Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Bmg


  Director : GACHELIN Gabriel, directeur par intérim (ggachel@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

During the past year, research activities carried out in the Unite de Biologie Moléculaire du Gène, INSERM U277, although dealing with as various aspects of immunology as intra-epithelial lymphocytes and anti-tumor responses, have dominantly be based on the description of T-cell repertoires. Over the past years, a set of techniques, the Immunoscope I and now II, have been destablished in the laboratory, taht enables the easy determination of even minor changes in the size of a T cell clone. This set of technique has therefore been applied to a variety of physiopathological conditions as well as to normal differenciation of T cells.



  report

cale

Team 1headed by Delphine Guy-Grand: Intra intestinal lymphocytes

We used the immunoscope technique which consists of detecting the respective amount of all rearranged b chain transcripts present in a TCRab+ T cell population followed by sequencing of the expanded population and we showed 1) that CD8ab+ and CD4+ thymus dependent lymphocytes which populate the mouse gut wall are oligoclonal both in the lamina propria and the epithelium and that each subset share identical TCRb clonotypes in the same mouse 2) that clones of large CD8ab+ lymphocytes circulating in the thoracic duct lymph also share homologies with that populating the epithelium. These findings are in the line of old results demonstrating that thoracic blasts migrate in the gut wall and its lymphoid associated tissue and have interesting implications in the understanding of the nature of the stimulation, the localization and the succession of events which lead up to the appearance of gut lymphocytes with a restricted TCRb repertoire


Team 2 headed by Laurent Ferradini: Tumor immunology

The project of the tumor immunology group takes advantage of the expertise and the tools developped these last few years in the laboratory which allow the precise analysis of antitumoral T-cell responses. We are interested in studying antitumoral T cell responses both in mice and in humans by focusing on three different aspects:
- In mice, we are developping an in vivo inducible melanoma model in order to study the antitumoral immune response in a situation as physiological as possible.
- In humans, we are analysing the antitumoral immune response during melanoma by focusing more specifically on the MHC class II restricted immune response through the development of MHC class II tetramers, and on the study of antitumoral memory T-cell compartment.
- Finally, we are participating to the immunological follow-up of cancer patients treated by immunotherapeutic protocols using the immunological station, developped and optimized in the laboratory, aimed to precisely follow T lymphocyte immune responses.


The team headed by Gabriel Gachelin has worked along two main lines of research. In collaboration with scientists of the Museum National d'Histoire Naturelle, we have carried out an extensive study aimed at determining the phylogenetic relationships between cartilaginous fishes and cyclostomes. Indeed, cyclostomes do not have an adaptive immune system, whereas all components of the latter are already present in sharks and rays. A study on the origin of the immune system thus implied the phylogenetic relationships between these different species to be clarified. Studies carried out using mitochondrial DNA sequences of several chondrichtyes and cyclostomes has led to the conclusion that cyclostomes are monophyletic, despite the morphological similarities between lampreys and osteichtyes. Thus no present representative of cyclostomes could be used as a more appropriate material to study the origin of the adaptive immune system.
Most of the research activities of the team were devoted to the study of natural killer T cells (NKT cells). These cells express both markers of NK cells and markers of T cells, particularly a semi-invariant TCR characterized by a distinctive TCR alpha chain and a skewed usage of V beta segments. In addition, the monomorphic MHC1b CD1d molecule restricts most of these NKT cells. Studies carried out in 1999-2000 have dealt with an improved molecular definition of NKT cells, mostly based on the molecular analysis of the beta chain of the TCR of sorted cell populations. We could show that all populations possessed a highly diverse TCR without any particular bias in their CDR3 region, although the latter is expected to recognize only hydroxyl residues and the skeleton of carbohydrates. NKT cells of any organ origin could be DN, CD4+ and never CD8+ . Some are CD62L+, others are CD62L-: only CD62L- cells are restricted by CD1d1 molecules. We are in the process of defining whether this phenotypic heterogeneity is indicative of a functional heterogeneity. Since NKT cells are, in the mouse, involved in the response against non-peptide antigens of mycobacterial origin, we have studied skin lesions of either mycobacterium origin, such as leper, or of non bacterial origin, such as sarcoidosis or granulum annulare. We could show that NKT cells are found only in Mycobaterium leprae lesions. However, the most important finding of the year has been the discovery that NKT cells, although their TCR can recognize the carbohydrate moiety of glycolipids presented by CD1d molecules, do not accumulate in the lesions due to mycobacterial glycolipids due to antigen-driven proliferation, but rather non-specifically due to the ongoing inflammatory process. Thus NKT cells are early cells of acute inflammatory responses, but not of chronic inflammatory responses; they do not use the TCR-CD1d1 activation pathway to accumulate at inflammatory sites, and accumulation and most probably part of the functions of NKT cells are independent of CD1d1/TCR. The work of the team is row re-orientating towards the mechanisms at work in the migration of NKT cells from the organs where they are stored to inflammatory sites.

