Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Hispat


  Director : Michel Huerre (mhuerre@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit of Histopathology provides technical and scientific support to Research units. It has an expertise in infectious diseases, and works with the International Network of Pasteur Institutes We are interested in pathogenesis of bacterial infection of mucosal membranes (Helicobacter, Shigella, Listeria), viral and parasitic diseases. We studied also genetically modified murine strains to understand the expression and function of genes in vivo.



  report

cale

Infectious diseases

Bacterial infections.

Mucosal pathogens have been studied especially, Helicobacter in a mouse model, Shigella in a rabbit model and Listeria in a guinea pig model combined with the use of transgenic mouse model.
* Helicobacter induces a chronic gastritis in the mouse model studied with the team of R. Ferrero and A. Labigne (Unité de Pathogénie Microbienne des Muqueuses). Outbred mice with long term Helicobacter felis infection develop gastric lymphoid tissue and glandular hyperplastic lesions. B lymphocytes are numerous in the lamina propria of the antrum, suggesting a chronic recruitment of polyclonal lymphocytes without argument of maltoma like lesions. No atypical and preneoplastic lesions of epithelial components have been seen. A study is in progress with high mutation rate mice.
* A Listeria model has been studied with the team of P. Cossart (M. Lecuit et al, Unité des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules). The work of histopathology Unit was to demonstrate the crossing of the epithelial barrier with Listeria monocytogenes. Using transgenic mice expressing human E-caherin, it has been demonstrated that internalin, is a critical and specific ligand of cadherin, allowing the invasion of enterocytes and translocation within the macrophages of deeper tissues.
* The team of P. Sansonetti (C. Wenneras, A. Phalipon, Unité de pathogénie microbienne moléculaire) is working on a rabbit model of shigellosis. In collaboration, we have investigated the role of CD-14 endotoxin and LPS receptor. Various animal species, lacking functionnal CD-14 were protected against endotoxin mediated shock, suggesting a decreased local inflammation. In the shigella model, the blockade of CD-14 increased Shigella-mediated invasion and tissue destruction, suggesting that CD-14 interfers with the defense mechanism.


Viral infections.

We have investigated in several models of infectious diseases: dengue fever, Rift valley fever, West Nile virus, Human T cell leukaemia virus and lymphomas in HIV positive patients.
* In collaboration with the Pasteur Institute in Vietnam, five cases of dengue fever hepatitis in children have been studied. It has been demonstrated that the liver is a specific target for dengue virus showing midzonal necrosis, steatosis and Councilman bodies. Dengue virus antigens were detected using immunohistochemistry in hepatocytes. There is no recruitment of lymphocytes and polymorphonuclear cells, and the Councilman body is an apoptotic cell, as in the pathogenesis of yellow fever.
* Rift valley fever induces an acute hepatitis in human pathology and a mouse model is available, showing a reproducible acute hepatitis in three or four days.( Collaboration Michèle Bouloy, Unité des Arbovirus) The virus is detected in the Kuppfer cells and hepatocytes at the second day (confirmed by Immunohistochemistry and in situ hybridization) It has been demonstrated that interferon was essential to control virus replication.
* We are working with V. Deubel (Unité des Arbovirus et Fièvres Hémorragiques) on a murine model of West-Nile virus infection. We are interested in the physiopathology of this infection. West-Nile virus is Flavivirus (Arbovirus), transmitted by mosquitoes to numerous species of Vertebrates. Epidemics have broke out in last years in man, horse and birds. Recent letal cases in New York of West-Nile encephalitis have stimulated interest for this virus. We have studied the lesions induced by two different strains of West-Nile virus (Israel or Senegal). Different routes of inoculation wer compared (i.n., i.p., i.d.). We observed clear differents in the incidence and severity of central nervous system lesions and amount of antigen in infected cells according to the strain and the route of inoculation.


Parasitic infections.

We have investigated two diseases due to protozoa: Cryptosporidium parvum colitis in HIV positive patients (Collaboration with N. Brousse,Laboratory of Pathology, Necker-Enfants Malades hospital) and Leishmania in a mouse model.( Collaboration with T. Lang, J.C. Antoine and G. Milon from the Unit of Immunophysiology and intracellular parasitism) Another collaborative program on experimental leishmaniasis is in progress with a team of pasteur Institute in Lille.


2) Analysis of genes expression and function in vivo

Inactivation of SFN5 and tumors.

We have studied 53 tumors that arised in SNF5+/- mice. hSNF5 is a chromatin remodeling factor. Numerous data lead to think that it is a tumor suppressor gene. Somatic or constitutive mutations of this gene are found most often in rhabdoid tumors, very agressive tumors in child. A loss-of function mutation has been generated by homologousrecombination in the laboratory of M. Yaniv (A. Yeivin, Unité des Virus Oncogènes). Inactivation of both alleles of SNF5 is letal during embryogenesis. In 32% of the heterozygotes of the age of 4 months to 15 months, tumors were detected with preferential locations: 30 % were intracranial, 27 % around the dorsal root ganglia of the cervical spinal cord. These tumors appeared microscopically as indifferentiated sarcomas, that contained in 30 % of cases a variable number of rhabdoid cells. The immuno-phenotype of the tumors was heterogeneous: all were vimentin +, and expressed PS 100, N.G.F.-R(p75), or G.F.A.P or not. These markers suggest that tumors cells are derived from the neural crest. Immuno-labelling against others markers was negative (cytokeratins, E.M.A., desmin, myosin, myoglobin, N.S.E).


