Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmp


  Directors : KUNST Frank, GLASER Philippe (fkunst@pasteur.fr , pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory is involved in the determination and analysis of genome sequences, global gene expression studies with the use of DNA arrays and development of software for genome analysis. We concentrate on three bacterial pathogens (Listeria monocytogenes , Streptococcus agalactiae, Photorhabdus luminescens), a pathogenic fungus (Aspergillus fumigatus) and an amoeba (Dictyostelium discoideum).



  report

cale

OBJECTIVE

Public health studies show the necessity to develop new therapeutic strategies to combat infection. The association of comparative genomics, the analysis of the genetic diversity of strains, global transcription analysis and bioinformatics is a powerful tool to achieve this goal. Our activity is centered on the sequencing and analysis of microbial pathogens. We also use the high-density array technology for the evaluation of the expression of a large number of genes and for genome comparisons involving different strains of a bacterial species.


RESULTS

At present, we are involved in the analysis of the genomes of four bacteria. Listeria monocytogenes is a bacterium causing serious food-borne infections (mortality : 30 %), whose clinical signs are meningitis and abortion. The sequence and annotation of its genome (2.94 megabases) has been completed by a consortium of 10 laboratories, coordinated by us together with P. Cossart (Institut Pasteur, Laboratoire des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules). We also have completed the sequence of L. innocua, a non-pathogenic bacterium closely related to L. monocytogenes. The comparison of these two genome sequences - with the use of the software FindTarget developed in our laboratory — will help us to identify potential virulence genes, and more generally, will lead to a better understanding of the pathogenicity of L. monocytogenes and its ability to contaminate food. Specific features of this bacterium have been deduced from the analysis of its genome and have been described in a recently submitted article. It contains a large number of proteins of the following families : surface proteins containing an LPXTG motif, internalins, sugar transport systems, proteins showing similarities to Bacillus subtilis competence proteins and regulators of the Crp/Fnr family. Furthermore, we are using a comparative genomics approach based on DNA arrays to characterize clinical and environmental isolates of Listeria.

Photorhabdus luminescens is a commensal of a nematode and an insect parasite. This bacterium is both a model for the study of host-parasite interactions, and potentially an industrial bacterium because of its capacity to synthetize numerous toxins (insecticides, bacteriocides and fungicides) and to secrete numerous enzymes. At present, this sequencing project is in the final stage : the genome of 5.6 megabases has been assembled into 4 contigs. In collaboration with the Laboratoire de Pathologie Comparée (INRA, Montpellier) and the company Aventis CropScience we have identified numerous genes encoding toxins.

Streptococcus agalactiae is a group B Streptococcus. Neonatal infections caused by Streptococci constitute an important health problem. The frequency of occurrence is 2.5 per 1000 births, with a rate of mortality in the range of 4 - 10%, and cases of meningitis leading to neurological aftereffects in 25 - 50 % of the cases. We have assembled this genome of about 2 megabases into 40 contigs. The availability of the complete genome sequences of two related Streptococci, S. pneumoniae and S. pyogenes, will allow us to carry out a comparative genomics study.

In the framework of our participation in the Aspergillus fumigatus genome project (see below) and for transcriptome analysis, we have sequenced 9000 genomic tags of this fungus causing invasive aspergillosis. DNA arrays are prepared to carry out studies of global gene expression in collaboration with J.-P. Latgé (Unité des Aspergillus), and to identify new targets to combat this fungus. Recently, an international project aimed at the sequencing of the Aspergillus fumigatus genome has been set up with the participation of the Sanger Centre (UK), the University of Manchester (UK), The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR, USA), the Universities of Madrid and Salamanca (Spain), and the Institut Pasteur (Unité des Aspergillus and our laboratory).

Finally, our laboratory participates in a pilot project aimed at the sequencing of one megabase of the Dictyostelium discoideum genome, in collaboration with the Sanger Centre and the Unité de Régulation Enzymatique des Activités Cellulaires (Institut Pasteur) headed by Michel Véron.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

DULIEU, Isabelle - idulieu@pasteur.fr

BUCHRIESER Carmen, CR IP

DUCHAUD Eric, Post-doc

CAZALET Christel, Étudiante, INSA Toulouse

FEURER Carole, Boursière IP

GARRIDO Patricia, Ingénieur, Université de Madrid, Espagne

HEJNOVA Jana, Boursière Ministère des Affaires Étrangères

CHETOUANI Farid, Ingénieur IP

CHEVALIER Fabien, Technicien CDD

COUVE Elisabeth, Technicienne IP

DOUALOT Harry, Aide de Laboratoire IP

FRANGEUL Lionel, Ingénieur IP

RUSNIOK Christophe, Technicien IP

SIMOES Nathalie, Ingénieur CDD


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmp


  Responsables : KUNST Frank, GLASER Philippe (fkunst@pasteur.fr, pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire est impliqué dans la détermination et l'analyse de séquences génomiques, des études de la diversité génomique et d'expression globale des gènes à l'aide de puces à ADN. Nous développons des logiciels informatiques pour l'analyse des génomes. Les organismes étudiés sont: trois bactéries pathogènes (Listeria monocytogenes , Streptococcus agalactiae, Photorhabdus luminescens), un champignon pathogène (Aspergillus fumigatus) et une amibe (Dictyostelium discoideum).



  rapport

cale

OBJECTIF

Les études de santé publique montrent la nécessité de développer de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques anti-infectieuses. L'association de la génomique à l'analyse de la diversité des souches, l'analyse globale de la transcription et à la bioinformatique constitue un moyen puissant pour atteindre ce but. Notre activité est centrée sur le séquençage et l'analyse de génomes de micro-organismes pathogènes. Nous utilisons également la technologie des filtres à haute densité afin d'évaluer l'expression d'un grand nombre de gènes et de réaliser des comparaisons de génomes pour différentes souches d'une espèce bactérienne.


