Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Biogenpalu


  Director : Ménard, Robert (rmenard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We study the sporozoite stage of Plasmodium, the etiological agent of malaria. The sporozoite is the parasite stage transmitted from the mosquito vector to the mammalian host. To progress from where it is generated (mosquito midgut) to where it differentiates into the next stage (mammalian hepatocyte), the sporozoite must invade multiple cell types in its hosts. Our work focuses on the molecular basis of the sporozoite infectious process. To facilitate these functional studies, we use a plasmodial species that infects rodents, Plasmodium berghei. This species offers the possibility to analyze liver infection in vivo, and is amenable to reverse genetic techniques. We started installing the laboratory in september 2000, and initiated two projects: 1) studying the molecular basis of sporozoite gliding motility and cell invasive capacities, and 2) identitifying products that are involved in the early cross-talk between the internalized parasite and the host cell.



  report

cale

Molecular basis of gliding motility and cell invasion by sporozoites (Teresa Gil Carvalho, Friedrich Frischknecht, Sabine Thiberge)

Like any invasive stage of the Apicomplexa phylum of protozoa, the Plasmodium sporozoite displays two major phenotypes : it can glide on solid substrates (without changing its shape, which distinguishes gliding from the classical crawling motility) and can invades virtually any adherent cell. These two processes have similar bases and result from capping of interactions between the parasite and the substrate or the cell : posterior translocation of these interactions leads to forward displacement of the parasite (on the substrate or within a parasitophorous vacuole inside the host cell).
Our previous work has shown that 1) sporozoite gliding and cell invasion depend on a transmembrane protein, TRAP; 2) TRAP connects an actin-dependent motor system to receptors on the substrate/cell that are used as anchors for motility and cell invasion by the sporozoite; 3) two adhesive modules present in the ectodomain of TRAP, an I domain of integrin a chains and a thrombospondin type 1 repeat, are necessary and sufficient for sporozoite entry into any host cell (including mosquito salivary glands and rat hepatocytes in vivo). We are currently trying to 1) identify the cell receptor(s) that bind the TRAP I domain, which mediates most of the sporozoite invasive capacities, and 2) characterize the motor system that translocates TRAP and powers sporozoite gliding and cell penetration. This second part is addressed by identifying products that bind the cytoplasmic tail of TRAP and developing conditional mutagenesis techniques, which will be required for analyzing the function of components of the motor system specifically at the sporozoite stage.


Identification of parasite and host cell factors that are necessary for parasite development inside hepatocytes (Hiroshi Sakamoto, Sylviane Pacheco, Alka Agrawal)

Once the sporozoite is within a vacuole inside the hepatocyte, the parasite dedifferentiates and generates tens of thousands of merozoites, the parasite stage that infects erythrocytes and causes all symptoms of the disease. Most studies on parasite liver stages have attempted to characterize new vaccine candidates, as well as the immunological basis of the solid protection induced by injection of irradiated sporozoites (whose development inside hepatocytes is blocked). On the other hand, our understanding of parasite maturation in the liver is limited to a few descriptive studies, and only a handful of parasite molecules expressed inside hepatocytes have been identified. This is mainly due to the difficulties to obtain pure parasite material and to manipulate the scarce intrahepatocytic stages of the parasite.
To facilitate studies on liver stages, we have constructed a P. berghei clone that expresses GFP at those stages and allows for the first time to isolate by FACS the rare infected cells from noninfected cells. Using this system, we want to characterize the early crosstalk between the parasite and the hepatocyte. We have undertaken the identification of parasite genes expressed after sporozoite entry into host cells, as well as hepatocyte genes whose expression is affected by parasite infection, using two complementary approaches, transcriptome analysis (using shotgun microarrays) and subtractive suppressive hybridization.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

no secretary

Robert Ménard, chercheur IP (rmenard@pasteur.fr)

Sylviane Pacheco, Boursière Roux (spacheco@pasteur.fr)

Teresa Gil Carvalho, PhD Student (carvalho@pasteur.fr)

Friedrich Frischknecht, post-doctoral fellow (freddy@pasteur.fr)

Alka Agrawal, post-doctoral fellow (october 2001)

Hiroshi Sakamoto, Ingénieur IP (hiroshi@pasteur.fr)

Sabine Thiberge, Laboratory Technician (october 2001)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Biogenpalu


  Responsable : Ménard, Robert (rmenard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions le stade sporozoïte de Plasmodium, le parasite agent du paludisme. Le sporozoïte est le stade parasitaire transmis par le moustique vecteur à l'hôte mammifère. Pour se rendre de son lieu de naissance (intestin de moustique) à son lieu de différenciation (hépatocyte de mammifère), le sporozoïte doit envahir divers types cellulaires chez ses hôtes. Notre recherche est centrée sur le déterminisme moléculaire du processus infectieux par le sporozoïte plasmodial. Pour faciliter cette étude fonctionnelle, nous utilisons une espèce parasitaire qui infecte les rongeurs, Plasmodium berghei. Celle-ci offre non seulement la possibilité d'analyser l'infection hépatique in vivo mais aussi un terrain très favorable à des approches de génétique inverse. Nous avons entamé l'installation du laboratoire en septembre 2000, et mis en route deux projets: 1) étude des bases moléculaires des capacités de mobilité et d'invasion cellulaire par les sporozoïtes, et 2) identification de produits impliqués dans l'interaction/signalisation précoce qui s'établit entre le parasite internalisé et l'hépatocyte hôte.



