Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmd


  Director : BUCKINGHAM Margaret (margab@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research centres on the study of myogenesis with the aim of understanding how muscle cells are specified in the embryo and how this leads to the formation of different muscle masses, both skeletal and cardiac, during development. We are also interested in muscle progenitor cells in the adult and the potential contribution of stem cells to regeneration. The experimental model is the mouse, with genetic manipulation of regulatory genes.



  report

cale

The formation of skeletal muscle [Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Juliette Hadchouel, Jacqueline Perreau, Didier Rocancourt, Ralf Spörle, Shahragim Tajbakhsh — collaborations with the laboratories of G. Cossu, P. Maire, T. Partridge, M. Polimeni, P. Rigby]

In 1997 we showed that Myf5 and Pax3 intervene upstream of MyoD in the genetic hierarchy that regulates the onset of myogenesis. Our current research focuses on the regulation, function and manipulation, with the introduction of other coding sequences, of these genes.

We have analysed Myf5 regulation with YAC transgenes which carry large fragments of DNA from around the locus. Several regions within 96 kbp upstream of the gene have been identified which are necessary for the complete spatio-temporal pattern of expression in the mouse. These include several enhancers containing sequences which specifically target different sites of myogenesis. The fine analysis of the expression of Myf5 and other marker genes has led to the identification of subdomains in the somite which are also of interest in evolutionary comparisons with other species. Another unexpected aspect of the expression of Myf5 is its transcription in certain domains of the central nervous system where the protein is not detectable and there is no apparent mutant phenotype. Surprisingly a specific Myf5 regulatory sequence targets these sites.

The first targetted mutation in Myf5, with introduction of the nlacZ reporter, permitted us to analyse the mutant phenotype in the embryo, but not posnatally because of a rib defect which is lethal to respiration at birth. This defect probably results from an effect in cis on another gene in the Myf5 locus. A mutant allele with a different configuration now avoids this problem, giving viable homozygotes. The analysis of adult muscle fibres reveals a role for Myf5 in the proliferation of the satellite cells which are associated with fibres and essential for muscle regeneration. The fact that Myf5, visualized by the expression of an Myf5-nlacZ allele, marks these cells, led to the identification, in conjunction with other markers, of a subpopulation which may have stem cell properties.

Given the complexity of the Myf5 locus which contains the MRF4 myogenic factor gene, as well as other possible coding sequences, we are now making precisely targeted mutations in MRF4 and Myf5 which should avoid secondary effects which may complicate interpretation of the mutant phenotype. We have also introduced the GFP reporter into an allele of Myf5 in order to follow the movement of muscle precursor cells in vivo. Other genetic manipulations include the introduction of the MyoD coding sequence in place of Myf5 with the aim of comparing the function of these two determination factors in the absence of differences in their expression, in the embryo and adult.

The Pax3 gene is also regulated by a complex combination of DNA sequences which target its expression to non-muscle as well as muscle precursors. The introduction of nlacZ and alkaline phosphatase reporter sequences in Pax3, permits us to follow the cells which express the gene in normal and mutant mice. We observe, unexpectedly, that cells in adult muscles are positive, suggesting that Pax3 like its orthologue Pax7, may play a key role in myogenesis in the adult as it does in the embryo.

In the regulatory cascade that leads from Pax3 to MyoD and the activation of myogenesis, other transcription factors and co-factors have recently emerged as potential players, such as the Six family of homeoproteins. We have targetted an allele of Pax3 with a dominant negative Six (Six4) sequence in order to investigate a role for these proteins prior to the onset of skeletal muscle formation.

We are interested in the signalling pathways which control the initiation of myogenesis. The sequences whcih regulate the Myf5 gene are being studies in this context. In order to determine whether Notch signalling is important in the specification of muscle cells we have targetted an allele of Pax3 and Myf5 with a constitutively active intracellular form of Notch. Perturbations in myogenesis are particularly evident with the Pax3 allele which also affects neural crest derivatives.


Cardiogenesis [Robert Kelly, Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Andrew Munk — collaborations with the laboratories of N. Brown and J.-F. Nicolas]

The regionalized expression of certain transgenes which are expressed in cardiac as well as skeletal muscle, provided us with an interesting tool with which to follow different subdomains of the myocardium. Thus in explants of the early cardiac tube we were able to identify a time frame when left/right atrial identity is still flexible whereas that of the ventricule is already acquired. We have constructed adenovirus vectors expressing different signalling molecules and factors which enable us to manipulate this acquisition of identity on the left/right and potentially also on the anterior/posteriorl axis.

In most cases regulatory sequences of the transgenes are responsible for their regionalized transcription in the heart. We are trying to define these sequences. In vitro manipulation of cardiocytes prepared from different regions of the myocardium, shows that the expression of the transgene becomes fixed early during development, probably because of chromatin conformation and/or DNA modification.