Team 5 headed by Philippe Kourilsky: Analysis of memory and effector T cell populations and search of the molecular basis of their phenotype.

The set up of the platform for monitoring CD8+ T cell response in Human has now been completed. Using this platform, it is now feasible to detect, and then follow up, during a therapeutic treatment for instance, individual T cell clones specific for given antigenic MHC-restricted peptides, provided that their frequency is higher than 10-5. Specific T cells are sorted out by means of magnetic beads coated with MHC-peptide complexes. The rearranged genes encoding the TCR chains are sequenced, which allows the design of clonotypic primers specific for each clone. The frequency of these clones can then be readily measured in samples or sorted T cell subsets by quantitative RT-PCR amplification using these primers. This platform is now utilized by team n2 for the monitoring of melanoma patients enrolled into an immunotherapeutical clinical trial headed by IDM biotech company.
With the ultimate goal to analyze the impact of cancer or cancer treatments on the CD8+ T cell memory subset, this team further studied the repertoire of this cell population in healthy donors. CD62L+ and CD62L- subsets have been analyzed separately with the Immunoscope at various time points in several donors.
Finally, this team has continued its efforts for identifying epigenetics alterations occurring during differentiation of murine naive T cells into effector or memory T cells. This study is carried out in collaboration with the Laboratory of Immunology of NIAID, and INSERM U345. Potential markers identifying differentially methylated regions have already been localized with the use of the RLGS-M method (see figure) in two models : Th1 and Th2 cell lines committed in vitro, and CD8+ naïve and memory T cells committed in vivo.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Viviane CAPUT, TCE CNRS – caput@pasteur.fr

Jos EVEN, CR1 CNRS

Laurent FERRADINI, CR1 INSERM

Gabriel GACHELIN, Chef de Labo IP

Delphine GUY-GRAND, DR0 INSERM

Jean KANELLOPOULOS, Professeur, Orsay

Philippe KOURILSKY, Professeur, Collège de France

Iris MOTTA, CR1 INSERM

David OJCIUS, Professeur, Paris VII

Christophe PANNETIER, CR DGA

Nathalie PARDIGON, CR IP

Véronique BARON, doctorante, bourse CIFRE

Cécile BOUNEAUD, doctorante, bourse DGA

Min-Sun CHO, post-doc, poste vert INSERM

Nicolas FAZILLEAU, doctorant, bourse MNERT

Martin MEMPEL, post-doc, bourse CE

Cahterine RONET, doctorante, bourse MNERT

Nathalie THIEBLEMONT, post-doc, bourse ARC

Viviane CAPUT, TcE CNRS

Armanda CASROUGE, IE INSERM

Sylvie DARCHE, IE INSERM

Christiane DELARBRE, IR CNRS

Sacha GARCIA, T INSERM

Fabrice LEMAITRE, AI INSERM

Annick LIM, Ingénieur IP


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Bmg


  Responsable : GACHELIN Gabriel, directeur par intérim (ggachel@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Au cours de l'année écoulée, les activités de recherche menées au sein de l'Unité de Biologie Moléculaire du gène, INSERM U277, bien qu'ayant trait a des aspects aussi différents de l'immunologie que les lymphocytes intra-intestinaux et l'immunologie des tumeurs, ont été très largement basées sur un ensemble de techniques, l'Immunoscope de première et maintenant de seconde génération. Cet ensemble de techniques désormais bien codifié permet d'étude de variations en taille -même mineures- des clones de lymphocytes T. Ces techniques sont désormais appliquées en routine à l'étude de différentes situations physio-pathologiques, ainsi qu'à la différentiation normale de populations lymphocytaires T.



  rapport

cale

Groupe 1 dirigé par Delphine Guy-Grand: lymphocytes intra-intestinaux.