Role of vHNF1 in liver differentiation.

We are interested in the consequences of vHNF1 inactivation in liver differentiation L. Gresh, M. Yaniv, Unité des Virus Oncogènes). vHNF1 is a transcription factor, early and strongly expressed during developpement and is implicated in epithelial differentiation. The inactivation of vHNF1 lethal at 7,5. Using the cre-lox system of conditional inactivation, C. Coffinier has obtained a loss of function of vHNF1 restricted to the liver. In this murine strain, biliary sytem and perilobular arteries are not normally developped.


Role of Vimentin in tumorigenesis

F. Langa, E. Collucci, S. Pournael and C. Babinet , Unité de Biologie du Développement)
Teratocarcinoma derived from ES cells were studied in transgenic mice without vimentin compared to wild type. It has been demonstrated that the absence of vimentin did not affect the growth rate of experimental tumors, the size, vascularization and differenciation of ectoderm, endoderm and mesoderm components in all possible combinations ( Vim -/- or +/+ ES cells into Vim-/- or Vim+/+ mice. These results demonstrates that vimentin is not essential for efficient tumor growth and differenciation in vivo. .



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

F. Alonso

M. Huerre

L. Fiette

 

P. Avé

M.C. Chimy

H. Khun

S. Maurin

N. Wuscher


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Hispat


  Responsable : Michel Huerre (mhuerre@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité d'Histopathologie apporte son soutien technique et scientifique aux Unités de recherche de l'Institut Pasteur. Elle a une expertise en maladies infectieuses, et est en contact avec le Réseau International. Ses principaux thèmes de recherche sont la pathogénie des infections bactériennes des muqueuses (Helicobacter, Shigella, Listeria) de certaines infections virales ou parasitaires. Nous étudions également l'expression et la fonction des gènes in vivo dans des lignées génétiquement modifiées.



  rapport

cale

Maladies infectieuses

Infections bactériennes.

Nous nous intéressons en particulier aux interactions agents pathogènes-muqueuses dans plusieurs modèles animaux: Helicobacter chez la souris, Shigella chez le lapin, Listeria chez le cobaye, et dans certaines lignées transgéniques.
L'équipe d'A. Labigne (R. Ferrero, Unité de Pathogénie Microbienne des Muqueuses) étudie un modèle de gastrite chronique due à Helicobacter felis chez la souris. Les animaux infectés chroniquement montrent une hyperplasie du tissu lymphoïde de l'estomac et des glandes gastriques. On observe de nombreux lymphocytes B dans la lamina propria, qui suggère un recrutement polyclonal. Il n'y a pas d'argument en faveur du développement de maltome comme chez l'homme. On n'observe pas non plus d'atypies ou de lésions prénéoplasiques. Cette étude se poursuit dans une lignée de souris à fort taux de mutation.
Dans un modèle d'infection par Listeria (P. Cossart, M. Lecuit, Unité des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules), nous avons montré comment les bactéries traversent la barrière épithéliale. L'expression de l'E-cadhérine humaine chez la souris permet après fixation à l'internaline bactérienne, ligand spécifique et crucial de l'E-cadhérine, l'invasion des enterocytes et le transport par les macrophages dans les tissus profonds.
Dans un modèle de Shigellose expérimentale ( P. Sansonetti, C. Wenneras, Unité de pathogénie Microbienne Moléculaire) nous avons étudié le role du récepteur CD14 et analysé les corrélations avec la réponse inflammatoire locale.


