Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Bmic


  Director : Georges RAPOPORT (rapoport@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit of Microbial Biochemistry is continuing its study on the regulation of gene expression in model Gram-positive bacteria ( Bacillus, Streptomyces ). Recently, the Unit extended its research domain to the study of virulence factors in pathogenic Gram-positive bacteria ( Listeria, Streptococci, Staphylococci ).



  report

cale

Study of the sigma 54 regulon of B. subtilis (M. Débarbouillé, N. Ould Ali, M. Arnaud, J. Bignon)

The sigma L gene encodes a sigma factor homologous to the sigma 54 factor from Gram-negative bacteria. The sigma L factor is required for the utilization of certain amino acids as nitrogen sources (arginine, ornithine, isoleucine and valine) and sugars as carbon sources (such as fructose). Genes of specific regulators involved in these pathways have been identified. They activate transcription by binding to sequences located either upstream (UAS) or downstream (DAS) from specific —12/-24 promoters. The acoABCL operon involved in the catabolism of acetoin, the major compound from glucose degradation, was analyzed in detail as well as its regulator, AcoR. Moreover, the expression of the operon is highly repressed by glucose through the CcpA transcriptional regulator which binds a specific target sequence, CRE, located upstream from the acoR gene.

Stress responses (T. Msadek, A. Chastanet, I. Derré)

We have shown that heat shock genes encoding the catalytic and regulatory subunits of the ATP-dependent Clp protease are under the control of the CtsR repressor. A comparative genome analysis indicates that the CtsR protein and its target sequences are highly conserved among Gram-positive bacteria of low G + C content, including pathogens (Listeria monocytogenes, Staphylococcus aureus, Streptococcus pneumoniae, Enterococcus faecalis).

Experiments carried out in vivo (gene fusions in B. subtilis) and in vitro (gel retardation, DNAse I footprinting) indicate that the operon encoding the GroESL chaperones from S. pneumoniae are controlled by both CtsR and another global regulator, HrcA. In S. aureus, the whole HrcA regulon comprising the groESL and dnaK operons, is included in the CtsR regulon which in addition controls the clpP and clpB genes and the clpC operon.

Studies on the regulation by CtsR of clp genes from L. monocytogenes, performed in collaboration with P. Berche and coll. (Faculty of Medicine, Necker, Paris) showed that CtsR is involved in the resistance to different stresses. Its role was tested in a murine model. The presence of ctsR in multicopy in Listeria led to a significant decrease of virulence, likely due to the repression of clp genes.

Signal transduction (T. Msadek, E. Guédon, B. Fournier, P. Mazodier, J. Viala, A. Sobczyk)

A transcriptome analysis of the two-component systems (TCS) of B. subtilis is in progress with DNA macro-arrays corresponding to the complete genome (4200 genes). About 80 genes were found to be controlled by DegS/DegU, among which the majority, organized in operons are repressed. It has been previously shown that DegS/DegU controls the synthesis of degradative enzymes and competence (integration of DNA).

Another TCS of B. subtilis, LytS/LytT, analogous to that of S. aureus, was also studied. In contrast to S. aureus, this system is not involved in the expression of autolysins. An operon of two genes adjacent to the lyt locus, was shown to be controlled by this TCS. The identification of other genes belonging to the same regulon is under way by transcriptome analysis.

In S. aureus, a TCS, ArlS/ArlR, implicated in virulence, was also studied. Deletion of the arl locus led to a strong increase of protein A and of other secreted proteins : a-toxin, b-haemolysin, lipase, coagulase, serine protease. The synthesis of ArlS/ArlR is positively regulated by the 2 major virulence loci of S. aureus, sarA and agr. Conversely, the TCS activates the expression of sarA and represses that of agr.

