Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Enbac


  Director : GRIMONT Patrick (pgrimont@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit includes research laboratories, two National Reference Centers, and three industry-oriented laboratories. All modern aspects of bacterial taxonomy are considered with the purposes of providing a molecular and physiological definition of bacterial species and designing new typing tools for epidemiological studies. Although the Unit was historically concerned with the Enterobacteriaceae, our methods have been applied to other bacterial groups including emerging pathogens.



  report

cale

Molecular taxonomy of bacteria (Patrick Grimont, Elisabeth Ageron, with many collaborations)

Most molecular methods are universally applicable. Comparison of rrs gene (encoding 16S rRNA) sequences allows to position a new isolate in the phylogenetic tree. However, DNA-DNA hybridization remains the essential tool for bacterial species delineation. Other gene sequences (gyrB, rpoB) are studied with the aim to reach a taxonomic resolution similar to that of DNA-DNA hybridization. Once new species have been carefully delineated, discriminant phenotypic traits (Biotype-100 strips) or specific signatures in rrs or other genes are searched for. New species have been described and several potentially new species are being studied.


Infraspecific diversity (Francine Grimont)

Traditional typing tools are generally limited to a single bacterial species whereas molecular methods are more widely applicable. Molecular typing system, based on the best methods such as tibotyping (initiated in our Unit in 1986) have been developped. Computer identification of patterns has been set up thanks to a home-made software (Taxotron). Databases for automatic ribotype identification have been built for Escherichia coli (correlated with serotype), Shigella, Salmonella enterica serotype Typhi (may replace phage typing), Legionella (identification of all species), Pseudomonas, vibrios and coryneforms. PCR systems for the identification of E. coli pathotypes have also been designed.


A step forward: molecular serotyping (Francine Grimont, Patrick Grimont, PhD work of Roney S. Coimbra and Jorge Machado).

Amplification and restriction of the gene coding for flagelline in Escherichia coli allowed to recognize almost all flagellar types. A cryptic flagellar gene has been studied in Shigella. It reflects the clonal history of this bacterial group. Somatic O antigens of Enterobacteriaceae result from the action of several enzymes. The genes encoding most of these enzymes are clustered in chromosomal region rfb. This region has been amplified and restricted for many E. coli serotypes and all Shigella serotypes. A database of restriction fragment sizes allows computer identification of E. coli and Shigella O serogroups. It is the first time that a molecular typing system can replace a complex serotyping system with almost the same results. This approach allowed us to discover a new Shigella serotype.


Bacterial immuno-taxonomy (Philippe Bouvet)

Bacteriological immuno-diagnosis (preparation of sera for serotyping or antigens for serological tests) often uses whole bacterial cells. As a consequence, many cross reactions occur. We work with purified antigens and most recent immunological techniques . These are applied to identification and serological tests. A serological test for the detection of antibodies against the 25 E. coli O serogroups most often associated with shiga-toxin production, has been designed. Furthermore, a serum specifically agglutinating nonidentified strains of Shigella was prepared.

Metabolic biodiversity of bacteria (Odile Bouvet)

Metabolic abilities of bacteria associated with poly-beta-hydroxyalcanoate synthesis are studied (Stephane Diard's thesis). Physiological behavior (energetic and oxidative state, nutriment transport, intracellular pools, and activity of major metabolic pathways) of species subjected to different stress conditions is studied with the aim to better define the frontier between bacterial life and death (Andrea Villarino's thesis). For such project, we develop new methodologies which provide a global approach (e.g. application of nuclear magnetic resonnance).


Aquabiolab (Béatrice Regnault, Patrick Grimont)

This laboratory, supported by Vivendi Water, designs molecular methods for the bacteriological control of water. Fluorescent oligonucleotide probes are designed from 16S rRNA sequences to visualize - by Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization (FISH) - bacterial cells carrying target sequences in their ribosomes. Revivification of bacterial cells in the presence of ciprofloxacine allows to distinguish living bacteria (which elongate) from dead bacteria (unreactive). A project exploring the frontier between bacterial life and death has been initiated (Andrea Villarino's thesis). Aquabiolab research and developpment dealing with the detection and enumeration of Escherichia coli cells in water, foods, or infected urine, has been published. Some of the fluorescent probes designed by Aquabiolab are used by the Center for Molecular Identification of Bacteria.


