Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Epivironc


  Director : Antoine Gessain (agessain@pasteur.)


  abstract

 

Our group works on the human oncogenic retroviruses HTLV-1/HTLV-2, on the human herpes virus HHV8 and on their simian related counterparts. During the year 2000, we have continued ongoing projects and developed new studies both on the clinical, analytical and molecular epidemiology of these viruses and on the physiopathology of the tumoral and neurological associated diseases.



  report

cale

Our group which was part of the Unit of Viral Oncology last year (2000) and which has been created as the new Unit of Epidemiology and Physiopathology of Oncogenic Viruses in 2001 has developed several projects in the following topics.


  1. Epidemiology of the Human Herpes Virus 8 (HHV8) and of the Human T Cell Leukemia Virus type 1 (HTLV-1) in endemic areas of French Guyana. We have demonstrated in a population based-study that HHV8 was mainly transmitted from mother to child and between siblings. The heterosexual transmission within couples seems very low. This was the first study regarding the intra-familial modes of transmission of this oncogenic virus in an endemic area. Such project on HHV8 is still ongoing in other highly endemic areas, especially in Cameroon, Central Africa. Other epidemiological studies regarding HTLV-1 and associated diseases are also in progress.


  2. Molecular epidemiology and genetic variability of HTLV-1/2 and related simian retroviruses (STLV-1/2). We have partially sequenced more than 30 new STLV-1 strains originating from Africa and South East Asia. Furthermore, the complete sequence (more than 9000 bp) of a novel, highly divergent, STLV has been obtained. Lastly a large epidemiological study on HTLV-2 infection is ongoing both on a clinical and molecular level in various ethnic populations of a rain forest area of South Cameroun.


  3. We have started a project in order to define the mechanism of resistance to apoptosis of the HTLV-1 infected cells as well as the mechanisms of action both in vivo and in vitro of some drugs used for the treatment of the HTLV-1 associated Adult T Cell Leukemia.


  4. Studies on the neuro-pathogenesis of HTLV-1 have also been performed. This includes mainly viro-molecular studies of the central nervous system and of muscular lesions in patients suffering of TSP/HAM (the neurological disease associated to HTLV-1) as well as studies on the in vitro passage of the blood brain barrier by HTLV-1.


  5. Genetic variability of HHV8 and related simian viruses. A study of 80 new HHV8 strains from patients suffering of Kaposi's sarcoma, primary effusion lymphoma or Castleman's disease and originating mainly from Africa has revealed the presence of several molecular variants and of two principal subtypes that are endemic in this continent. These works as well as those performed on HTLV-1/2 and STLV1/2 have permitted to gain new insights regarding the origin, evolution and modes of dissemination of these viruses and also often their primate hosts. Lastly, we have recently discovered and partially characterised several novel HHV8 related viruses in great apes and other monkeys from Central Africa.


  6. In vivo clonality of HHV8 associated diseases. Our preliminary results indicate for the first time the clonal origin (viral and cellular) of some of the tumour lesions of Kaposi's sarcoma strenghtening thus the potential oncogenic properties of HHV8 in vivo.


For most of these studies, the collaboration with numerous colleagues and friends of the Network of the Institut Pasteur and Instituts associés (especially Cameroon, Central African Republic and French Guyana) has been crucial.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
   

Antoine Gessain

Simona Ozden

Mirdad Kazanji

Renaud Mahieux

Vincent Lacoste

Laurent Meertens

Christelle Royer

Patricia Tortevoye, Ingénieur IP

Monique van Beveren, Assistant Ingénieur CNRS


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Epivironc


  Responsable : Antoine Gessain (agessain@pasteur.)


  resume

 

Notre groupe travaille sur les rétrovirus oncogènes humains HTLV-1/HTLV-2, sur l'herpès virus HHV8 mais aussi sur les virus simiens apparentés. Durant l'année 2000, nous avons continué des travaux en cours et développé de nouveaux projets d'une part dans le domaine de l'épidémiologie aussi bien clinique, analytique que moléculaire de ces virus, et d'autre part au niveau de la phsyiopathologie des maladies associées tumorales ou neurologiques.