In Streptomyces, the chaperone proteins GroES, GroEL1 and GroEL2 are dependent, as in B. subtilis, upon the HrcA repressor which acts on target sequences called CIRCE. Two new regulators were characterized in S. albus : HspR which represses the expression of the dnaK operon and that of the clpB and lon genes, and RheA which represses the expression of the major heat shock protein, Hsp18. Their target sequences were defined as specific inverted repeats of 7 bp. It was also shown that RheA is reversibly inactivated by heat and acts as a cellular thermometer.

In addition, the genes encoding the ClpP, ClpX and ClpC subunits were characterized. In S. lividans, 4 clpP genes are present, clpP1 and clpP2 being organized in tandem, while clpP3 and clpP4 are included in an operon under the control of a new activator, PopR which acts on a palindromic target of 6 bp. The Clp system is involved in the morphological differentiation of S. lividans, S. albus and S. coelicolor, while ClpX controls the production of the antibiotic actinorhodin in S. lividans and S. coelicolor.

Study on ATP-dependent proteases was extended to the characterization of the Lon protein. It was shown that Lon is not involved in the regulation of differentiation, in contrast to the Clp complex. Obtention of a lon mutant will be exploited for the production of heterologous proteins, in the framework of a European project.

Regulation of gene expression involved in virulence in B. thuringiensis and B. cereus cereus(D. Lereclus, L. Slamti, M. Gominet, S. Fedhila-Hamza)


The PlcR protein is a pleiotropic regulator of the expression of virulence factors in these two microorganisms (an insect pathogen and a human pathogen, respectively). It activates the transcription of at least 15 genes encoding extracellular proteins (phospholiphases C, proteases, haemolysin, enterotoxins). Disruption of this gene strongly decreases the haemolytic and cytolytic properties of B. thuringiensis and B. cereus. In the susceptible insects (Lepidoptera), the disruption of the plcR gene reduces the synergistic effect of the Bacillus spores on the insecticidal activity of the crystal proteins from B. thuringiensis. In mice, the mortality caused by nasal instillation of spores was strongly diminished or totaly abolished using the plcR mutant.

The expression of plcR, which takes place at the onset of stationary phase, is autoregulated and negatively controlled by spo0A, the master gene involved in the triggering of sporulation. Expression of plcR also depends upon a quorum sensing system of the ABC transporter type which is involved in the transport of peptides (Opp). Studies on the nature of the peptides involved in the intercellular activity and their mechanism of action are in progress.

In addition, 2 clpP genes were characterized in B. thuringiensis. These genes were disrupted, and their role in sporulation and in virulence is presently studied.

Regulation of expression of secreted insecticidal toxins from Bacillus thuringiensis (V. Sanchis, S. Espinasse)

Analysis by insertional mutagenesis of an overproducingb-exotoxin strain, an ATP analogue which inhibits RNA polymerase, allowed the identification of an ABC-transporter and of a putative sigma factor of extracytoplasmic function (ECF) which could be involved in the expression and export of theb-exotoxin. Disruption of the corresponding genes led to an avirulent phenotype. The expression of the ECF gene itself is auto-regulated and its transcription is higher in the overproducing strain compared to the non toxic wild-type strain. The search of other genes controlled by this sigma factor is in progress ; this could allow the identification and determination of the function of genes which are not expressed in standard conditions of culture but are coordinately induced in specific ecological situations of the bacterium.

Photo:

Transcriptome analysis of the B. subtilis DegS/DegU regulon. All 4107 open reading frames of the B. subtilis genome are present on a high density macroarray. Red spots correspond to genes whose expression is repressed by DegU, green spots are genes activated by DegU, yellow spots are those whose expression is not dependent on DegU and black spots are genes not expressed under the assay conditions.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