National Reference Center for Salmonella and Shigella (Philippe Bouvet and Patrick Grimont)

The NRCSS contributes to the surveillance of salmonellosis in France by performing complete serotyping (with 164 sera) on more than 10,000 clinical isolates of Salmonella and about 1000 isolates of Shigella each year. Strains are addressed to the NRCSS (with essential epidemiological information) on a voluntary basis by about 1600 public or private clinical laboratories. The NRCSS collects also information on strains which were serotyped locally (5000 per year). A house-made computer system for surveillance and alert of clinical salmonellosis and shigellosis, allows to document spatial and temporal tendencies of 80 major Salmonella or Shigella serotypes and to quickly detect any significant increase in number of cases at national, regional, or department level. Data reports are sent on a weekly basis to Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS). Soon as a significant increase has been detected, an alert message is sent by fax. In 2000, 7 local or regional peaks have been detected. Information has been sent to health authorities about 499 case clusters mentioned by collaborating laboratories. Among the 47 Salmonella serotypes responsible for 460 case clusters, serotypes Enteritidis and Typhimurium accounted for 79%. The NRCSS has set up surveillance of antimicrobial resistance among Salmonella strains. A total of 1000 strains, randomly selected among 15 major serotypes, are studied each year. NRCSS participates in the Enter-Net European network.


National Reference Center for Enteric Molecular Typing (Francine Grimont, Patrick Grimont)

The NRCEMT performs ribotyping on all sorts of bacteria at the request of hospitals and health authorities. A RiboPrinter was acquired which allows us to ribotype all strains of Salmonella enterica serotype Typhi, and strains involved in nosocomial infections. E. coli pathogenicity genes are detected. The NRCEMT also does phage typing for Salmonella serotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Paratyphi A, Paratyphi B, Enteritidis, and Dublin, and serotyping of Serratia strains. The NRCEMT has studied 1550 strains by ribotyping and/or phage typing, 238 strains or specimens by PCR (detection of pathogenicity genes), and studied new Shigella atypical strains. The NRCEMT participates in the European network Enter-Net to the surveillance of infections caused by Salmonella enterica serotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Enteritidis, and Paratyphi B, and that due to enterohaemorrhagic Escherichia coli.


National Reference Center for Corynebacterium diphtheriae (Patrick Grimont, Yolande Arnoux)

The NRCCD confirms identification of Corynebacterium diphtheriae and C. ulcerans strains isolated in France, determines the presence of diphtheria toxin genes by PCR, and performs molecular typing on these strains. In association with the Center for Molecular Identification of Bacteria, the NRCCD identifies all coryneform species.

In association with the NRCEMT (F. Grimont) and in the framework of the WHO-Europe network ELWGD (European Laboratory Working Group on Diphtheria) and two European contracts, BIOMED and INCO-Copernicus, a database of C. diphtheriae ribotypes has been built after studying 576 strains isolated in many contries including the former USSR.These strains are distributed among 86 ribotypes. The Taxotron software has been chosen for the computer identification of ribotypes. P.A.D. Grimont is the coordinator of the international C. diphtheriae ribotype database and an international nomenclature is being validated for these tibotypes.


Center for Molecular Identification of Bacteria (Anne Le Flèche, Patrick Grimont)

The CMIB was created in 2000 to identify all sorts of bacteria by molecular methods (sequencing of rrs and other genes, automated ribotyping, PCR). Within a few months, the CMIB has characterized several emerging pathogens. Strains are received from clinical, veterinary, environmental, or industrial laboratories. Strains (other than industrial strains) which do not fit any described species are included in our current taxonomic research..


