Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gim


  Director : Alain Jacquier (jacquier@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our main domain of interest is the RNA metabolism (maturation, transport, degradation) using the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae as a model organism.
We exploit our own two-hybrid database focused on nuclear RNA metabolism. We validate and extend the interaction network using biochemical (purification of complexes) and genetic approaches in order to identify the function of novel proteins



  report

cale

The "Unité de Génétique des Interactions Macromoléculaires" studies various aspects of RNA metabolism in the yeast S. cerevisiae. We take advantage of our own two-hybrid database to identify new factors involved in these processes. We select in the database previously uncharacterized proteins, which are now embedded within a specific network of interactions. We first use different generic approaches to characterize these candidates. Then, more specific functional assays are used in order to more precisely define the function of these proteins.

Generic approaches

Example of a functional network issued from the two-hybrid database: involvement of Lsm proteins in mRNA degradation

The two-hybrid network built around the eight Lsm proteins revealed that they are closely linked between themselves, suggesting the existence of an Lsm complex. At this time, data from the literature suggested that two Lsm proteins were involved in splicing. Our results showed that the Lsm proteins were indeed connected to splicing factors specific for a given step of the spliceosome assembly pathway. More surprisingly, we also found that the Lsm proteins are also connected to the cytoplasmic mRNA degradation pathway by the way of the proteins Dcp1, Dcp2, Xrn1 and Mrt1 (Fromont-Racine et al. (2000) Yeast, 17, 95-110). This study suggested that Lsm complexes could be involved in two different pathways, one located in the nucleus, the other in the cytoplasm. This hypothesis has now been demonstrated by several independent studies.

- Biochemical purification of complexes

In order to biochemically confirm that the selected candidates indeed belonged to a given network of physical interactions, we use a double-affinity biochemical purification technique. The proteins from the purified complexes are identified by mass-spectrometry in collaboration with the "Plateau Technique Protéomique" at the Institut Pasteur (A. Namane).
At the present time, we have analyzed six biochemical complexes, from which more than 40 proteins were identified. The functional analysis of these complexes is ongoing. For example, we have characterized 12 novel proteins from the small mitochondrial ribosomal sub-unit (see below). Likewise, we now characterize new complexes involved in rRNA maturation (see below).

Synthetic-lethality genetic screens

Synthetic-lethality screens provide information of a functional nature. They are thus very complementary to the physical information provided by the two-hybrid methodology. The general principal of the approach is to look for mutation inducing a growth phenotype only when combined with another defined mutation. The characterization of a phenotype expressed only when both mutations are present simultaneously reveals functional redundancies that often mask the function of the genes. In order to simplify and standardize key steps of the procedure, we bring some modifications to the methodology. Proteins of unknown function, physically linked to the splicing pathway or to an mRNA degradation pathway are being analyzed.


Specific functional analyses

For some local networks defined within the two-hybrid database, the functional analysis is performed in the framework of specific collaborations. We describe below functional analyses directly performed in the laboratory.

Components of the small mitochondrial ribosomal sub-unit

The Ykl155c protein is linked by two-hybrid to a number of other proteins, including both splicing and transport factors, making it an attractive candidate for functional analyses. In fact, the Ykl155c associated complex turned out to correspond to the small mitochondrial ribosomal sub-unit. This let us to identify 12 new proteins of this ribosomal particle (Saveanu et al. (2001) J. Biol. Chem., 276, 15861-15867). We confirmed that these new factors were indeed located into the mitochondria and that they were required for its function. This work illustrates the limits of the two-hybrid approach since, in this case, the technique selected non-specific interactions. While this study gave rise to interesting results, it is not pursued by us because too far away from the general centers of interest of the laboratory.

Roles of a protein associated with the nucleopore complex

We selected the Yar002w protein for functional studies because it had multiple connections with proteins involved in transport, suggesting that it was itself implicated in the nucleo-cytoplasmic transport pathway. Part of the two-hybrid links was confirmed y the biochemical approach which identified the most stable interactions with this protein. This protein has since been identified as the nucleoporin Nup60 (Rout et al. J Cell Biol, 148, 635-651). Two-hybrid links, together with genetic links that we identified, suggest a role for this protein in RNA export. Yet, the results, as a whole, indicate that this protein must play a more pleiotropic function, at the crossing of different transport pathways, by interacting with proteins of the nucleoplasm. This work is performed in collaboration with the group of Ulf Nehrbass at the "Institut Pasteur".