  rapport

cale

Bases moléculaires de la mobilité en glissant et l'invasion cellulaire par les sporozoïtes (Teresa Gil Carvalho, Friedrich Frischknecht, Sabine Thiberge)

Comme tout stade invasif du phylum des Apicomplexes, le sporozoïte de Plasmodium exprime deux phénotypes majeurs: il est capable de ‘glisser' sur un substrat solide (sans changer de forme, ce qui distingue la mobilité en glissant de la classique mobilité en rampant) et d'envahir toute cellule adhérente. Ces deux processus ont des bases communes et résultent d'un phénomène de capping d'interactions entre le parasite et le substrat ou la cellule : la translocation postérieure de ces interactions entraîne le mouvement en avant du parasite (sur le substrat ou à l'intérieur d'une vacuole parasitophore dans la cellule hôte).
Notre travail précédent avait montré que 1) mobilité et invasion des sporozoïtes dépendent d'une protéine transmembranaire, TRAP; 2) TRAP lie un système moteur actine-dépendant à des récepteurs sur le substrat/cellule qui servent d'ancrage pour la mobilité/pénétration du sporozoïte; 3) deux modules d'adhésion présents dans la partie extracellulaire de TRAP, un domaine I de chaîne ad'intégrine et un motif de type 1 de la thrombospondine, constituent les ligands nécessaires et suffisants pour l'entrée du sporozoïte dans toute cellule cible (notamment les glandes salivaires du moustique et les hépatocytes de rat in vivo). Nous tentons actuellement 1) d'identifier le(s) récepteur(s) cellulaire(s) reconnu(s) par le domaine I de TRAP, qui médie l'essentiel des capacités invasives du sporozoïte, et 2) de caractériser le système moteur qui transloque TRAP et fournit la force nécessaire à la mobilité et au pouvoir invasif du sporozoïte. Ce deuxième point est abordé par la recherche de produits qui lient la partie cytoplasmique de TRAP et le développement de techniques de mutagénèse conditionnelle, qui seront nécessaires à l'analyse de la fonction des composants du système moteur spécifiquement au stade sporozoïte.


Identification de produits parasitaires et cellulaires nécessaires au développement du parasite dans l'hépatocyte (Hiroshi Sakamoto, Sylviane Pacheco, Alka Agrawal)

Une fois le sporozoïte dans une vacuole à l'intérieur de l'hépatocyte, son développement l'amène à se dédifferencier et à générer des dizaines de milliers de mérozoïtes, le stade parasitaire qui infecte les érythrocytes et cause tous les symptomes de la maladie. La plupart des études portant sur les stades hépatiques du parasite ont tenté de caractériser de nouveaux candidats vaccinaux, ainsi que les bases immunologiques de la protection solide induite par l'injection de sporozoïtes irradiés (dont le développement intrahépatique est bloqué). En revanche, notre connaissance du processus de maturation du parasite dans le foie est limitée à quelques études descriptives, et on ne connaît que quelques molécules parasitaires spécifiques des stades intrahépatocytaires. Ceci est dû aux difficultés d'obtention de matériel parasitaire pur et de manipulation de ces stades produits en très faibles quantités.
Pour faciliter l'étude de ces stades parasitaires, nous avons construit un clone de P.berghei qui exprime la GFP aux stades d'intérêt, et qui permet pour la première fois de séparer par FACS les rares cellules infectées des cellules non infectées. A l'aide de ce système, nous voulons caractériser l'interaction précoce entre le parasite et l'hépatocyte. Nous avons entamé l'identification de gènes parasitaires exprimés après l'entrée du sporozoïte dans la cellule hôte, ainsi que des gènes hépatocytaires dont l'expression est modifiée par l'infection parasitaire, grâce aux techniques complémentaires d'analyse de transcriptomes (par shotgun microarray) et d'hybridation soustractive et suppressive.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

pas de secrétariat

Robert Ménard, chercheur IP (rmenard@pasteur.fr)

Sylviane Pacheco, Boursière Roux (spacheco@pasteur.fr)

Teresa Gil Carvalho, Etudiante en Thèse (carvalho@pasteur.fr)

Friedrich Frischknecht, Stagiaire post-doctoral (freddy@pasteur.fr)

Alka Agrawal, Stagiaire post-doctoral (octobre 2001)

Hiroshi Sakamoto, Ingénieur IP (hiroshi@pasteur.fr)

Sabine Thiberge, Technicienne de Laboratoire (octobre 2001)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.