Taxolab (Patrick Grimont, Martine Lefèvre, Corinne Ruckly)

This laboratory characterizes industrial strains by molecular methods (double strand sequencing of 16S rRNA, quantitative DNA-DNA hybridization, full ribotyping with 10 restriction endonucleases, detection of virulence genes, determination of plasmid copy number, detection and characterization of bacteriophages), writes bibliographical reviews, offers technical counceiling, and accepts all contract work when fitting with our domain of expertise. A new program, supported by Procter & Gamble, studies the spread of marker bacilli through an experimental kitchen with the purpose of evaluating disinfection strategies. Lessons that will be learnt from this work should help prevent foodborne infections.


Taxolab software (Patrick Grimont)

Version 2000 of the Taxotron software package (for Macintosh) includes programs Recognizer (bacterial identification using Biotype-100 from BioMerieux), RestrictoScan (captures restriction fragment migration values from a gel image), RestrictoTyper (fragment size interpolation, fragment size database building, automated identification of restriction patterns), Adanson (numerical taxonomy), Dendrograf (trees and dendrogramms), Antibiotyper (entry of quantitative values, Euclidian distance), and FactorAna (factorial analyses). Improvements involved mathematical filtering of images, speedy calculations by optimisation for PowerMacintosh, and automated restriction pattern identification taking error into account.


Photo:

Detection by fluorescence in situ hybridization of Escherichia coli in infected urine.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

SYLVAIN Chantal

LEBRI Zoulika

BOUVET Odile, INSERM

BOUVET Philippe, IP

DAUGA Catherine, IP (jusqu’au 31-12-2000)

GRIMONT Francine, INSERM

GRIMONT Patrick, IP

ASLANI Mohammed

COIMBRA Roney Santos, thèse

CONIGLIO Maria Anna

DIARD Stéphane, thèse

LAILLER Renaud

LEFRESNE Gwenola, thèse

NASSIF Nadine, thèse

POURSHAFIE Mohammed

SCHLEGEL Laurent, thèse

VILLARINO Andrea, thèse

ABIHSSIRA Marie-Valérie
AGERON-ARDILA Elisabeth, INSERM
ARNOUX Yolande, IP
CARLE Isabelle, IP
DONNADIEU Françoise, IP
GUESNIER Françoise, IP
GUIBERT Véronique, IP
ISSENHUTH-JEANJEAN Sylvie, IP
JANVIER Monique, Ingénieur IP
KLEIN Brigitte, CNRS
K'OUAS Guylène, IP
LEFEVRE Martine, IP
LE FLECHE Anne, Ingénieur IP
LEJAY-COLLIN Monique, IP
LENORMAND Pascal, IP
LOMPREZ Fabienne, IP
MARTIN-DELAUTRE Sylvie, IP
METZ Laurence, IP
REGNAULT Béatrice, IP
RUCKLY Corinne, IP
,


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Enbac


  Responsable : GRIMONT Patrick (pgrimont@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité comprend des laboratoires de recherche, deux Centres Nationaux de Référence, et trois laboratoires en rapport avec l'industrie. Tous les aspects de la taxonomie bactérienne sont développés en ayant pour objectif d'apporter une meilleure définition moléculaire et physiologique des espèces et de réaliser des outils nouveaux de typage épidémiologique. Si historiquement, le groupe bactérien étudié était les entérobactéries, nos méthodes ont été appliquées à d'autres groupes, y compris des pathogènes émergents.



  rapport

cale

Taxonomie moléculaire bactérienne (Patrick Grimont, Elisabeth Ageron, avec de nombreuses collaborations internes et externes)

La plupart des méthodes moléculaires sont d'application universelle. La comparaison des séquences du gène rrs codant l'ARN 16S permet de positionner une souche nouvelle dans l'arbre phylogénétique. Cependant, l'hybridation ADN-ADN reste l'outil essentiel pour délimiter les espèces bactériennes. Les séquences d'autres gènes (gyrB, rpoB) sont étudiées dans le but d'approcher la résolution des hybridations ADN-ADN. Une fois ces espèces nouvelles délimitées avec soin, il est possible de rechercher des caractères phénotypiques (galerie Biotype-100) ou des zones spécifiques dans la séquence du gène rrs ou d'autres gènes. Des espèces nouvelles ont été décrites et plusieurs nouvelles espèces potentielles sont en cours d'étude.