Characterization of a nuclear pre-ribosomal complex

The protein Ynr053c, that we now call Nog2 (Nucleolar-G-Protein 2), is nuclear/nucleolar. It is the yeast homologue of the human Ngp-1 protein. The affinity purification of its associated complex revealed that it is associated to a nuclear pre-60S particle. In addition to ribosomal proteins, this complex contains two new factors, Nog1 and Rlp24. We have shown that Nog2 is essential for the last steps of the 60S ribosomal sub-unit biogenesis. Nog2, as Nog1, possess a potential GTP binding domain and could be involved in the coordination of large ribosomal sub-unit maturation steps and export.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Odile LABOUISE

Micheline FROMONT-RACINE , CNRS

Pierre LEGRAIN, CNRS

David BIENVENU, DEA

Gwenaël BREARD, PhD student

Caroline CLERTE, PhD student

Cosmin SAVEANU, PhD student

Laurence DECOURTY, technician

Florence RICARD, bioinformatician


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gim


  Responsable : Alain Jacquier (jacquier@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions divers aspects du métabolisme des ARN chez la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae (maturation, transport, dégradation).
Pour cela, nous exploitons une banque d'interactions double hybride développée les années précédentes dans le laboratoire.
Nous validons et étendons le réseau d'interactions par des approches biochimiques (purification de complexes) et génétiques (cribles de co-létalité par exemple) afin d'identifier la fonction de nouvelles protéines.



  rapport

cale

L'unité de Génétique des Interactions Macromoléculaires étudie divers aspects du métabolisme des ARN chez la levure S. cerevisiae. Nous exploitons une banque d'interactions double hybride du laboratoire pour identifier la fonction de nouveaux facteurs impliqués dans ces processus. Nous sélectionnons, dans cette banque d'interactions, des candidats de fonction inconnue connectés de manière multiple et néanmoins spécifique à une voie métabolique donnée. Dans un premier temps, différentes approches génériques sont appliquées à ces candidats. Dans un deuxième temps, des tests fonctionnels plus spécifiques sont utilisés pour affiner la caractérisation de ces nouvelles protéines.


Approches génériques

Exemple de réseau fonctionnel issu de la base de données double hybride : implication des protéines Lsm dans la dégradation des ARN messagers

Le réseau d'interaction double-hybride construit autour des huit protéines Lsm révèle qu'elles sont étroitement liées entre elles suggérant l'existence d'un complexe Lsm. Des données de la littérature laissaient supposer que les deux protéines Lsm connues à ce moment-là pouvaient être liées à l'épissage. Nos résultats ont montré qu'effectivement les protéines Lsm étaient connectées à des facteurs d'épissage spécifiques d'une étape donnée de la formation du spliceosome. De façon surprenante mais non ambiguë, nous observons que les Lsm sont également connectées à la voie de dégradation cytoplasmique des ARNm par l'intermédiaire des protéines Dcp1, Dcp2, Xrn1 et Mrt1 (Fromont-Racine et al. (2000) Yeast, 17, 95-110). Cette étude suggérait que des complexes Lsm pouvaient être impliqués dans deux voies métaboliques différentes : l'une nucléaire, l'autre cytoplasmique. Cette hypothèse a maintenant été démontrée dans des études indépendantes.

Purification de complexes biochimiques

Afin de valider biochimiquement l'appartenance des candidats sélectionnés à un réseau d'interactions physiques donné, nous utilisons une technique de purification biochimique des complexes par double affinité. Les protéines de ces complexes sont identifiées par spectrométrie de masse en collaboration avec le "Plateau Technique Protéomique" de l'Institut Pasteur (A. Namane).
Nous avons ainsi déjà analysé six complexes biochimiques, à partir desquels plus de 40 protéines ont été identifiées. L'analyse fonctionnelle de ces différents complexes est en cours. Par exemple, nous avons pu caractériser 12 nouvelles protéines de la petite sous unité ribosomale mitochondriale (voir plus loin). De même, nous caractérisons actuellement de nouveaux complexes impliqués dans la maturation des ARN ribosomaux 5,8S et 25S (voir plus loin).