Nous avons utilisé comme outil d'analyse l'immunoscope qui permet de détecter dans une population TCRab+ la quantité relative de touts les transcripts des chaines b puis d'établir les séquences des populations ayant subi une expansion et nous avons démontré 1) que les lymphocytes post-thymiques, CD8ab+ ou CD4+, qui peuplent la lamina propria ou l'épithélium de l'intestin d'une souris comportent des clones de lymphocytes aux TCR identiques 2) que des clones des cellules blastiques CD8ab+ circulant dans la lymphe du canal thoracique étaient identiques aux clones homologues peuplant l'épithélium. Ces observations en confirment d'anciennes sur la migration des blastes en division du canal thoracique dans l'intestin et son tissu lymphoïde associé. Elles permettent d'appréhender la nature, la localisation des stimulations, la succession d'évènements qui conduisent à la différenciation dans la muqueuse intestinale de lymphocytes au répertoire restreint.


Groupe 2 dirigé par laurent Ferradini: Immunologie des tumeurs

Le projet du groupe d'immunologie des tumeurs s'appuie sur l'expérience et les outils, développés ces dernières années dans le laboratoire, qui permettent actuellement l'analyse précise de réponses lymphocytaires T spécifiques d'antigènes tumoraux. Ainsi, nous nous intéressons à l'analyse de réponses lymphocytaires T antitumorales chez la souris et chez l'homme en développant de manière prioritaire trois axes de recherche:
- Chez la souris, nous travaillons sur la mise en place d'un modèle de mélanome inductible in vivo afin d' étudier la réponse antitumorale dans une situation de développement tumoral la plus physiologique possible.
- Chez l'homme, le groupe se concentre sur l'analyse de la réponse antitumorale au cours du mélanome en se focalisant sur l'analyse des réponses T MHC classe II restreintes, grâce à l'usage de tétramères MHC de classe II, et sur l'analyse du compartiment mémoire des lymphocytes T antitumoraux.
- Enfin, nous participons activement au suivi immunologique de patients cancéreux traités par des protocoles d'immunothérapie en utilisant la plate-forme de suivi des réponses lymphocytaires T développée et optimisée dans le laboratoire.


Groupe 3 dirigé par Gabriel Gachelin: lymphocytes NKT

Le groupe a travaillé en 2000 dans deux domaines différents. En collaboration avec des chercheurs du Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, a été réalisée une étude visant à établir les relations phylogénétiques entre poissons cartilagineux et poissons sans mâchoires afin de définir le matériel le plus apte a rechercher les ancêtres du système immunitairfe adaptatif. L'ensemble des études menées sur l'ADN mitochondrial de ces animaux nous a permis de conclure à la monophylie des poissons sans mâchoires, sans faire apparaître une parenté plus grande des lamproies par exemple, en dépit de nombreux critères morphologiques, avec des espèces plus récentes. Les cyclostomes apparaissent donc comme un groupe monophyletique et aucun représentant ne présente une affinité particulière avec les poissons cartilagineux..
L'essentiel des activités du groupe a porté sur les cellules NKT. Ces cellules portent simultanément des marqueurs des cellules NK et des marqueurs des cellules T, et en particulier un TCR semi-invariant caractérisé par une chaîne alpha particulière. En outre, une large part de ces cellules est restreinte par la molécule d'histocompatibilité CD1d. Les études menees fin 1999-2000 ont porté d'abord sur la définition moléculaire des cellules NKT fondée sur l'étude moléculaire de leur TCR sur des sous populations triées. Il a été montre que toutes possédaient un TCR très divers, sans aucune particularité physico-chimique de leur région de reconnaissance pourtant supposée reconnaître seulement des hydroxyls. Ces cellules se répartissent entre CD4- CD8-(DN) et CD4+, l'ensemble se répartissant également en CD62L+ et -. Il a été montré que seules les cellules CD62L- sont restreintes par CD1d. Des travaux ont été entrepris pour savoir si cette hétérogénéité phénotypique recouvrait une hétérogénéité fonctionnelle. Comme les cellules NKT sont chez la souris, impliquées dans des lésions induites par des mycobacteries, il a été recherché s'il en était de même chez l'homme et de fait des NKT humaines ont été retrouvées dans des lésions de lèpre, mais pas dans des lésions histologiquement très proches que sont celles de la sarcoïdose, non plus que parmi les lymphocytes T accumulés dans le derme dans des lesions de granulum annulare. Le fait le plus marquant de l'année est cependant la démonstration que les cellules NKT, bien que leur TCR puisse reconnaitre des glycolipides présentés par CD1d, ne s'accumulent pas dans les lésions induites par des glycolipides mycobactériens sur la base de la reconnaissance de l'antigène, mais bien plutôt de manière non spécifique au cours d'un processus inflammatoire aigu. Sous cet aspect, les cellules NKT sont des cellules précoces de la réaction inflammatoire, sans spécificité antigénique a ce stade et intervenant tres tôt au cours de cette réaction, quelle que soit d'ailleurs son origine: il y aurait donc dissociation du mécanisme de séelction thymique, fondé sur la reconnaissance de CD1d et l'effet a la périphérie, qui serait indépendant du MHC et du TCR. Le travail du groupe s'est orienté vers la fin de l'année vers les mécanismes à l'œuvre dans la migration et l'attraction des cellules NKT hors des organes qui les hébergent vers les lésions inflammatoires.