Diversité infraspécifique (Francine Grimont)

Les méthodes traditionnelles de typage sont généralement limitées à une seule espèce bactérienne alors que les méthodes moléculaires ont une plus large application. Des systèmes de typage moléculaire basés sur les méthodes les plus performantes comme la ribotypie (née dans notre Unité en 1986) sont développés. L'identification automatique des profils grâce à un logiciel (Taxotron) a été mise au point. Des bases de données pour l'identification automatique des ribotypes ont été créées pour Escherichia coli (en corrélation avec le sérotype), Shigella, Salmonella enterica sérotype Typhi (peut remplacer la lysotypie), Legionella (identification de toutes les espèces), Pseudomonas, vibrions et corynebactéries. Des systèmes PCR pour l'identification des pathotypes de E. coli ont été mis au point.


Une nouvelle avancée : le "sérotypage moléculaire" (Francine Grimont, Patrick Grimont, travaux de thèse de Roney S. Coimbra et Jorge Machado).

L'amplification du gène codant la flagelline chez Escherichia coli, suivie d'une restriction a permis de reconnaitre quasiment tous les types flagellaires. Un gène flagellaire cryptique a été étudié chez les Shigella, reflétant leur histoire multiclonale. Les antigènes somatiques O des entérobactéries sont élaborés par l'action de plusieurs enzymes dont les gènes sont groupés dans la région rfb du chromosome. Cette région a été amplifiée pour de nombreux sérotypes de E. coli et tous les sérotypes de Shigella. Une base de données de restriction de ce fragment amplifié permet l'identification automatique des sérogroupes O des E. coli et Shigella. C'est la première fois qu'un système moléculaire peut remplacer un système complexe de sérotypage avec quasiment les mêmes résultats. Cette approche nous a permis de découvrir un nouveau sérotype de Shigella.


Immuno-taxonomie bactérienne (Philippe Bouvet)

L'immuno-diagnostic bactériologique (préparation de sérums pour sérotypage ou d'antigènes pour sérodiagnostic d'infections) repose encore souvent sur l'utilisation de bactéries entières avec de nombreux problèmes de réactions croisées. Nous travaillons avec des antigènes purifiés et des techniques immunologiques les plus récentes. Les retombées sont recherchées en identification et en diagnostic sérologique. Un sérodiagnostic détectant les anticorps dirigés contre 25 sérogroupes O de Escherichia coli choisis pour leur association avec la production de Shiga-toxine, a été mis au point. D'autre part, un sérum agglutinant spécifiquement des souches de Shigella n'appartenant pas a un sérotype connu a été préparé.


Biodiversité métabolique des bactéries (Odile Bouvet)

Les capacités métaboliques des bactéries liées à la synthèse des poly-beta-hydroxyalcanoates, sont étudiées (thèse de Stéphane Diard). Le comportement physiologique (état énergétique et oxydatif des cellules, transport des nutriments, pools intracellulaires et activité des voies métaboliques majeures) des espèces soumises à différentes conditions de stress est étudié dans le but de mieux définir la limite entre la vie et la mort des bactéries (thèse d'Andrea Villarino). Pour effectuer ce type de recherche, nous développons de nouvelles méthodologies pour une approche globale du métabolisme (applications de la résonnance magnétique nucléaire, par exemple).


Aquabiolab (Béatrice Regnault et Patrick Grimont)

Ce laboratoire, soutenu par Vivendi Water, met au point des méthodes moléculaires pour la surveillance bactériologique des eaux. La connaissance des séquences d'ARN 16S nous permet de réaliser des sondes oligonucléotidiques fluorescentes pour visualiser, par hybridation in situ, les bactéries possédant les séquences-cibles complémentaires dans leurs ribosomes. La revivification des bactéries en présence de ciprofloxacine permet de distinguer les bactéries vivantes (qui s'allongent) de celles qui sont mortes (non réactives). Un travail fondamental sur la frontière entre la vie et la mort des bactéries a été entrepris (thèse d'Andrea Villarino). Une application des recherches d'Aquabiolab à la détection et au dénombrement des Escherichia coli dans l'eau, les aliments ou les urines infectées a été publiée. Des sondes fluorescentes mises au point par Aquabiolab sont utilisées par le Centre d'Identification Moléculaire des Bactéries.


