Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmm


  Director : Philip AVNER (pavner@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Research in the Unit is centred around four projects :

1) Inactivation of the mouse X chromosome
2) Genetic analysis of type 1 diabetes in the mouse as a model for traits under multifactorial and polygenic control
3) The role of the X-linked gene Nap1l2 in the control of neuronal cell division
4) Mouse genome analysis undertaken in collaboration with Genoscope (Centre National de Sequençage, Evry)



  report

cale

X chromosome inactivation


One of the major research interests of the Mouse Molecular Genetics Unit is X chromosome inactivation.This is a complex biological process which depends on the presence of two copies of the X-inactivation centre (Xic) and which results in the inactivation of one of the two X chromosomes present in the female cell. The process involves both the sensing and counting of the number of X chromosomes in the cell in relation to the autosomal complement. The X chromosome chosen to remain active is thought to be protected by an as yet hypothetical blocking factor. Several genetic elements including the genetically identified locus Xce (X-controlling element) seem to be able to affect the choice of which X chromosome will be chosen to be inactivated. Xce is distinct from Xist (X-inactive specific transcript) which codes for a non-coding RNA and which plays a major role in the initiation of the inactivation process.
The candidate region for the Xce locus was recently refined to a region of less than 50kb based on the analysis of additional critical recombinant animals and the characterisation of novel polymorphic markers including SNPs (Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms). The candidate region is currently under study using a genetic deletion approach which should allow molecular characterisation of this locus which was first identified some thirty years ago.

Other experiments undertaken in the laboratory are aimed at the functional identification and analysis of the various components of the Xic by targeted mutagenesis using the cre-lox system. This approach has allowed us to define a region lying 3' to Xist which both controls Xist expression and the counting process, possibly functioning as a binding site for the hypothesised 'blocking' factor. The analysis of the original deletion is currently being refined by a so-called add-back strategy.

This analysis has defined at least two subregions one of which is implicated in the counting process. The other which controls both the expression of Xist and Tsix antisense appears to influence, amongst other things the retention of Xist RNA at its chromosomal site of transcription.

A better understanding of some of the processes involved in the initiation of X-inactivation is likely to come from combining such genetic and cell biology approaches with an analysis of chromatin structure. Several different approaches to such an analysis including ChIP (Chromatin Immunoprecipitation) have been established in the laboratory over the past eighteen months.
The importance of including a genomic approach in such projects is demonstrated by the new genes within the Xic which have identified from the recently completed comparative sequence analysis of the mouse, human and bovine Xic regions. Conserved regions which are not coding are candidates for regulatory roles in the function of the Xic region.

Genetics factors involved in the X-inactivation process lying outside of the Xic are being looked for by a complementary approach based on a comparative transcriptome analysis of female and male cells of the early embryo using SAGE (Serial Analysis of Gene Expression) analysis.


Genome Research and Mouse Disease Models

A second interest of the Unit concerns the study of mouse phenotypes under multifactorial and polygenic control. We have taken as our prototype type 1 diabetes or insulino dependent diabetes for which the NOD mouse represents an interesting model. Our studies are aimed at defining the genetic factors (Idd) implicated in this pathology which is known to depend on a complex interaction between environmental and genetic factors. Our studies are concentrated on the characterisation of Idd loci controlling diabetes susceptibility/resistance locating to the distal part of mouse chromosome 6. The past year has seen major advances in the definition and localisation of three loci Idd6, Idd19 and Idd20 lying in the distal part of mouse chromosome 6.

The continued refining of the candidate regions for these loci by mouse breeding has allowed candidate gene approaches to be undertaken to defining and characterising the genes responsible for these traits.

One means of reducing the genetics complexity underlying type 1 diabetes is to study sub-phenotypes associated with the disease. The identification of the genes coding for target autoantigens identified by T-cell clones isolated from diabetic or pre-diabetic animals appears a particularly promising approach and has allowed us to identify a region of the mouse genome concerned in the regulation of the expression of several such antigens. The molecular analysis of the region(s) is underway.

