Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmmorpho


  Director : ROBERT, Benoît (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory is involved in the study of embryonic induction in vertebrate development. The function of Msx1 and Msx2, two homeobox genes expressed in sites of induction, is analysed using mouse mutants we have produced for both genes. The role of these genes in signal transduction in several signalling pathways is under dedicated investigation. We are also analysing the genesis of mouse polydactylies, with special attention to the complex genetic determinism of Pdt. The relationship between apoptosis and limb morphogenesis is further studied by inhibiting in ovo the chick phosphatase PP2A.



  report

cale

The Morphogenesis molecular Genetics Laboratory is involved in the study of ecto-mesodermal induction mechanisms that are implicated in organogenesis, with special emphasis on limb initiation and morphogenesis in vertebrates.

Functional analysis of Msx genes in the mouse (Antoine Bach, Marie-Anne Nicola, Yvan Lallemand). Msx1 and Msx2 are homeobox genes prominently expressed in regions of induction between ectoderm and mesoderm. Msx1 was inactivated a few years ago by insertion of an nLacZ reporter gene in the coding sequence. Mutants exhibit cranio-facial defects at birth in derivatives of the first branchial arches (maxilla, mandible, tooth buds) which lead to perinatal death. We further observed that they suffer from hydrocephaly. This new phenotype appears to be due to a deficiency in the formation of the subcommissural organ, an ependymal secretory structure located under the posterior commissure of the brain. In fact, the whole roof of the diencephalon seems affected (fig. 1). We are currently investigating the interference of the Msx1 mutation with signalling pathways identified at the level of the fore-midbrain junction (BMPs, Wnts, FGFs…).

We have achieved the mutation of Msx2 by homologous recombination. The whole coding sequence of the gene was replaced by an nLacZ reporter gene. Using this marker, we are revisiting the expression profile of Msx2 with increased sensitivity and accuracy. We previously characterised expression of Msx1 in progenitor cells of the dermis that migrate out of the somite dermomyotome. No alteration was observed at this site in the Msx1 mutant, but redundancy with Msx2 is possible. Actually, we observe a segmental, dorsal expression of this gene which partially overlap with that of Msx1. Then, the Msx1/Msx2 double mutants will be instrumental in understanding the function of Msx genes in development.

Relations between BMP signalling and Msx genes (Ewa Szabat, Marie-Anne Nicola). In a number of sites in the embryo, there is a strong correlation between Msx1 or 2 and Bmp2/4 expression patterns. We have undertaken the controlled ablation of BMP2/4 activity in mouse embryo by conditional expression of noggin, a potent inhibitor of these BMPs, using tetracycline-inducible promoters. This is achieved by associating two transgenes, one expressing a transcriptional activator, rtTA, which is active only in the presence of tetracycline; the other expressing noggin cDNA under the control of a tetO operator, which is activated by rtTA. Association of the two transgenes lead to tetracycline dependence for noggin expression. Vectors have been constructed for these transgenes and transfected in ES cells. Twelve independent clones were selected that will be used to derived mouse strains.

In addition, we are analysing the transactivation of BMP4 promoter (which contains binding sites for the MSX) by MSX1 and MSX2 proteins, using cell culture systems.

Analysis of mouse polydactylous mutants (Isabelle Blanc). We are studying a new mouse polydactyly, Pluridigité (Pdt). The phenotype appears to depend on the interactions between three genes, a major locus on chromosome 12, close to Twist, and two strong modifier loci on chromosome 4. These mutations have been fixed in a recombinant inbred strain, which constitutes a precious tool to investigate interactions between the three genes.

Relations between apoptosis and morphogenesis (André Weydert). Protein phosphatase 2A (PP2A) is involved in numerous activities in cell metabolism, including apoptosis. We have undertaken the in situ inhibition of PP2A in the chick wing bud by implanting inhibitor-loaded beads. This leads to specific and reproducible limb agenesis which follows the presumptive maps of the wing. Intercellular signalling mechanisms which may be affected in this process are under study.


Photos:

Fig. 1: At E14.5, the diencephalon midline in an Msx1 mutant (A) does not express Msx1. Cells which normally express this gene (B) either have been eliminated, or have changed fate.

Fig. 2: Msx2, as Msx1, is expressed in dorsal demis progenitors at E12.5 (arrows).



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Geneviève Antolini (jusqu'au 31/05/2001)

Benoît Robert, Chef de Laboratoire, Institut Pasteur

Yvan Lallemand, Chargé de Recherche, Institut Pasteur

André Weydert, Chargé de Recherche, Institut Pasteur

Antoine Bach, Étudiant de thèse, Université de Paris XI

Isabelle Blanc, Étudiante de thèse, Université de Paris VI

Ewa Szabat, Stagiaire post-doctorale

Marie-Anne Nicola, Ingénieur, Institut Pasteur


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmmorpho


  Responsable : ROBERT, Benoît (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire étudie les mécanismes de l'induction embryonnaire au cours du développement chez les vertébrés. L'analyse fonctionnelle des gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2, qui sont exprimés dans des régions d'induction, repose sur l'étude de mutants de souris que nous avons produits pour ces deux gènes. Nous nous intéressons particulièrement au rôle de ces gènes dans la transduction de signaux de différentes voies de signalisation (BMP, Wnt…). Nous analysons également la genèse de polydactylies murines, en particulier le déterminisme génétique complexe de Pdt. Enfin, les relations entre apoptose et morphogenèse du membre sont analysées par inhibition, in ovo, de la phosphatase PP2A chez le poulet.



  rapport

cale

Le laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire de la Morphogenèse se consacre à l'étude des mécanismes d'induction ecto-mésodermique à l'oeuvre dans l'organogenèse, et en particulier dans l'émergence et la morphogenèse du membre, chez les vertébrés.