One transgenic line, where the expression is due to an integration site effect, has provided insight into the unexpected contribution of anterior mesodermal cells to the myocardium of the outflow tract. DiI labelling experiments confirm that cells in the anterior heart field are recruited into this part of the developing heart. The transgene has integrated upstream of the Fgf10 gene and its expression suggests that Fgf10 is implicated into this process. The identification of an Fgf10 enhancer element which may be regulating the transgene, together with the analysis of heart formation in the absence of Fgf signalling are in progress.

The question of the origin of the cell populations which colonise different parts of the developing heart is also being addressed by a retrospective clonal analysis. We have targetted the cardiac actin gene with an nlaacZ reporter sequence in which a rare combination event will lead to a functional nlacZ and consequent labelling of a cell expressing the cardiac actin allele with b-galactosidase. The analysis of clones in the embryonic heart visualised in this way already shows that the pool of founder cells is large. The comparison with skeletal muscle, also analysed with this transgene, shows interesting differences.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Myriam TAISNE (Institut Pasteur)

Philippe DAUBAS (CNRS)

Robert KELLY (INSERM)

Marguerite LEMONNIER (INSERM)

Frédéric RELAIX (INSERM)

Shahragim TAJBAKHSH (Institut Pasteur)

Ted CHANG (postdoc)

Juliette HADCHOUEL (étudiante en thèse

Ralf SPÖRLE (postdoc)

Sigolène MEILHAC (étudiante en thèse)

Andrew MUNK (postdoc)

Catherine BODIN (IP)

Dominique MICHEL (IP)

Jacqueline PERREAU (CNRS)

Didier ROCANCOURT (IP)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmd


  Responsable : BUCKINGHAM Margaret (margab@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos recherches sont centrées sur l'étude de la myogenèse dans le but de comprendre comment les cellule progénitrices sont spécifiées chez l'embryon pour permettre la mise en place de différentes masses musculaires du squelette et du cœur pendant le développement. Nous sommes également intéressés par les cellules progénitrices du muscle chez l'adulte et la contribution de cellules souches à la régénération. Le modèle expérimental est la souris, avec manipulation de gènes de régulation.



  rapport

cale

La formation du muscle de squelette [Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Juliette Hadchouel, Jacqueline Perreau, Didier Rocancourt, Ralf Spörle, Shahragim Tajbakhsh — collaborations avec les laboratoires de G. Cossu, P. Maire, T. Partridge, M. Polimeni, P. Rigby]

En 1997 nous avions démontré que Myf5 et Pax3 se situent en amont de MyoD dans la hiérarchie génétique qui régule la myogenèse. Actuellement nos recherches se focalisent sur la régulation, la fonction et la manipulation, avec introduction d'autres séquences, de ces deux gènes.

Nous analysons la régulation du gène Myf5 par une approche de transgenèse chez la souris, avec utilisation des YACs comportant les grands fragments d'ADN autour du gène. Ainsi plusieurs régions allant jusqu'à 96 kbp en amont de Myf5 ont été identifiées comme étant nécessaires pour différents aspects de l'expression spatiotemporelle du gène. Plusieurs enhanceurs ont été mis en évidence qui renferment les séquences qui ciblent spécifiquement différents sites de myogenèse. L'étude fine de l'expression de Myf5 et d'autres gènes marqueurs a amené à l'identification de domaines particuliers du somite présentant des comparaisons importantes avec d'autres espèces de vertébrés. Un autre aspect inattendu d'expression de Myf5 est sa transcription dans les domaines particuliers du système nerveux central où la protéine n'est pas détectée et il n'y a pas de phénotype apparent chez le mutant. Néanmoins une séquence régulatrice de Myf5 cible spécifiquement ces sites.

La première mutation ciblée du gène Myf5, avec l'introduction du gène rapporteur nlacZ, nous a permis d'analyser les effets sur la myogenèse chez l'embryon mais pas plus tardivement, à cause d'un défaut dans la formation des côtes qui interfère avec la respiration. Ce défaut est probablement dû à un effet en cis d'un autre gène dans le locus de Myf5. Avec un allèle muté d'une configuration différente nous avons obtenu des homozygotes viables. L'analyse des fibres musculaires adultes révèle un rôle pour Myf5, dans la prolifération des cellules satellites qui sont associées aux fibres et essentielle pour la régénération. Le fait que Myf5 marque ces cellules a permis, en conjonction avec d'autres marqueurs, de mettre en évidence une sous-population, éventuellement de type cellules souches.

Vu la complexité du locus Myf5 avec la présence du gène MRF4 qui code un autre facteur myogénique, et d'autres gènes éventuels, nous sommes en train de construire des mutations ciblées précises dans les gènes Myf5 et MRF4 pour éviter tout effet secondaire. Nous avons aussi introduit le gène rapporteur GFP dans un allèle de Myf5 qui nous permet de suivre les mouvements de cellules précurseurs du muscle in vivo. D'autres manipulations génétiques incluent l'introduction de la séquence codante pour MyoD à la place de Myf5 dans le but de comparer la fonction de ces deux facteurs de détermination myogénique, indépendemment des différences dans leur expression, chez l'embryon et chez l'adulte.

