Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Bmeg


  Director : Alain ISRAEL (aisrael@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The laboratory is interested in the analysis of two signaling pathways which are characterized by inducible cytoplasmic proteolytic events that result in nuclear translocation of transcription factors. One of the projects deals with the rel/NF- kB proteins, normally retained in the cytoplasm by a family of inhibitors which are inducibly degraded by the ubiquitin-proteasome pathway following a large number of stimuli. We have identified the first human genetic disease caused by a defective NF-kB pathway. A second project concerns the Notch receptor, which signals through a series of three proteolytic steps followed by the nuclear transport of its intracellular region : we have identified a mechanism controlling this activity through degradation of the nuclear form of this receptor.



  report

cale

Genetic and biochemical analysis of the NF-kB signaling cascade (G. Courtois, R. Weil, K. Schwamborn, L. Arbibe, C. Bessia)

In collaboration with an international consortium we have shown that the human genetic disease called Incontinentia pigmenti (IP) is due to mutations in the gene encoding NEMO, leading to a complete inactivation of the NF-kB pathway (NEMO is the structural/regulatory subunit of the IKK kinase complex which is central to this signaling cascade). In collaboration with the group of JL Casanova, we have shown that NEMO mutations that do not completely abolish NF-kB activity result in a series of specific symptoms that include defects in innate immunity and a syndrom called EDA (anhidrotic ectodermal dysplasia). In collaboration with K Rajewsky we have also characterized NEMO KO mice, which represent a good animal model for IP. We have also characterized a molecule which is very similar to NEMO, which is associated with kinases in a cytoplasmic high molecular weight complex, but which is not involved in the NF-kB pathway.

Analysis of NF-kB activity in vivo (S. Mémet, A. Lilienbaum, V. Fridmacher, B. Goudeau)

Following inactivation of the gene encoding the IkBe inhibitor and the demonstration that this molecule plays a specific role in the differentiation of one T-cell precursor species and in the transcriptional control of specific immunoglobulin and cytokine sub-types, we have constructed mice where the genes encoding two inhibitors, IkBe and IkBa, have been inactivated. The phenotype of these double KO mice is more severe than that of each individual KO : they die shortly after birth and display an increased NF-kB binding activity, correlated with an overexpression of some NF-kB target genes. Analysis of IkBa/IkBe-deficient lymphoid cells at E18.5 showed an impaired B cell production, arrested at the pre-B to B cell transition, due to massive apoptosis of B cell progenitors. An unexpected role of IkBe in the homing/migration of T and B lymphocytes in secondary lymphoid organs was also revealed. These results emphasize the pivotal role of NF-kB in the homeostasis and survival of lymphocytes and suggest that its reduction or rise leads to a similar dysfunction.

On the other hand an approach aimed at expressing an inhibitor of NF-kB in a tissue-specific manner has been undertaken. Particular emphasis has been put on the brain, where the analysis of reporter lacZ mice had demonstrated an important NF-kB activity. In line with this project, the response to NF-kB activating signals is currently being studied in primary cultures of neurons.

The Notch signaling pathway (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, E. Six, O. LeBail)

We have proposed a model according to which the activation of the Notch cascade requires a series of 3 proteolytic steps. The first step is due to furin and is required for cell surface expression of a functional receptor. A second step is required for signaling and takes place in the extracellular region of the receptor, close to the transmembrane region. The enzyme involved has been identified as being a membrane metalloprotease called TACE, originally described as responsible for the shedding of TNF. The final step is due to an activity called g-secretase, and results in the liberation and nuclear translocation of the intracellular region of the receptor, which behaves as a transcriptional co-activator. We have recently shown that the activity of this molecule is controled by the ubiquitin-proteasome pathway : following phosphorylation by a nuclear kinase, it is recognized by an E3 ubiquitin-ligase called SEL-10, therefore leading to its degradation by the proteasome.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Marie-Dominique AYTAC – INSTITUT PASTEUR

BROU Christel – INSTITUT PASTEUR – cbrou@pasteur.fr

COURTOIS Gilles – INSERM – gmcourt@pasteur.fr

LOGEAT Frédérique – CNRS – flogeat@pasteur.fr

MEMET Sylvie – INSERM

WEIL Robert – CNRS – rweil@pasteur.fr

ARBIBE Laurence - postdoc – arbibe@pasteur.fr

GUPTA Neetu – postdoc – ngupta@pasteur.fr

SCHWAMBORN Klaus – postdoc – klaus@pasteur.fr

SIX Emmanuelle – PhD Student – esix@pasteur.fr

LE BAIL Odile (engineer) – INSTITUT PASTEUR – olebail@pasteur.fr

BESSIA Christine (technician) – INSTITUT PASTEUR – cbessia@pasteur.fr

MOURGUIN-NAGUIN Stéphanie – INSTITUT PASTEUR


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Bmeg


  Responsable : Alain ISRAEL (aisrael@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les projets du laboratoire portent sur l'étude de deux systèmes de signalisation caractérisés par des événements inductibles de protéolyse, aboutissant au transport nucléaire de facteurs de transcription. Un premier projet concerne la famille de facteurs de transcription rel/NF-kB, dont l'activité est contrôlée par des mécanismes de rétention cytoplasmique impliquant des molécules inhibitrices dont la dégradation est induite par une variété de signaux. Nous avons identifié la première maladie génétique humaine causée par une déficience de cette voie de signalisation. Un second projet porte sur le récepteur Notch qui transmet un signal à la suite de 3 étapes de protéolyse et du transport nucléaire de sa région intracellulaire : nous avons identifié un mécanisme de contrôle de cette activité qui implique la dégradation de la forme nucléaire de ce récepteur.