Centre National de Référence des Salmonella et Shigella (Philippe Bouvet et Patrick Grimont)

Le CNRSS participe à la surveillance des salmonelloses en France en sérotypant complètement (avec 164 sérums) plus de 10 000 souches de Salmonella et près de 1000 souches de Shigella par an. Ces souches sont envoyées au CNRSS (accompagnées des renseignements épidémiologiques essentiels) sur une base volontaire par près de 1600 laboratoires d'analyses de biologie médicale (publics et privés). Le CNR collecte également les informations sur les souches dont le sérotype a été déterminé localement (5000 par an). Un système informatisé de surveillance et d'alerte des salmonelloses humaines et des shigelloses mis au point au CNR permet de documenter les tendances spatiales et temporelles des 80 principaux sérotypes de Salmonella et de Shigella et de détecter précocemment toute augmentation anormale d'un sérotype aux niveaux national, régional ou départemental. Différents relevés épidémiologiques sont adressés chaque semaine à l'Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS). Dès la constatation d'une augmentation anormale d'un sérotype, un message d'alerte est envoyé par télécopie. En 2000, 7 bouffées épidémiques (locales ou régionales) ont été détectées par le CNRSS. Le CNR a également informé par télécopie la Direction Générale de la Santé et l'InVS de la survenue de 499 foyers de cas groupés signalés par les laboratoires collaborateurs du CNR. Parmi les 47 sérotypes de Salmonella trouvés responsables de 460 épisodes épidémiques à Salmonella, les sérotypes Enteritidis et Typhimurium représentaient 79% du total. Le CNRSS a mis en place un suivi de l'évolution de la résistance aux antibiotiques chez les Salmonella. Mille souches tirées au sort parmi 15 sérotypes sont étudiées chaque année. Le CNR participe au Réseau européen " Enter-Net. ".


Centre National de Référence pour le Typage Moléculaire Entérique (Francine Grimont et Patrick Grimont)

Le CNRTME effectue la ribotypie de toute bactérie à la demande des autorités sanitaires ou hospitalières. L'acquisition en 1999 d'un RiboPrinter nous permet de ribotyper toutes les souches de Salmonella sérotype Typhi ainsi que diverses bactéries responsables d'infections nosocomiales. La détection des gènes de virulence de E. coli est effectuée. Le Centre effectue aussi la lysotypie de Salmonella sérotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Paratyphi A, Paratyphi B, Enteritidis, et Dublin, et le sérotypage des Serratia. Le Centre a étudié 1550 souches par ribotypie et/ou lysotypie, 238 souches/prélèvements par PCR (détection de gènes de pathogénicité), et étudié de nouvelles souches de Shigella atypiques. Le CNRTME participe au réseau européen Enter-Net pour ce qui concerne la surveillance des infections à Salmonella enterica sérotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Enteritidis, et Paratyphi B, et celles dues aux Escherichia coli entérohémorragiques.


Centre National de Référence de Corynebacterium diphtheriae (Patrick Grimont et Yolande Arnoux)

Le CNRCD confirme l'identification des Corynebacterium diphtheriae et C. ulcerans isolées en France, recherche le gène de la toxine diphtérique par amplification génique, et effectue le typage moléculaire des souches. En association avec le Centre d'Identification Moléculaire des Bactéries, le CNRCD identifie toutes les espèces " corynéformes ".

En association avec le CNRTME (F. Grimont) et dans le cadre du réseau OMS-Europe ELWGD (European Laboratory Working Group on Diphtheria) et de deux contrats européens BIOMED et INCO-Copernicus, une base de donnée de ribotypes de C. diphtheriae a été construite après étude de 576 souches isolées dans de nombreux pays dont l'ancienne URSS. Ces souches se distribuent en 86 ribotypes. Le logiciel Taxotron a été choisi pour l'identification automatique des ribotypes. Le responsable du CNRCD est le coordinateur de la base de données internationale des ribotypes de C. diphtheriae et une nomenclature internationale est en cours de validation pour ces ribotypes.