Le gène Pax3 est également régulé par les séquences complexes qui ciblent l'expression dans les précurseurs musculaires et dans d'autres types cellulaires chez l'embryon. L'introduction des gènes rapporteurs nlacZ et alkaline phosphatase dans Pax3, nous a permis de suivre les cellules qui l'expriment chez les souris normales et mutantes. Nous constatons une expression inattendue dans les cellules du muscle adulte, ouvrant la possibilité que Pax3 comme son orthologue Pax7, joue un rôle clé dans la myogenèse chez l'adulte aussi bien que chez l'embryon.

Dans la cascade de régulation qui va de Pax3 à MyoD et l'activation de la myogenèse, plusieurs autres facteurs de transcription et co-facteurs ont émergé récemment comme intervenants potentiels, tels les membres de la famille d'homéoprotéines Six. Nous avons ciblé un allèle de Pax3 avec une séquence encodant une forme dominante négative de Six (Six4) dans le but de mieux définir le rôle de ces facteurs en amont de la formation du muscle.

Les voies de signalisation qui contrôlent l'initiation de la myogenèse ont fait l'objet de nos recherches. Les séquences régulatrices du gène Myf5 sont étudiées dans ce contexte. Pour mieux comprendre l'éventuel rôle de la voie de signalisation Notch dans la spécification de cellules musculaires nous avons ciblé un allèle des gènes Pax3 et Myf5 avec une séquence codante pour une forme intracellulaire de Notch, constitutivement activée. Les perturbations, particulièrement évidentes dans le cas de l'allèle Pax3, dans les cellules musculaires et les dérivés de la crête neurale, sont à l'étude.


Cardiogenèse [Robert Kelly, Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Andrew Munk — collaborations avec les laboratoires de N. Brown et J.-F. Nicolas]

L'expression régionalisée de certains transgènes exprimés dans le muscle cardiaque aussi bien que dans le muscle du squelette, nous a fourni un outil très intéressant pour suivre différents sous-domaines du myocarde. Ainsi dans les explants du tube cardiaque précoce nous avons pu définir une fenêtre du temps pendant laquelle l'identité des oreillettes gauche/droite reste flexible tandis que le ventricule l'a déjà acquise. Le développement des vecteurs adénoviraux qui expriment différentes molécules de signalisation et facteurs, nous permet de manipuler l'acquisition de cette identité sur l'axe gauche/droite ainsi éventuellement que celle du ventricule sur l'axe antérieur/postérieur.

Dans la plupart des cas les séquences régulatrices des transgènes sont responsables pour la régionalisation de leur transcription dans le cœur. Nous tentons de définir ces séquences. A la suite de manipulations de cultures de cardiocytes préparées à partir de différentes régions du cœur, nous constatons que le patron d'expression du transgène devient figé assez tôt pendant le développement, probablement via la conformation chromatinienne et/ou modification d'ADN.

Une lignée transgénique, dont l'expression du transgène est par contre due au site d'intégration, a été très informative sur la contribution inattendue de cellules provenant du mésoderme antérieur au myocarde de la voie efférente du cœur. Ce phénomène est confirmé par le suivi de ces cellules, marquées par injection de DiI, dans les embryons en culture. Le site d'insertion du transgène est dans la proximité du gène Fgf10, dont l'expression suggère une implication dans ce processus. L'identification de l'enhanceur éventuel ciblé par le transgène et l'analyse de la formation de cette partie du cœur en l'absence de signalisation par Fgf sont en cours.

La question de l'origine des populations de cellules qui colonisent les différentes parties du cœur peut également être abordée par une analyse clonale rétrospective. Dans ce but nous avons ciblé le gène d'actine cardiaque avec un gène rapporteur nlaacZ, dont un événement de recombinaison rare rend le gène fonctionnel, nlacZ, avec marquage d'une cellule qui exprime l'allèle de l'actine cardiaque par la b-galactosidase. L'analyse des clones cardiaques ainsi visualisée chez l'embryon démontre déjà que le pool de cellules fondatrices est grand. La comparaison avec le muscle de squelette, également analysé avec ce transgène, montre des différences intéressantes.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Myriam TAISNE (Institut Pasteur)

Philippe DAUBAS (CNRS)

Robert KELLY (INSERM)

Marguerite LEMONNIER (INSERM)

Frédéric RELAIX (INSERM)

Shahragim TAJBAKHSH (Institut Pasteur)

Ted CHANG (postdoc)

Juliette HADCHOUEL (étudiante en thèse

Ralf SPÖRLE (postdoc)

Sigolène MEILHAC (étudiante en thèse)

Andrew MUNK (postdoc)

Catherine BODIN (IP)

Dominique MICHEL (IP)

Jacqueline PERREAU (CNRS)

Didier ROCANCOURT (IP)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.