  rapport

cale

Analyse génétique et biochimique des voies d'activation des facteurs de transcription NF- kB (G. Courtois, R. Weil, K. Schwamborn, L. Arbibe, C. Bessia)

Nous avons démontré en collaboration avec un consortium international que la maladie génétique humaine connue sous le nom d'Incontinentia pigmenti (IP) est la conséquence de mutations dans le gène codant NEMO, la sous-unité structurale/régulatrice du complexe IKKqui joue un rôle central dans la voie de signalisation NF-kB. Ces mutations ont pour conséquence une déficience totale de cette voie de signalisation. En collaboration avec le groupe de JL Casanova, nous avons montré que des mutations qui n'abolissent pas totalement la voie NF-kB se traduisent chez l'homme par une série de symptomes incluant en particulier un déficit de l'immunité innée et un syndrome appelé DEA (dysplasie ectodermale anhidrotique). En collaboration avec le groupe de K Rajewsky nous avons généré des souris portant une invalidation du gène NEMO, qui représentent un modèle pour la pathologie humaine IP. Nous avons finalement caractérisé une molécule qui présente des analogies très fortes avec NEMO, qui est associée au sein d'un complexe de haut poids moléculaire avec des kinases, mais qui n'est pas impliquée dans la voie de signalisation NF-kB.

Analyse de l'activité NF- kB in vivo (S. Mémet, A. Lilienbaum, V. Fridmacher, B. Goudeau)

Suite à l'invalidation du gène codant l'inhibiteur IkBe, qui démontre que cette molécule joue un rôle dans la différenciation d'une des sous-populations de cellules T et le contrôle transcriptionnel de certaines immunoglobulines et cytokines, nous avons construit des souris déficientes en deux inhibiteurs, IkBa et IkBe. Le phénotype de ces souris est nettement plus sévère que celui des souris simple KO : elles meurent à la naissance et montrent une activité NF-kB augmentée, associée à une augmentation de l'expression de certains gènes-cibles. L'analyse des cellules lymphoïdes à E18,5 montre un déficit en cellules B matures, dû à une apoptose massive des cellules progénitrices. Des expériences de reconstitution dans des souris-hôtes ont identifié un rôle inattendu de NF-kB dans la migration des cellules B et T vers les organes lymphoïdes secondaires. Ces résultats confirment le rôle central de NF-kB dans l'homéostasie et la survie des lymphocytes, et suggérent qu'un déficit ou une augmentation de NF-kB peuvent induire des dysfonctionnements similaires.

D'autre part une approche permettant d'exprimer de manière inductible l'inhibiteur IkBa dans un tissu donné a été entreprise. Un effort particulier a été porté sur le cerveau, organe que les souris portant le gène lacZ avaient montré comme étant un site important d'activité NF- kB. Dans cette optique la réponse aux signaux d'activation de NF-kB est étudiée dans des neurones en culture.

La voie de signalisation Notch (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, E. Six, O. LeBail)

Nous avons proposé un modèle selon lequel l'activation du récepteur Notch implique 3 étapes de maturation protéolytique. La première coupure est dûe à la furine et est nécessaire à l'expression à la membrane d'un récepteur fonctionnel. Une seconde étape de coupure nécessaire à l'activation, toujours dans la région extracellulaire, a été caractérisée. L'enzyme responsable a été identifiée, du moins dans certains tissus, comme étant TACE, une métalloprotéase impliquée dans la maturation du TNF. L'étape finale est dûe à une activité nommée g-secrétase, et aboutit à la libération de la région intracellulaire du récepteur qui est transportée dans le noyau où elle se comporte comme un co-activateur transcriptionnel. Nous avons récemment montré que l'activité de cette molécule est contrôlée par la voie ubiquitine-protéasomes : à la suite d'une étape de phosphorylation nucléaire, elle est reconnue spécifiquement par une ubiquitine-ligase nommée SEL-10, aboutissant ainsi à sa dégradation par le protéasome.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Marie-Dominique AYTAC – INSTITUT PASTEUR

BROU Christel – INSTITUT PASTEUR – cbrou@pasteur.fr

COURTOIS Gilles – INSERM – gmcourt@pasteur.fr

LOGEAT Frédérique – CNRS – flogeat@pasteur.fr

MEMET Sylvie – INSERM

WEIL Robert – CNRS – rweil@pasteur.fr

ARBIBE Laurence - post-doc – arbibe@pasteur.fr

GUPTA Neetu – post-doc – ngupta@pasteur.fr

SCHWAMBORN Klaus – post-doc – klaus@pasteur.fr

SIX Emmanuelle – thésarde – esix@pasteur.fr

LE BAIL Odile (ingénieur) – INSTITUT PASTEUR – olebail@pasteur.fr

BESSIA Christine (technicienne) – INSTITUT PASTEUR – cbessia@pasteur.fr

MOURGUIN-NAGUIN Stéphanie (aide de laboratoire) – INSTITUT PASTEUR


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.