Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gebi


  Director : Popoff Michel Yvan (mypof@pasteur.fr )


  abstract

 

Salmonella are bacteria which cause severe infection in man and animals. The crucial step in the infection is the entry of bacteria into ileal epithelial cells. This phenotype is governed by a set of genes, expression of which is controlled by regulatory systems in response to environmental conditions. Research is centered on the characterization of these regulatory systems in order to prevent salmonellosis. The role of the RpoS regulon, the set of genes whose expression is controlled by the sigma factor RpoS, in the virulence of Salmonella and in the adaptation of these bacteria to stress conditions is also studied. These studies are aimed at identifying the mechanisms by which Salmonella survive in the environment, including their hosts, to define adapted strategies for prevention.



  report

cale

Salmonella are enteric bacteria which cause severe infections in man and animals. Our research is aimed at defining adapted and new strategies to prevent salmonellosis. For this purpose, studies are focused on (i) the regulatory systems governing Salmonella entry into epithelial cells; and (ii) the mechanisms by which Salmonella survive in the environment, including their hosts.

Prevention of Salmonella infections (Michel Y. Popoff)

The crucial step in the pathogenesis of Salmonella is their ability to penetrate ileal epithelial cells. Most of the genes involved in this infectious process are clustered at centisome 63 of the Salmonella chromosome, which has been referred to as Salmonella pathogenicity island 1 (SPI 1). These genes encode components of a type III secretion system and bacterial virulence factors that are translocated by the secretion system into the cytosol of epithelial cells. The ability of Salmonella to enter into host cells is subject to very complex regulation. The regulatory mechanisms involve SPI 1-encoded regulatory proteins as well as established global regulation pathways. By using transcriptional fusions with SPI 1 genes, we identified two families of compounds (fatty acids and aromatic acids) preventing in vitro expression of invasion genes, although growth conditions were optimal for their expression. These compounds are devoid of bactericidal or bacteriostatic activity on Salmonella. The sodium caprylate, a short-chain fatty acid recognized as safe substance for humans and used as food additive, drastically reduces the number of bacteria in spleen of C57Bl/6 mice orally infected subsequently by S. typhimurium, S. enteridis or S. dublin. In addition, this compound protects C57Bl/6 mice against subsequent challenge with 25 LD50 of S. typhimurium. Used as chemical additive in foods or drinking water, this product might reduce the incidence of salmonellosis in animals, thereby reducing further human contaminations. It appears as a promising alternative to the widespread use of antibiotics in foods for animals. Use of Na-caprylate to prevent salmonellosis has been patented by the Institut Pasteur. Mechanisms by which Na-caprylate prevents expression of invasion genes in Salmonella are under studies.

Functional analysis of the RpoS regulon in Enterobacteriaceae : role in general stress resistance, starvation survival, and virulence of Salmonella (Françoise Norel)

The alternative sigma factor RpoS plays a central role in stationary phase survival and adaptation of Enterobacteriaceae to stress conditions. Most work on the RpoS regulon has been in Escherichia coli K-12 and more than 50 genes regulated by RpoS have been identified so far. Interestingly, RpoS is essential for virulence and persistance in mice of the closely related enteric pathogen Salmonella. To perform a functional analysis of the RpoS regulon in Salmonella, we isolated RpoS-activated lacZ gene fusions from a bank of S. typhimurium mutants. Two thirds of the fusions mapped in orthologs of genes in E. coli K-12, most of which are ORFs of unidentified function. These ORFs might contribue to adaptation of Enterobacteriaceae to growth conditions in natural environments. One-third of the fusions mapped to Salmonella DNA regions not present in E. coli K-12. Further characterization of two of these led to the identification of katN, a gene encoding a non-haem catalase not previously described in Salmonella. katN is not widespread in Enterobacteriaceae but orthologs of katN are found in enterohemorrhagic E. coli O157, Klebsiella pneumoniae and Pseudomonas aeruginosa.
The WHO collaborating centre for reference and research on Salmonella (Michel Y. Popoff)
The WHO collaborating centre for Salmonella is located in the unit. This WHO Collaborating Centre only studies strains sent by the National Reference Centre for Salmonella. This year, the centre has characterized 92 strains, described 26 new serotypes and 1 new antigenic factor, and sent 238 reference strains to National reference centres for Salmonella..