Promising results have also been obtained for another X-linked gene, Nap1l2. Mutations in this gene are associated with embryonic lethality, spina bifida and exencephaly linked to a massive over proliferation of neuronal cells. Current experiments which are aimed at understanding the role and mechanism of action of this gene in tissue specific cell cycle regulation have suggested that the NAP1L2 protein cycles between the cytoplasm and the nucleus and may be involved in histone protein transfer to the nucleus.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

DEMOND Anne, tel 01 45 68 86 25, fax 01 45 68 86 56, e-mail : labavner@pasteur.fr ou ademond@pasteur.fr

AVNER Philip Chef d'Unité - INSTITUT PASTEUR, pavner@pasteur.fr CNRS - DR1

CLERC Philippe INSTITUT PASTEUR - CR pclerc@pasteur.fr

ROUGEULLE Claire CNRS - CR2 rougeull@pasteur.fr

BOURDET Agnès Stagiaire pré-doctorale MRT agnesb@pasteur.fr

GRIMM Christina Stagiaire post-doctorale DAAD cgrimm@pasteur.fr

MISE Natan Stagiaire post-doctoral FRM nmise@pasteur.fr

MOREY Céline Stagiaire pré-doctorale MRT cmorey@pasteur.fr

PRISSETTE Marine Stagiaire pré-doctorale ARC mprisset@pasteur.fr

ROGNER Ute Stagiaire post-doctorale CNG urogner@pasteur.fr

ARNAUD Danielle CNRS - Ingénieur darnaud@pasteur.fr

BOUCONTET Michelle IP - Agent de labo

MAZARS Séverine IP - Agent de labo (mi-temps)

CHUREAU-POMMIER Corinne IP - Technicienne sup cchureau@pasteur.fr

DEMOND Anne IP - Secrét. de Dir. (mi-temps) ademond@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmm


  Responsable : Philip AVNER (pavner@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'activité de l'unité est organisée autour de quatre thématiques :

1) L'inactivation du chromosome X chez la souris
2) L'analyse génétique du diabète de type 1 chez la souris comme modèle pour des caractères sous contrôle multifactoriel et polygénique
3) Le rôle du gène Nap1l2, lié au chromosome X, dans le contrôle de la division cellulaire des cellules neuronales
4) Des projets portant sur l'organisation du gène murin, entrepris en collaboration avec le Génoscope (Centre National de Séquençage, Evry)



  rapport

cale

Inactivation du chromosome X

L'inactivation du chromosome X, phénomène biologique extrêmement complexe, est l'une des préoccupations majeures de l'Unité de Génétique Moléculaire Murine.
L'initiation de l'inactivation qui dépend du locus Xic (X-inactivation center) inclut un processus qui permet le comptage du nombre de chromosomes X dans chaque cellule par rapport au nombre d'autosomes. Ainsi, dans une cellule diploïde porteuse de plusieurs chromosomes X, seul un chromosome X reste actif, tous les autres sont inactivés. Le chromosome choisi pour être actif est censé être protégé par un facteur hypothétique dit "bloquant". Plusieurs locus, incluant le locus Xce, (X-controlling element) affectent le choix ou la probabilité que l'un ou l'autre des chromosomes X soit inactivé. Xce est distinct du locus Xist (X-inactive specific transcript) dont le transcrit, un ARN non-codant, est connu pour jouer un rôle important dans le processus d'inactivation

Le locus Xce a été redéfini récemment à une région de moins de 50 kb grâce à l'analyse génétique faisant appel à des animaux recombinants supplémentaires et à la caractérisation de nouveaux marqueurs polymorphes, y compris des SNP (Single Nucleotide Polymorphisme). Cette région est étudiée par une approche de création de délétion pour permettre l'identification de ce locus défini, au préalable, il y a trente ans, pour son rôle dans le processus d'inactivation.

D'autres expériences ont porté sur la caractérisation fonctionnelle d'autres éléments composant la région Xic par mutagenèse ciblée en utilisant le système cre-lox. L'analyse de la grande délétion originale ainsi faite a été affinée par une stratégie de "add-back". Cette approche a mis en évidence au moins deux sous-régions situées en 3' de Xist (X-inactive specific transcript) dont l'une est impliquée dans le processus de comptage. L'autre semble contrôler l'expression à la fois de Xist et de Tsix (un transcrit antisens à Xist) et influencer, entre autre, la diffusion ou la rétention de l'ARN de Xist à son site de transcription.