Centre d'Identification Moléculaire des Bactéries (Anne Le Flèche et Patrick Grimont)

Le CIMB a été créé en 2000 pour identifier toutes sortes de bactéries par des méthodes moléculaires en première intention (séquençage du gène rrs ou d'autres gènes, ribotypie automatisée, amplification génique). En quelques mois de fonctionnement, le CIMB a caractérisé plusieurs bactéries pathogènes émergentes. Les souches étudiées proviennent de laboratoires cliniques, vétérinaires, de l'environnement, ou industriels. Les souches non industrielles qui ne correspondent à aucune espèce décrite, sont incluses dans nos programmes de recherche taxonomique.


Taxolab (Patrick Grimont, Martine Lefèvre, Corinne Ruckly)

Ce laboratoire effectue la caractérisation des bactéries industrielles par des méthodes moléculaires (séquençage de l'ARN 16S, hybridation quantitative des ADN, ribotypie complète avec 10 endonucléases de restriction, détection de gènes de virulence, détermination du nombre de copies d'un plasmide, détection et caractérisation de bactériophages), effectue des recherches bibliographiques, offre des conseils techniques, et accepte tout travail contractuel entrant dans notre champ de compétence. Un programme nouveau, soutenu par Procter & Gamble, étudie la dissémination de bacilles traceurs dans une cuisine expérimentale dans le but d'évaluer des stratégies de désinfection. Les leçons qui seront tirées de ce travail devraient permettre de prévenir des toxi-infections alimentaires.


Taxolab software (Patrick Grimont)

La version 2000 de l'ensemble logiciel Taxotron (pour Macintosh) comprend les programmes Recognizer (identification bactérienne utilisant la galerie Biotype-100, BioMérieux), RestrictoScan (capture des distances de migration des fragments de restriction), RestrictoTyper (interpolation de la taille des fragments de restriction, construction de bases de données de tailles de fragments, identification automatique), Adanson (taxonomie numérique), Dendrograf (arbres, dendrogrammes), Antibiotyper (saisie de données quantitatives, distance euclidienne), et FactorAna (analyses factorielles). Des améliorations essentielles ont été apportées comme l'analyse de profils en plusieurs couleurs, l'application de filtres mathématiques aux images, l'accélération considérable des calculs grâce à l'optimisation pour PowerMacintosh, et la prise en compte de l'erreur pour l'identification automatique des profils.

Légendes de la photo :

Détection par hybridation in situ en fluorescence de Escherichia coli dans une urine infectée.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

SYLVAIN Chantal

LEBRI Zoulika

BOUVET Odile, INSERM

BOUVET Philippe, IP

DAUGA Catherine, IP (jusqu’au 31-12-2000)

GRIMONT Francine, INSERM

GRIMONT Patrick, IP

ASLANI Mohammed

COIMBRA Roney Santos, thèse

CONIGLIO Maria Anna

DIARD Stéphane, thèse

LAILLER Renaud

LEFRESNE Gwenola, thèse

NASSIF Nadine, thèse

POURSHAFIE Mohammed

SCHLEGEL Laurent, thèse

VILLARINO Andrea, thèse

ABIHSSIRA Marie-Valérie
AGERON-ARDILA Elisabeth, INSERM
ARNOUX Yolande, IP
CARLE Isabelle, IP
DONNADIEU Françoise, IP
GUESNIER Françoise, IP
GUIBERT Véronique, IP
ISSENHUTH-JEANJEAN Sylvie, IP
JANVIER Monique, Ingénieur IP
KLEIN Brigitte, CNRS
K'OUAS Guylène, IP
LEFEVRE Martine, IP
LE FLECHE Anne, Ingénieur IP
LEJAY-COLLIN Monique, IP
LENORMAND Pascal, IP
LOMPREZ Fabienne, IP
MARTIN-DELAUTRE Sylvie, IP
METZ Laurence, IP
REGNAULT Béatrice, IP
RUCKLY Corinne, IP


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.