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Ondet Maxence (IP; mondet@pasteur.fr)

Norel Françoise (IP; spvfn@pasteur.fr)

Popoff Michel Y. (IP; mypof@pasteur.fr)

Figueroa-Bossi N. (Chargée de recherche, CNRS);

Ibanez-Ruiz M. (Chercheur, Espagne);

Rigoulay C. (DEA, Paris 6);

Rouilhac I (DESS, Montpellier);

Tedin K. (Post-doc, USA);

Valade E. (Dr. en médecine, CRSSA).

Asselot N. (Agent de laboratoire),

Dufresnoy H. (Aide de laboratoire),

Fayolle C. (Technicienne qualifiée),

Guibourdenche M. (Ingénieur),

Hermant D. (Technicien supérieur),

Nothias C. (Aide de laboratoire),

Pouradier N. (Agent de laboratoire),

Robbe-Saule V. (Technicienne supérieure),

Zénon R. (Responsable de préparation).


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gebi


  Responsable : Popoff Michel Yvan (mypof@pasteur.fr )


  resume

 

Les Salmonella sont des bactéries responsables d'infections sévères chez l'homme et l'animal. La première étape de l'infection est l'entrée des bactéries dans les cellules épithéliales iléales. Ce phénotype est gouverné par des gènes dont l'expression est régulée en fonction des conditions environnementales. Le but des recherches est de caractériser ces systèmes de régulation en vue de prévenir les salmonelloses. Le rôle du régulon RpoS, ensemble de gènes dont l'expression est contrôlée par le facteur sigma RpoS, dans la virulence des Salmonella et leur capacité à résister au stress est également étudié. L'objectif est d'identifier des mécanismes contribuant à la persistance des salmonelles dans l'environnement inerte ou biologique, afin d'élaborer des stratégies de prévention adaptées.



  rapport

cale

Le but des recherches de l'unité de Génétique des bactéries intracellulaires est d'élaborer des stratégies raisonnées pour prévenir les infections par Salmonella. Ces recherches sont centrées sur: (i) l'étude de l'entrée des salmonelles dans les cellules épithéliales intestinales, qui est l'étape cruciale dans le déclenchement d'une salmonellose; et (ii) la caractérisation des mécanismes contribuant à la persistance des salmonelles dans l'environnement inerte ou biologique, ce qui devrait conduire à définir de nouvelles cibles pour des agents antibactériens.

Prévention des infections à Salmonella (Michel Y. Popoff)
Les gènes requis pour l'entrée (gènes d'invasion) des Salmonella dans les cellules épithéliales intestinales sont regroupés sur l'îlot de pathogénicité SPI-1 au centisome 63 sur le chromosome. L'expression de ces gènes d'invasion est très finement contrôlée par des régulateurs agissant en cascade en fonction des conditions environnementales. Toutes ces conditions doivent être simultanément optimales pour que les Salmonella expriment pleinement leur capacité invasive. En étudiant l'expression de fusions transcriptionnelles, nous avons identifié deux familles de composés chimiques (acides gras et acides aromatiques) qui inhibent in vitro l'expression des gènes d'invasion de Salmonella, alors que par ailleurs les conditions de culture sont optimales pour l'expression de ces gènes. Le caprylate de sodium, un acide gras utilisé comme arôme en industrie alimentaire, réduit de manière très significative la charge bactérienne dans la rate de souris C57Bl/6 oralement infectées par S. typhimurium, S. enteritidis et S. dublin. De plus, le caprylate protège très efficacement les animaux contre une infection par 25 DL50 de S. typhimurium. Il a été déposé une demande de brevet pour protéger ces résultats. En effet, les perspectives offertes par l'utilisation du caprylate comme additif dans l'eau de boisson et les aliments composés pour les animaux d'élevage, en particulier les volailles, sont prometteuses. Les mécanismes par lesquels le caprylate module l'expression des gènes d'invasion sont recherchés.