Analyse fonctionnelle des gènes de la famille Msx chez la souris (Antoine Bach, Marie-Anne Nicola, Yvan Lallemand).

Les gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2 sont exprimés essentiellement dans des régions d'induction entre ectoderme et mésoderme. Msx1 a été inactivé il y a quelques années par insertion en phase du gène rapporteur nlacZ. Les mutants présentent à la naissance des défauts des dérivés du premier arc branchial (maxillaire, mandibule, bourgeons dentaires), qui sont létaux. Nous avons de plus observé une hydrocéphalie chez le mutant. L'analyse de ce phénotype nouveau révèle que l'organe sub-commissural, structure épendymaire sécrétrice au niveau de la commissure postérieure du cerveau, est absent chez le mutant, et qu'en fait, c'est la totalité du toit du diencéphale qui est affectée (fig. 1). L'origine de ce défaut, et en particulier l'interférence de la mutation de Msx1 avec les voies de signalisation identifiées à ce niveau (BMP, Wnt, FGF…), est en cours d'analyse.

Nous avons achevé la mutagenèse de Msx2 par recombinaison homologue. Toute la séquence codante du gène a été remplacée par celle du gène rapporteur nlacZ. Grâce à ce marqueur, nous reprenons l'analyse du profil d'expression de Msx2 avec une sensibilité et une précision accrues. Nous avions caractérisé l'expression de Msx1 dans les cellules progénitrices du derme dorsal qui migrent du dermomyotome du somite. Aucune altération n'a été observée à ce site chez les mutants Msx1, mais une redondance fonctionnelle avec le gène Msx2 est possible. De fait, nous avons observé pour ce gène une expression segmentaire, dorsale, qui recouvre partiellement celle de Msx1 (fig. 2). L'analyse des doubles mutants Msx1/Msx2 sera déterminante pour comprendre la fonction des gènes Msx dans le développement.

Relations entre la signalisation par les BMP et l'expression des gènes Msx (Ewa Szabat, Marie-Anne Nicola).

À de nombreux sites de l'embryon, on observe une forte corrélation entre l'expression de Msx1 ou Msx2 et celle de BMP4 ou BMP2. Nous avons entrepris d'altérer de façon contrôlée l'activité de ces BMP dans l'embryon de souris, par expression conditionnelle d'un inhibiteur de BMP2 et BMP4, noggin, à l'aide de promoteurs inductibles par la tétracycline. Le principe consiste à associer deux transgènes: l'un qui exprime un activateur de transcription, rtTA, actif seulement en présence de tétracycline; l'autre qui exprime le cDNA de noggin sous le contrôle d'un opérateur (tetO) répondant au transactivateur rtTA. Ce montage met le gène de noggin sous la dépendance de l'activateur dépendant de la tétracycline. Les vecteurs tetO-noggin ont été construits et transfectés dans des cellules ES. Douze clones indépendants ont été sélectionnés qui serviront à dériver les lignées de souris correspondantes.

Cette étude est complétée par l'analyse de la transactivation du promoteur de BMP4 (qui contient des sites de fixation pour les MSX) par les protéines MSX1 et MSX2, dans des systèmes cellulaires en culture.

Étude de mutants polydactyles de la souris (Isabelle Blanc)

Nous étudions une mutation nouvelle, Pluridigité (Pdt). Le déterminisme du phénotype apparaît complexe: il fait intervenir un gène majeur sur le chromosome 12, proche de Twist, et deux gènes modificateurs sur le chromosome 4. Ces mutations ont été fixées dans une souris consanguine recombinante, qui constitue un outil précieux pour l'analyse des interactions géniques entre les trois gènes.

Relations entre apoptose et morphogenèse (André Weydert)

La protéine phosphatase PP2A est impliquée dans de nombreuses activités du métabolisme cellulaire, dont l'apoptose. Nous avons entrepris d'inhiber l'activité de PP2A au sein du bourgeon d'aile du poulet au moyen de billes chargées d'inhibiteurs. Cette opération conduit à des agénésies sélectives et reproductibles, qui sont conformes aux cartes des territoires présomptifs affectés dans le membre du poulet. Les mécanismes de signalisation intercellulaire affectés sont à l'étude.


Légendes des photos :

Fig. 1: À 14,5 j de développement, la ligne médiane du diencéphale d'un mutant Msx1 (A) n'exprime plus Msx1. Les cellules qui expriment normalement ce gène (B) soit ont été éliminées, soit ont changé d'identité.

Fig. 2: Msx2, comme Msx1, est exprimé dans les précurseurs du derme dorsal à 12,5 j de développement (flèches).



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Geneviève Antolini (jusqu'au 31/05/2001)

Benoît Robert, Chef de Laboratoire, Institut Pasteur

Yvan Lallemand, Chargé de Recherche, Institut Pasteur

André Weydert, Chargé de Recherche, Institut Pasteur

Antoine Bach, Étudiant de thèse, Université de Paris XI

Isabelle Blanc, Étudiante de thèse, Université de Paris VI

Ewa Szabat, Stagiaire post-doctorale

Marie-Anne Nicola, Ingénieur, Institut Pasteur


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.