Groupe 5 dirigé par Philippe Kourilsky: Analyse des populations de lymphocytes T mémoire et effectrices et étude des bases moléculaires de leur phénotype.

L'assemblage de la station de suivi de la réponse T cytotoxique a été achevé. Celle-ci permet maintenant de détecter dans le sang d'un patient, puis de suivre au cours du temps, pendant la durée d'un traitement par exemple, les clones de lymphocytes T CD8+ spécifiques d'antigènes dont la fréquence est supérieure ou égale à 10-5. Les lymphocytes T spécifiques sont triés grâce à des billes magnétiques recouvertes de complexes CMH-peptide. La structure primaire de leur TCR est ensuite déterminée par Immunoscope, ce qui permet la conception d'amorces oligonucléotidiques clonotypiques, caractéristiques de ces clones. Une RT-PCR quantitative avec ces amorces permet ensuite de mesurer la fréquence de ces clones dans différents compartiments du système immunitaire. Cette station est maintenant utilisée par le groupe n°2 pour le suivi d'un essai clinique d'immunothérapie du mélanome dirigée par la société IDM.
Dans la perspective d'étudier l'impact d'une pathologie tumorale ou des traitements anticancéreux sur le compartiment des lymphocytes T mémoire CD8+, l'étude du répertoire de ces lymphocytes a été poursuivie chez des donneurs sains. Les sous-répertoires des populations CD62L+ et CD62L- ont été ainsi caractérisés et leur évolution au cours du temps a été étudiée.
Enfin, cette équipe a poursuivi l'étude visant à caractériser les modifications épigénétiques survenant au cours de la différentiation des lymphocytes T naïfs murins en cellules T effectrices ou mémoire. Cette étude est menée en collaboration avec le laboratoire d'immunology du NIAID, et l'unité INSERM U345. La méthode RLGS-M utilisée (voir photo) a déjà permis de repérer plusieurs marqueurs génétiques identifiant des régions différentiellement méthylées entre des populations de lymphocytes Th1 et Th2 dans un premier modèle ou CD8+ naïfs et mémoire dans un second modèle.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Viviane CAPUT, TCE CNRS – caput@pasteur.fr

Jos EVEN, CR1 CNRS

Laurent FERRADINI, CR1 INSERM

Gabriel GACHELIN, Chef de Labo IP

Delphine GUY-GRAND, DR0 INSERM

Jean KANELLOPOULOS, Professeur, Orsay

Philippe KOURILSKY, Professeur, Collège de France

Iris MOTTA, CR1 INSERM

David OJCIUS, Professeur, Paris VII

Christophe PANNETIER, CR DGA

Nathalie PARDIGON, CR IP

Véronique BARON, doctorante, bourse CIFRE

Cécile BOUNEAUD, doctorante, bourse DGA

Min-Sun CHO, post-doc, poste vert INSERM

Nicolas FAZILLEAU, doctorant, bourse MNERT

Martin MEMPEL, post-doc, bourse CE

Cahterine RONET, doctorante, bourse MNERT

Nathalie THIEBLEMONT, post-doc, bourse ARC

Viviane CAPUT, TcE CNRS

Armanda CASROUGE, IE INSERM

Sylvie DARCHE, IE INSERM

Christiane DELARBRE, IR CNRS

Sacha GARCIA, T INSERM

Fabrice LEMAITRE, AI INSERM

Annick LIM, Ingénieur IP


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.