Analyse fonctionnelle du régulon RpoS chez les Entérobactéries : Role dans la résistance généralisée au stress, la survie et la virulence de Salmonella (Françoise Norel)
Chez les Entérobactéries, le gène rpoS code pour un facteur sigma, qui est un régulateur clé pour la survie bactérienne et la résistance généralisée au stress. De nombreuses études chez Escherichia coli K-12 ont identifié plus de 50 gènes dont l'expression est contrôlée par RpoS. Par ailleurs, RpoS joue un rôle majeur dans la virulence et la persistance de Salmonella chez la souris. L'existence d'un modèle animal et la proximité phylogénétique avec E. coli font de Salmonella une bactérie pathogène modèle pour l'étude du rôle du régulon RpoS dans la survie bactérienne chez un hôte infecté. Afin d'initier une analyse fonctionnelle du régulon RpoS chez Salmonella, nous avons isolé des mutants de S. typhimurium contenant des fusions de gènes activées par RpoS dont la caractérisation est en cours. Nos résultats suggèrent qu'une partie importante du régulon RpoS est constituée d'ORFs de fonction inconnue, conservées chez Salmonella et E. coli. Ces ORFs pourraient participer à l'adaptation des Entérobactéries dans des conditions environnementales de croissance sub-optimales (carences, stress), proches de celles des habitats naturels. Environ un tiers des membres du régulon RpoS de Salmonella serait absent chez E. coli K-12. La caractérisation de ces gènes pourrait révéler de nouvelles fonctions du régulon RpoS dans le pouvoir pathogène de Salmonella. Parmi eux, nous avons identifié un gène codant pour une catalase (KatN) qui, contrairement aux deux catalases connues de Salmonella et E. coli, ne contient pas de groupement hème et fonctionne probablement avec du manganèse. katN n'est pas présent chez E. coli K-12, Shigella, Yersinia et de nombreuses autres Entérobactéries, mais des orthologues de katN sont trouvés chez E. coli entérohemorrhagic O157, Klebsiella pneumoniae et Pseudomonas aeruginosa.

Le Centre Collaborateur OMS de référence et de recherche pour les Salmonella (Michel Y. Popoff)
Le Centre Collaborateur OMS de référence et recherche pour les Salmonella est localisé dans l'unité. Ce centre joue, au niveau international, un rôle indispensable en tant que correspondant des Centres Nationaux de Référence des pays membres de l'OMS pour la caractérisation et la description des nouveaux sérotypes de Salmonella. Cette année, le centre a caractérisé 92 souches, décrit 26 nouveaux sérotypes et 1 nouveau facteur antigénique, et envoyé 238 souches de référence à des Centres nationaux de référence pour les Salmonella.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Ondet Maxence (IP; mondet@pasteur.fr)

Norel Françoise (IP; spvfn@pasteur.fr)

Popoff Michel Y. (IP; mypof@pasteur.fr)

Figueroa-Bossi N. (Chargée de recherche, CNRS);

Ibanez-Ruiz M. (Chercheur, Espagne);

Rigoulay C. (DEA, Paris 6);

Rouilhac I (DESS, Montpellier);

Tedin K. (Post-doc, USA);

Valade E. (Dr. en médecine, CRSSA).

Asselot N. (Agent de laboratoire),

Dufresnoy H. (Aide de laboratoire),

Fayolle C. (Technicienne qualifiée),

Guibourdenche M. (Ingénieur),

Hermant D. (Technicien supérieur),

Nothias C. (Aide de laboratoire),

Pouradier N. (Agent de laboratoire),

Robbe-Saule V. (Technicienne supérieure),

Zénon R. (Responsable de préparation).


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.