RESULTATS

Actuellement, nous analysons les génomes de quatre bactéries. Listeria monocytogenes est une bactérie responsable d'infections d'origine alimentaire très graves (mortalité 30 %), dont les signes cliniques sont des méningites, et des avortements. La séquence entière et l'annotation de son génome d'une taille de 2,94 mégabases a été déterminée par un consortium de 10 laboratoires européens dont nous assurons avec P. Cossart (Institut Pasteur, Unité des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules) la coordination. Nous avons également terminé la séquence génomique de L. innocua, une bactérie non pathogène très proche de L. monocytogenes. La comparaison de ces deux séquences génomiques - à l'aide d'un logiciel développé dans notre laboratoire - nous aidera à identifier des gènes spécifiques de la virulence et, plus généralement, à mieux comprendre la pathogénicité de L. monocytogenes et sa capacité de contaminer la nourriture. Des propriétés caractéristiques de cette bactérie ont été déduites de l'analyse de son génome et ont été décrites dans un article récemment soumis pour publication. Cette bactérie contient un grand nombre de protéines des familles suivantes : des protéines de surface à motif LPXTG, des internalines, des systèmes de transport de sucres, des protéines similaires à des protéines de competence de Bacillus subtilis et des régulateurs de la famille Crp/Fnr. De plus, nous utilisons une approche de génomique comparative à l'aide de puces à ADN pour la caractérisation génomique d'isolats cliniques et environmentaux de Listeria.

Photorhabdus luminescens est une bactérie commensale d'un vers (nématode) et un parasite d'insecte. Cette bactérie est à la fois un modèle pour l'étude des interactions hôte-parasite et, potentiellement, une bactérie industrielle en raison de sa capacité à synthétiser de nombreuses toxines (insecticides, bactéricides et fongicides) et à sécréter de nombreuses enzymes. Ce projet est dans la phase finale : le génome d'une taille de 5,6 mégabases a été assemblé en 4 contigs. En collaboration avec le Laboratoire de Pathologie Comparée (INRA, Montpellier) et la société Aventis CropScience nous avons identifié de nombreux gènes codant pour des toxines.

Streptococcus agalactiae est un streptocoque du groupe B. Les infections néonatales à streptocoques posent un important problème de santé publique. Leur incidence est de 2,5 pour 1000 naissances, avec un taux de mortalité qui varie actuellement entre 4 et 10%, et des cas de méningites entrainant des séquelles neurologiques dans 25 à 50 % des cas. Nous avons assemblé ce génome d'environ 2 mégabases en 40 contigs. La disponibilité des séquences génomiques complètes de deux streptocoques apparentés, S. pneumoniae et S. pyogenes, nous permettra d'entreprendre une étude de génomique comparative.

Dans le cadre de notre participation au projet de séquençage du génome d'Aspergillus fumigatus (voir ci-dessous) et pour l'étude du transcriptome, nous avons séquencé 9000 étiquettes génomiques de ce champignon, responsable de l'aspergillose invasive. Les ADN correspondant à ces étiquettes sont utilisés pour la réalisation de filtres à haute densité d'ADN afin de mener, en collaboration avec l'équipe de J.-P. Latgé (Laboratoire des Aspergillus), des études d'expression génétique globales et d'identifier de nouvelles cibles pour lutter contre ce champignon. Récemment, un projet international visant à déterminer la séquence du génome entier d'Aspergillus fumigatus a été mis en place avec la participation du Sanger Centre (Royaume Uni), l'Université de Manchester (Royaume Uni), The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR, USA), les Universités de Madrid et de Salamanque (Espagne), et l'Institut Pasteur (l'Unité des Aspergillus et notre laboratoire).

Finalement, notre laboratoire participe a un projet pilote dont l'objectif est la détermination de la séquence d'une mégabase du génome de Dictyostelium discoideum, en collaboration avec le Sanger Centre et l'Unité de Régulation Enzymatique des Activités Cellulaires (Institut Pasteur) dirigé par Michel Véron.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

DULIEU, Isabelle - idulieu@pasteur.fr

BUCHRIESER Carmen, CR IP

DUCHAUD Eric, Post-doc

CAZALET Christel, Étudiante, INSA Toulouse

FEURER Carole, Boursière IP

GARRIDO Patricia, Ingénieur, Université de Madrid, Espagne

HEJNOVA Jana, Boursière Ministère des Affaires Étrangères

CHETOUANI Farid, Ingénieur IP

CHEVALIER Fabien, Technicien CDD

COUVE Elisabeth, Technicienne IP

DOUALOT Harry, Aide de Laboratoire IP

FRANGEUL Lionel, Ingénieur IP

RUSNIOK Christophe, Technicien IP

SIMOES Nathalie, Ingénieur CDD


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.