Pasteur de Madagascar), J. M. Fournier (Unité du choléra et des vibrions) et E. Carniel (Unité de Bactériologie Moléculaire et Médicale).
L'objectif est de disposer d'un test immunochromatographique simple et rapide pour le diagnostic de la peste et du choléra qui sont 2 maladies bactériennes graves, à déclaration obligatoire et soumises au règlement sanitaire international. Elles sont dues respectivement à Y. pestis et V. cholerae. L'antigène F1, une glycoprotéique capsulaire spécifique de Y. pestis, excrété en abondance est parfaitement indiqué pour le diagnostic de la peste car il est présent en grande quantité dans le bubon, dans le sang et les urines des patients à de plus faibles concentrations. Dans le cas du choléra, le lipopolysaccharide est un bon candidat pour le diagnostic. Toutes les méthodes disponibles (PCR, ELISA, Dot-blot) sont difficiles à mettre en œuvre dans les pays en voie de développement. C'est pourquoi nous proposons de développer des tests rapides et simples à réaliser par des agents de santé. La bandelette devra être trempée dans un tube contenant l'échantillon à tester et la lecture se fera après 10 minutes. L'interprétation des résultats est aisée grâce à l'utilisation de particules d'or colorées. Les bandelettes peuvent être expédiées sous enveloppe et conservées quelques mois à température ambiante. La validation du test est réalisée à Madagascar.


Production d'anticorps monoclonaux murins (Farida Nato)

Dans le cadre de collaborations avec les chercheurs de l'Institut Pasteur, le laboratoire assure la préparation d'hybridomes murins en utilisant la technique développée par Köhler et Milstein (1975). Outre l'intérêt que les anticorps monoclonaux peuvent présenter dans certains secteur de diagnostic, ils sont aussi largement utilisés pour analyser la relation structure-fonction de divers modèles étudiés en recherche fondamentale. Les caractéristiques biochimiques (isotypes, mesure des afffinités, recherche des épitopes) des anticorps produits par les hybridomes sont déterminés dans le laboratoire par des techniques immunochimiques.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

ESNARD Muriel – I.P. (mesnard@pasteur.fr)

DEMANGEL Caroline, I.P., actuellement en stage post-doctoral.

GUESDON Jean-Luc, I.P. (guesdon@pasteur.fr).

LAFAYE Pierre, I.P. (plafaye@pasteur.fr)

MAZIE Jean-Claude, I.P. (jcmazie@pasteur.fr)

MOURATOU-PECORARI Barbara, I.P. (Boursière, Fondation Roux), (mouratou@pasteur.fr).

OLD Iain, I.P. (igold@pasteur.fr).

ELOUARD Béatrice, Technicienne, Centre d'Etudes du Bouchet (DGA).

FEKI Salma, Etudiante en thèse, Faculté des Sciences de Tunis.

MAHMOUDI Nassira, Etudiante en 3e cycle, Paris.

PAUILLAC Serge, Chargé de Recherche, Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés.

RALAFIARISOA Angeltine, Technicienne, I.P. de Madagascar.

TOUNSI Yacine, Ingénieur, I.P. d’Alger.

NATO Farida, I.P., Ingénieur.

SEDDIKI-SI AHMED Nabila, I.P., Ingénieur.

CADET Véronique, I.P., Technicienne.

DARTEVELLE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne.

JEANNEQUIN Odile, I.P., Technicienne.

ROUYRE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne.


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.