DUGAST Christine

DEBARBOUILLE, mdebarbo@pasteur.fr

FOURNIER Bénédicte, bfournie@pasteur.fr

KLIER André, aklier@pasteur.fr

LERECLUS Didier, lereclus@pasteur.fr

MAZODIER Philippe, mazodier@pasteur.fr

MSADEK Tarek, tmsadek@pasteur.fr

RAPOPORT Georges, rapoport@pasteur.fr

SANCHIS Vincent, INRA vsanchis@pasteur.fr

BRAUD Sandrine, Postdoctoral

CHASTANET Arnaud, PhD Student

ESPINASSE Sylvain, PhD Student

FEDHILA-HAMZA Sinda , PhD Student

GUEDON Eric, Postdoctoral

OULD ALI Naima, PhD Student

ROBICHON Denis, Postdoctoral

SLAMTI Leyla, PhD Student

SOBCZYK André, Postdoctoral

VIALA Julie, PhD Student

ARNAUD Maryvonne, engineer

BIGNON-TOPALOVIC Joëlle, Technician

DUGAST Christine, Executive Secretary

FERT Julie, Technician

GOMINET Myriam, Technician


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Bmic


  Responsable : Georges RAPOPORT (rapoport@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité de Biochimie Microbienne a poursuivi l'étude de la régulation de l'expression génétique chez les bactéries Gram-positives modèles (Bacillus, Streptomyces ) et a élargi récemment son domaine de recherche à l'étude des facteurs de virulence chez des bactéries Gram-positives pathogènes ( Listeria , Streptocoques, Staphylocoque).



  rapport

cale

Etude du régulon sigma 54 de B. subtilis (M. Débarbouillé, N. Ould Ali, M. Arnaud, J. Bignon)

Le gène sigL code pour un facteur sigma homologue de sigma 54 des bactéries Gram-négatives. Sigma L est requis pour l'utilisation d'amino acides comme sources d'azote (arginine, ornithine, isoleucine et valine) et de sucres comme sources de carbone (fructose). Les gènes régulateurs spécifiques impliqués dans ces métabolismes ont été identifiés. Ils stimulent la transcription en se fixant sur des séquences localisées en amont (UAS) ou en aval (DAS) des promoteurs s54 de type —12/-24. L'opéron acoABCL impliqué dans le catabolisme de l'acétoïne, composé majeur de la dégradation du glucose, a été analysé en détail ainsi que son régulateur spécifique, AcoR. De plus, l'expression de cet opéron est fortement réprimée par le glucose via le régulateur transcriptionnel de la répression catabolique, CcpA, qui agit sur une séquence cible spécifique, CRE, située en amont du gène acoR.

Réponse aux stress (T. Msadek, A. Chastanet, I. Derré)

Nous avons montré que les gènes de choc thermique codant pour les sous-unités catalytiques et régulatrices Clp de la protéase ATP-dépendante de B. subtilis sont sous le contrôle du répresseur CtsR. Une analyse comparative des séquences génomiques disponibles indique que la protéine CtsR et ses séquences cibles sont fortement conservées parmi les bactéries Gram-positives à faible contenu en GC, dont certaines pathogènes (Listeria monocytogenes, Staphylococcus aureus, Streptococcus pneumoniae, Enterococcus faecalis).

Ces expériences réalisées in vivo (fusions de gènes chez B. subtilis) et in vitro (retards de migration, empreintes à la DNAse I), indiquent que chez S. pneumoniae, l'expression de l'opéron codant pour les protéines chaperons GroESL dépend à la fois de CtsR et d'un autre régulateur global, HrcA. Chez S. aureus, l'ensemble du régulon HrcA (qui comprend les opérons groESL et dnaK) est inclus dans le régulon CtsR, qui contrôle par ailleurs l'expression des gènes clpP, clpB et l'opéron clpC.

L'étude de la régulation par CtsR des gènes clp de L. moncytogenes, effectuée en collaboration avec l'équipe de P. Berche (Faculté de Médecine, Necker, Paris), a montré que CtsR intervient dans la résistance à différents stress. Son rôle a été testé dans un modèle murin. La présence de CtsR en multicopies chez Listeria entraîne dans ce cas une diminution significative de la virulence, vraisemblablement due à une répression des gènes clp.