Une meilleure compréhension de l'initiation de l'inactivation peut être obtenue en combinant des approches génétiques et à la biologie cellulaire avec des approches biochimiques permettant l'analyse de la structure de la chromatine. Nous appliquons actuellement plusieurs approches de ce type dont la technique de ChIP (Chromatin Immunoprecipitation).


L'analyse comparée de la séquence du Xic chez la souris, l'humain et le bovin a permis l'identification de plusieurs nouveaux gènes au sein du Xic et a démontré la présence d'une activité transcriptionnelle hors gène importante. Des régions conservées non codantes que nous avons identifiées sont des candidates pour une fonction dans la régulation extrêment complexe du Xic.
Enfin, des facteurs génétiques situés hors du Xic mais impliqués dans le processus d'inactivation sont actuellement recherchées par une analyse comparée de transcriptomes entre les cellules femelles et mâles de l'embryon en utilisant la méthode SAGE (Serial Analysis of Gene Expression).


Recherche sur les génomes et les modèles murins des maladies humaines

L'Unité de Génétique Moléculaire Murine a entrepris d'utiliser la souris comme modèle pour l'étude des phénotypes sous contrôle polygénique et multifactoriel. les souris NOD représentent un modèle de diabète insulino-dépendant et son étude tente de définir les facteurs génétiques impliqués dans le développement de cette pathologie (Idd) qui est connue pour dépendre à la fois de facteurs génétiques et liés à l'environnement. Nos études sont actuellement concentrées sur la caractérisation des loci de contrôle situés sur la partie distale du chromosome 6 murin. L'année écoulée a vu des progrès notables dans l'affinement de la localisation génétique des loci Idd6, Idd19 et Idd20 grâce à la construction de souches de souris congéniques pour les régions distales du chromosome 6 très restreint.

Nous avons, de plus, poursuivi l'étude des sous-phénotypes associés avec le diabète de type 1 comme moyen de réduire la complexité génétique impliquée dans l'analyse de cette maladie. L'identification des gènes codants pour les autoantigènes-cibles de la maladie identifiés par les clones T spécifiques isolés à partir d'animaux diabétiques ou pré-diabétiques semble, à cet égard, donner des résultats particulièrement prometteurs. Nous avons pu ainsi localiser une région génomique impliquée, en toute probabilité, dans le contrôle et l'expression de plusieurs antigènes. La définition moléculaire de ce locus est actuellement entreprise.

Un autre modèle murin exploité actuellement a résulté de nos études sur le gène Nap1l2 lié au chromosome X. Des mutations dans ce gène sont associées à une léthalité embryonnaire, spina bifida et exencéphalie, liée à une surprolifération des tissus neuronaux. Nous cherchons actuellement à comprendre le rôle et les mécanismes d'action de ce gène dans la régulation-tissu spécifique du cycle cellulaire. Nos expériences récentes ont suggéré que la protéine NAP1L2 qui transite entre le cytoplasme et le noyau joue un rôle dans le transfert des protéines histones dans le noyau.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

DEMOND Anne, tel 01 45 68 86 25, fax 01 45 68 86 56, e-mail : labavner@pasteur.fr ou ademond@pasteur.fr

AVNER Philip Chef d'Unité - INSTITUT PASTEUR, pavner@pasteur.fr CNRS - DR1

CLERC Philippe INSTITUT PASTEUR - CR pclerc@pasteur.fr

ROUGEULLE Claire CNRS - CR2 rougeull@pasteur.fr

BOURDET Agnès Stagiaire pré-doctorale MRT agnesb@pasteur.fr

GRIMM Christina Stagiaire post-doctorale DAAD cgrimm@pasteur.fr

MISE Natan Stagiaire post-doctoral FRM nmise@pasteur.fr

MOREY Céline Stagiaire pré-doctorale MRT cmorey@pasteur.fr

PRISSETTE Marine Stagiaire pré-doctorale ARC mprisset@pasteur.fr

ROGNER Ute Stagiaire post-doctorale CNG urogner@pasteur.fr

ARNAUD Danielle CNRS - Ingénieur darnaud@pasteur.fr

BOUCONTET Michelle IP - Agent de labo

MAZARS Séverine IP - Agent de labo (mi-temps)

CHUREAU-POMMIER Corinne IP - Technicienne sup cchureau@pasteur.fr

DEMOND Anne IP - Secrét. de Dir. (mi-temps) ademond@pasteur.fr


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.