Cribles génétiques de co-létalité

Les cribles de co-létalité fournissent des informations de nature fonctionnelle et donc très complémentaires des informations de nature physique fournies par la méthodologie du double hybride. Le principe général de cette approche est de rechercher des mutations qui vont induire un phénotype de croissance uniquement dans une souche mutée pour un autre gène. La mise en évidence d'un phénotype ne s'exprimant que quand les deux mutations sont présentes simultanément permet de révéler les redondances fonctionnelles très nombreuses qui masquent souvent la fonction des gènes étudiés. Afin de simplifier et de standardiser plusieurs étapes clés de la méthodologie, nous apportons un certain nombre de modifications à la technique. Des protéines de fonction inconnue physiquement reliées à la voie d'épissage ou à une voie de dégradation des ARN sont en cours d'analyse.


Analyses fonctionnelles spécifiques

Pour un certain nombre de sous-réseaux sélectionnés dans la base de données double hybride, l'analyse fonctionnelle se fait dans le cadre de collaborations spécifiques. Nous ne développons ci-dessous que les analyses fonctionnelles directement poursuivies dans le laboratoire.

Composants de la petite sous-unité ribosomale mithochondriale

La protéine Ykl155c est reliée en double hybride à de nombreuses protéines, ce qui pourrait faire supposer que ces interactions sont non spécifiques. Toutefois, sa connexion à la fois à des facteurs d'épissage et à des facteurs de transport faisait d'elle un candidat attrayant. En fait, le complexe associé à Ykl155c s'est révélé correspondre à la petite sous-unité ribosomale mitochondriale. Ceci nous a conduit à identifier 12 nouvelles protéines de cette sous-unité ribosomale (Saveanu et al. (2001) J. Biol. Chem., 276, 15861-15867). Nous avons vérifié que ces nouveaux facteurs étaient effectivement localisés dans la mitochondrie et qu'ils étaient nécessaires à la fonction de celle-ci. Ce travail montre les limites du double hybride. Nous avons en effet sélectionné ici des interactions artéfactuelles. Ce sujet, bien que mené avec succès, n'est pas poursuivi car il est trop éloigné de la thématique générale du laboratoire.

Rôle d'une protéine intranucléaire du nucléopore

La protéine Yar002w a été choisie car elle est connectée de manière multiple à des protéines impliquées dans le transport, laissant supposer son implication dans le transport nucléo-cytoplasmique. Une partie des liens double hybride a été confirmée par l'approche biochimique en identifiant les facteurs associés de manière stable à cette protéine. Cette protéine a depuis été identifiée comme la nucléoporine Nup60 (Rout et al. J Cell Biol, 148, 635-651). Des liens double hybride, ainsi que des liens génétiques que nous avons identifiés, suggèrent un rôle de cette protéine dans l'export des ARN. Cependant, l'ensemble des résultats indique que cette protéine a une fonction plus pléïotropique, à un carrefour des voies de transport, en interagissant avec des protéines du nucléoplasme. Ce travail fait l'objet d'une collaboration avec le groupe de Ulf Nehrbass à l'Institut Pasteur.

Caractérisation d'un complexe nucléaire pré-ribosomique

La protéine Ynr053c, que nous avons appellée Nog2 (Nucleolar-G-Protein 2), est nucléaire/nucléolaire. Elle est l'homologue chez la levure de la protéine humaine Ngp-1. La purification biochimique par affinité du complexe qui lui est associé a révélé qu'elle est associée à une sous-unité pré-60S nucléaire. Ce complexe est par ailleurs constitué, en plus d'un sous-ensemble de protéines ribosomales, de deux nouveaux facteurs, Nog1 et Rlp24. Nous avons montré que Nog2 est essentielle pour les dernières étapes de la biogénèse de la grande sous-unité ribosomique 60S. Nog2 et Nog1 possèdent un domaine potentiel de fixation du GTP et pourraient être impliquées dans la coordination des étapes de maturation et d'export de la grand sous-unité ribosomale.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Odile LABOUISE

Micheline FROMONT-RACINE , CNRS CR1

Pierre LEGRAIN, CNRS DR2

David BIENVENU, DEA

Gwenaël BREARD, 2ème année de thèse

Caroline CLERTE, dernière année de thèse

Cosmin SAVEANU, thèse de doctorat en juin 2001

Laurence DECOURTY, technicienne supérieure de laboratoire

Florence RICARD, bioinformaticien


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.