Transduction de signaux (T. Msadek, E. Guédon, B. Fournier, P. Mazodier, J. Viala, A. Sobczyk)

Une analyse du transcriptome de B. subtilis sous la dépendance du système à deux-composants DegS/DegU a été entreprise à l'aide de membranes contenant l'ensemble du génome (4200 gènes). Environ 80 gènes sont contrôlés par ce système et la majorité d'entre eux, dont la plupart organisés en opérons, est réprimée. Il avait été montré auparavant que DegS/DegU contrôle la synthèse d'enzymes dégradatives et la compétence (intégration d'ADN).

L'étude d'un autre système de transduction de signal à deux-composants de B. subtilis, LytS/LytT, analogue à celui de S. aureus a été entreprise. Contrairement à S. aureus, il n'intervient pas dans l'expression des autolysines. Un opéron de 2 gènes adjacents à LytS/LytT a déjà été identifié sous le contrôle de ce système. D'autres gènes appartenant à ce régulon seront identifiés par analyse du transcriptome.
Chez S. aureus, un système à deux-composants, ArlS/ArlR, intervenant dans la virulence de cette bactérie, a été analysé. La délétion du locus arl provoque une très forte augmentation de la protéine A et également d'autres protéines sécrétées :a-toxine,b-hémolysine, lipase, coagulase, protéase à sérine. Le système ArlS/ArlR est lui-même contrôlé positivement par les 2 loci majeurs de virulence de S. aureus, sarA et agr. Réciproquement, le système Arl active l'expression de sarA mais réprime celle de agr.

Chez les Streptomyces, les protéines chaperons GroES, GroEL1 et GroEL2 sont comme chez B. subtilis, sous la dépendance du répresseur HrcA qui agit sur des séquences cibles, CIRCE. Deux nouveaux régulateurs ont été caractérisés chez S. albus : HspR qui réprime l'expression de l'opéron dnaK, du gène clpB et du gène lon, et RheA qui réprime l'expression de la protéine majeure de choc thermique Hsp18. Leurs séquences cibles ont également été définies : il s'agit de séquences répétées inversées spécifiques de 7 pb. Il a été montré de plus que RheA est inactivée par la chaleur de manière réversible et que ce régulateur agit comme un thermomètre cellulaire.

Par ailleurs, les gènes codant pour les sous-unités ClpP, ClpX et ClpC ont été caractérisés. Chez S. lividans, quatre gènes clpP sont présents : clpP1 et clpP2 sont organisés en tandem, alors que clpP3 et clpP4 forment un opéron sous le contrôle d'un nouvel activateur, PopR qui agit sur une séquence cible palindromique de 6 pb. Le système Clp intervient dans la différenciation morphologique chez S. lividans, S. albus et S. coelicolor, tandis que ClpX contrôle la production d'un antibiotique, l'actinorhodine, chez S. lividans et S. coelicolor.

Nous avons poursuivi l'étude des protéases ATP-dépendantes par la caractérisation de Lon. Cette étude a montré que Lon, contrairement au complexe Clp, n'était pas directement impliquée dans la régulation de la différenciation. L'obtention d'un mutant lon sera exploitée dans le cadre d'un projet européen pour la production de protéines hétérologues.


Régulation de l'expression des gènes de virulence chez B. thuringiensis et B. cereus (D. Lereclus, L. Slamti, M. Gominet, S. Fedhila-Hamza)

La protéine plcR est un régulateur pléiotrope de l'expression des facteurs de virulence chez ces 2 microorganismes (pathogène des insectes et pathogène humain, respectivement). Il intervient en activant la transcription d'au moins 15 gènes codant pour des protéines extracellulaires (phospholipases C, protéases, hémolysine, entérotoxines). L'interruption de ce gène diminue fortement les propriétés hémolytiques et cytolytiques de B. thuringiensis et B. cereus. Chez les insectes cibles (Lépidoptères), le mutant réduit l'effet synergique des spores des 2 Bacillus vis-à-vis de l'activité insecticide des protéines du cristal de B. thuringiensis. Chez la souris, la mortalité causée par l'instillation nasale des spores de B. thuringiensis et de B. cereus, est également fortement diminuée ou abolie avec le mutant plcR. L'expression de plcR qui a eu lieu en début de phase stationnaire, est autorégulée, et est contrôlée négativement par le gène du déclenchement de la sporulation, spo0A. L'expression de PlcR dépend également d'un système de " quorum sensing " de type transporteur ABC impliqué dans la perméation d'oligopeptides (système Opp). La nature des peptides intervenant dans l'activité intercellulaire et leur mécanisme d'action sont en cours d'analyse.