Infections virales

Nous avons étudié au cours de l'année 2000 plusieurs maladies virales dont la Dengue, la fièvre de la Vallée du rift, l'infection par le virus West-Nile, par le HTLVI et les lymphomes observés chez des patients VIH+.
Nous avons reçu de l'Institut Pasteur de Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam, une série de 5 cas d'hépatite dues au virus de la Dengue. Le foie est un organe cible de ce virus. le virus de la Dengue induit une nécrose médiolobulaire, une stéatose et l'apparition de corps de Councilman. Nous avons retrouvé l'antigène viral dans les hépatocytes. Nous avons observé que comme dans le cas de la fièvre jaune, il n'y a pas de recrutement de lymphocytes et de granulocytes et que les corps de Councilman sont des cellules apoptotiques.
Le virus de la fièvre de la Vallée du rift induit chez l'homme une hépatite aiguë nécrosante. L'inoculation expérimentale à la souris entraîne une hépatite en 3 ou 4 jours. Dans ce modèle, nous avons détecté l'antigène viral et le génôme viral dans les cellules de Küpffer et les hépatocytes à partir du 2ème jour p.i.
Nous avons entrepris avec V. Deubel (Unité des Arbovirus et Fièvres Hémorragiques) de développer un modèle murin d'infection expérimentale par le virus West-Nile. Ce modèle doit permettre d'aborder expérimentalement de nombreux aspects de cette infection in vivo: voies d'infection naturelle et transit du virus, physiopathologie de l'infection. Le virus West-Nile est un Arbovirus du genre Flavivirus, transmissible à de nombreuses espèces de Vertébrés par l'intermédiaire de moustiques. Plusieurs épidémies se sont déclarées dans les dernières années chez l'homme, le cheval et les oiseaux. La récente survenue de cas humains mortels à New York a relancé l'intérêt pour ce virus et notamment pour son l'épidémiologie et sa physiopathologie. Nous avons étudié les lésions induites chez la souris par deux isolats (Israël et Sénégal) du virus West-Nile. Nous avons également comparé différentes voies d'inoculation (i.d., i.n., i.p.). Nos observations montrent des différences nettes dans l'incidence, et la sévérité des lésions expérimentales induites par ces deux souches et le nombre de cellules renfermant de l'antigène viral.


Infections parasitaires

Nous avons travaillé sur deux modèles d'infections à Protozoaires: la colite due à Cryptosporidium parvum chez les malades VIH+ (Collaboration Necker-Enfants malades, N. Brousse) , et un modèle murin d'infection par Leishmania (Collaboration T. Lang, G. Milon, J.C. Antoine, Unité d'Immuno-physiologie et Parasitisme intracellulaire) Un autre programme de Leishmaniose murine est en cours, en collaboration avec l'IP de Lille


2) Analyse de l'expression et de la fonction des gènes in vivo.

Inactivation du gène SNF5 et tumeurs.

Nous avons étudié 53 tumeurs apparues chez des souris SNF5+/-. De nombreuses observations font de hSNF5 un gène suppresseur de tumeur des mutations somatiques, ou constitutives, de ce gène sont rencontrées notamment dans des tumeurs rhabdoïdes, tumeurs pédiatriques très agressives. Son inactivation par recombinaison homologue a été réalisée par l'équipe de M. Yaniv (A. Yeivin, Unité des Virus Oncogènes). Cette inactivation est létale chez l'embryon homozygote. 32 % des souris hétérozygotes de cette lignée ont développé des tumeurs entre l'âge de 4 mois et celui de 15 mois avec des localisations préférentielles: 30% intracrânienne, 27 % au niveau du ganglion spinal du 2ème ou du 3ème nerf rachidien. Il s'agit histologiquement de sarcomes indifférenciés qui renferment dans un cas sur 3 un nombre variable de cellules rhabdoïdes. Les tumeurs ont un immuno-phénotype variable: toutes sont vimentine +, elles peuvent exprimer d'autres marqueurs comme la PS100, N.G.F.-R(p75), ou la G.F.A.P., ce qui suggère qu'elles dérivent de la crête neurale. Les autres marqueurs testés sont négatifs (cytokératines, E.M.A., desmine, myosine, myoglobine, N.S.E.).
`

Rôle de vHNF1 dans la différenciation hépatique.

Nous avons poursuivi notre étude des conséquences de l'inactivation de vHNF1 chez la souris avec l'e groupe de M. Yaniv (C. Coffinier, L. Gresh, Unité des Virus Oncogènes). vHNF1 est un facteur de transcription exprimé précocement au cours du développement. Il joue un rôle important dans la différenciation épithéliale. Son inactivation par recombinaison homologue est létale à E7,5. En utilisant le système d'inactivation conditionnelle Cre-lox, C. Coffinier a ciblé la perte d'expression de vHNF1 dans le foie. Chez les souris ainsi obtenues, il existe d'importantes anomalies de différenciation des canaux biliaires et des artères périlobulaires.


Rôle de la vimentine dans la tumorigénèse.

( Collaboration avec l'unité de Biologie du Développement, F. Langa, C. Babinet , E. Collucci et S. Vandormael Pournin) L'étude de souris KO pour la vimentine (vim -/-) a permis l'analyse et le développement de tumeurs expérimentales dérivées des cellules ES. Cette étude a démontré que la présence ou non de vimentine, ne jouait aucun role dans le développement de tumeurs quel que soit le phénotype des cellules inoculées ( vim +/+ et vim-/-) et le phénotype des animaux receveurs (vim+/+) et vim-/-) Le poids des tumeurs, la cinétique et la différenciation des contingents ectodermique, ento et mésodermique est superposables, suggérant que le gène de la vimentine n'a pas de role critique en tumorigénèse expérimentale.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

F. Alonso

M. Huerre

L. Fiette

 

P. Avé

M.C. Chimy

H. Khun

S. Maurin

N. Wuscher


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.