  rapport

cale

Notre groupe qui faisait partie durant l'année 2000 de l'Unité d'Oncologie Virale, et qui constitue depuis début 2001 la nouvelle Unité d'Epidémiologie et Physiopathologie des Virus Oncogènes a continué et développé ses travaux dans les domaines suivants :


  1. Epidémiologie de l'infection par le virus herpès humain 8 et HTLV-1 dans les zones de fortes endémies en Guyane française. Nous avons démontré que l'HHV8 se transmettait de la mère à l'enfant, puis entre enfants dans une population endémique. La transmission entre couples hétérosexuels semble très faible dans ces zones. Il s'agit de la première démonstration des modes de transmission de ce virus en zone endémique. Ce travail se poursuit en Afrique Centrale. Par ailleurs, nous continuons des travaux d'épidémiologie clinique, et analytique des infections par le virus HTLV-1 et les maladies associées.


  2. Epidémiologie moléculaire des virus de type HTLV-1/2 et des virus simiens STLV. Nous avons séquencé partiellement plus de 30 nouvelles souches de STLV-I, originaires d'Afrique ou d'Asie du Sud-Est. De plus, la séquence complète (près de 9000 bp) d'un nouveau virus de type PTLV-L particulièrement divergent a été réalisée. Enfin, une vaste étude d'épidémiologie clinique et moléculaire HTLV-2 a été réalisée dans différentes populations (en particulier des Pygmées) vivant en zones forestières au Cameroun.


  3. Enfin, nous avons développé des travaux visant à mieux comprendre la résistance à l'apoptose des cellules infectées par l'HTLV-1 et les mécanismes d'action in vivo et in vitro de certaines drogues telles l'arsenic et l'interféron a utilisées dans le traitement des leucémies T de l'adulte.

  4. Des travaux concernant la neuro-pathogènèse de l'HTLV-1 ont aussi été réalisés : étude immuno-virologique des lésions de patients ayant des TSP/HAM et étude in vitro du passage de la barrière hémato-encéphalique par l'HTLV-1.


  5. Variabilité génétique du virus HHV8 et des virus simiens apparentés. Une étude de 80 nouvelles souches d'HHV8 provenant de patients d'origine africaine et ayant soit un sarcome de Kaposi (SK), soit un lymphome des cavités (PEL), soit une maladie de Castleman multicentrique (MCD), a montré l'existence de nouveaux variants d'HHV8 et de 2 sous-types en Afrique. Ces travaux ont permis de soulever de nouvelles hypothèses concernant l'origine, l'évolution et les voies de dissémination de ce virus. Enfin, nous avons découvert et caractérisé de nouveaux virus apparentés à l'HHV8 chez les singes d'Afrique et en particulier les gorilles et chimpanzés. Ces nouveaux virus sont les virus simiens les plus proches de l'HHV8 actuellement connus.


  6. Clonalité in vivo de l'HHV8 dans les différentes tumeurs associées (SK, PEL, MCD). Nos résultats préliminaires constituent la première démonstration indiscutable de la clonalité cellulaire de certaines lésions de Sarcome de Kaposi. Ils renforcent l'hypothèse d'un rôle transformant direct du virus latent dans la pathogenèse de ces tumeurs.



Pour la plupart de ces travaux, les collaborations avec de nombreux collègues et amis du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés (en particulier Guyane, Cameroun et RCA) ont été absolument cruciales.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
   

Antoine Gessain, Chef de laboratoire IP, Chef d’Unité.

Simona Ozden, Chef de laboratoire IP.

Mirdad Kazanji, Assistant de Recherche IP.

Renaud Mahieux, Chargé de Recherches INSERM.

Vincent Lacoste

Laurent Meertens

Christelle Royer

Patricia Tortevoye, Ingénieur IP

Monique van Beveren, Assistant Ingénieur CNRS


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.