Par ailleurs, 2 gènes clpP ont été caractérisés chez B. thuringiensis. Ces gènes ont été interrompus, et leur rôle dans la sporulation et dans la virulence chez l'insecte est en cours d'étude.

Régulation de l'expression de toxines insecticides sécrétées par Bacillus thuringiensis (V. Sanchis, S. Espinasse)

L'analyse, par mutagénèse insertionnelle, d'une souche surproductrice deb-exotoxine, un analogue de l'ATP à activité insecticide qui inhibe l'activité de l'ARN polymérase, a permis d'identifier un transporteur ABC ainsi qu'un facteur sigma putatif de type ECF (extracytoplasmic function) qui pourraient être impliqués dans l'expression et l'exportation de lab-exotoxine. L'interruption des gènes codant pour ces protéines conduit à un phénotype avirulent. L'expression du gène du facteur sigma ECF est auto-régulée et son niveau de transcription est plus élevé dans la souche surproductrice que dans la souche parentale non toxique. La recherche d'autres gènes éventuellement contrôlés par ce facteur sigma est actuellement en cours ; elle devrait nous permettre d'identifier et d'étudier la fonction de gènes qui ne sont pas exprimés dans les conditions standard de culture mais dont l'expression coordonnée est induite dans des situations particulières, propres à l'écologie de la bactérie.

Légende de la photo:

Analyse du régulon DegS/DegU chez Bacillus subtilis par l'étude du transcriptome. L'ensemble des 4107 gènes de Bacillus subtilis est présent sur une membrane à haute densité. Les points rouges indiquent les gènes dont l'expression est réprimée par DegU, les points verts ceux dont l'expression est activée par le système DegS/DegU, les points jaunes les gènes qui ne sont pas contrôlés par DegU et les points noirs les gènes qui ne sont pas exprimés dans les conditions utilisées.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

DUGAST Christine, Secrétaire de Direction IP

DEBARBOUILLE Michel, DR2 CNRS mdebarbo@pasteur.fr

FOURNIER Bénédicte, Chargé de Recherche IP bfournie@pasteur.fr

KLIER André, Professeur Université Paris 7 aklier@pasteur.fr

LERECLUS Didier, DR1 INRA lereclus@pasteur.fr

MAZODIER Philippe, Chef de Laboratoire IP mazodier@pasteur.fr

MSADEK Tarek, Chargé de Recherche IP tmsadek@pasteur.fr

RAPOPORT Georges, DR1 CNRS, Professeur IP, rapoport@pasteur.fr

SANCHIS Vincent, INRA vsanchis@pasteur.fr

BRAUD Sandrine, Chercheur post-doctoral

CHASTANET Arnaud, Etudiant en thèse

ESPINASSE Sylvain, Etudiant en thèse

FEDHILA-HAMZA Sinda , Etudiante en thèse

GUEDON Eric, Chercheur post-doctoral

OULD ALI Naima, Etudiante en thèse

ROBICHON Denis, Stagiaire post-doctoral

SLAMTI Leyla, Etudiante en thèse

SOBCZYK André, Stagiaire post-doctoral

VIALA Julie, Etudiante en thèse

ARNAUD Maryvonne, Ingénieur de Recherche IP

BIGNON-TOPALOVIC Joëlle, Technicienne Supérieure IP

DUGAST Christine, Secrétaire de Direction IP

FERT Julie, Technicienne Université Paris 7

GOMINET Myriam, Technicienne Supérieure IP


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.