Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Bihp


  Director : BRAUN-BRETON Catherine (cbb@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The unit is composed of three laboratories headed by C. Braun-Breton, D. Mattei and A. Scherf, respectively. The studies carried out in the unit concern the protozoan parasite Plasmodium and essentially the species P. falciparum, which is responsible for the most serious cases of malaria in humans. We are interested in the interaction between this parasite and its host cell, the red blood cell or erythrocyte, and the interactions between infected erythrocytes and other cells of the host, such as endothelial cells. The main aim of the unit is to increase our understanding of the mechanisms associated with biological functions crucial to the development of the parasite in mammalian hosts, such as invasion of the host cell, the modifications to the host cell induced by the intracellular parasite, the maintenance of integrity and the generation of diversity in the parasite genome.



  report

cale

1. Enzymes involved in the entry of the parasite into and its exit from the erythrocyte (C. Braun-Breton)

We are interested in characterisation of the secretory compartments of P. falciparum involved in the invasion of erythrocytes or release of the form of the parasite that infects erythrocytes, the merozoite. This study makes use of the techniques of proteomics and should enable us to determine which proteins constitute these compartments and the biological role of the various compartments. In particular, we are seeking to identify enzyme activities crucial for these key steps in parasite development, which could be the targets of specific inhibitors.
We have already demonstrated the activities of several proteases and phospholipases, the characterisation of which is underway. We are particularly interested in characterisation of the parasite serine protease responsible for the last step in the processing of MSP1 (the major surface protein of merozoites), which is essential for the entry of the parasite into the erythrocyte. Our work suggests that this processing is carried out by the product of the sub2 gene, which we have recently characterised in P. falciparum and in a species of Plasmodium that infects rodents, P. berghei. In collaboration with the laboratory of A. Waters (Leiden, the Netherlands) and using parasite transgenesis, we have shown that sub2 is a gene essential for the erythrocyte cycle of Plasmodium. We have also characterised the sub2 gene of another major causal agent of human malaria, P. vivax. Finally, we have developed tools for the determination of SUB2 activity. In collaboration with the laboratory of Jean Martinez (Montpellier University), we are developing specific inhibitors of PfSUB2 and of another parasite serine protease, Pfgp96, which we have shown to be involved in the entry of the parasite into red blood cells. Inhibitors active against these enzymes and that block the invasion of erythrocytes at micromolar concentrations have been obtained. We are currently trying to increase their efficacy.


2.1 Erythrocyte surface molecules of P. falciparum and their role in malaria pathogenesis and immune evasion (A. Scherf)

In natural P. falciparum infections, parasitized erythrocytes (PE) circulate in the peripheral blood for a period corresponding roughly to the first part of the erythrocytic life cycle (ring stage). Later in blood-stage development, parasite-encoded adhesion molecules are inserted into the erythrocyte membrane, preventing the circulation of the PE. The principal molecule mediating PE adhesion is P. falciparum erythrocyte membrane protein 1(PfEMP1), encoded by the polymorphic var gene family. Members of the var gene family are subject to clonal antigenic variation and we have recently shown that a single antigen variant is expressed at the PE surface, in an exclusive manner. In addition, our data demonstrate its role in immune evasion and switches in PfEMP1 expression may be associated with fundamental changes in parasite tissue tropism in malaria patients. A switch from CD36-binding to chondroitin sulfate A (CSA)-binding may lead to extensive sequestration of PE in placenta syncytiotrophoblasts. This is probably a key event in malaria pathogenesis during pregnancy. We have identified the CSA binding domain of the PfEMP1 molecule and are investigating its potential for new intervention strategies to protect women during pregnancy. The CSA-binding phenotype of mature PE is linked to another distinct adhesive phenotype: the recently described CSA-independent cytoadhesion of ring-stage PE. Thus, a subpopulation of PE that sequentially displays these two different phenotypes, may bind to an individual endothelial cell or syncytiotrophoblast throughout the asexual blood stage-cycle. This suggests that non-circulating (cryptic) parasite subpopulations are present in malaria patients.


2.2. Telomeres, are they the ‘Achilles Heel' of Plasmodium ? (A. Scherf)

We have been studying different aspects of telomere biology of malaria parasites. In single-celled organisms, telomere length needs to be maintained within a minimal size range, to ensure the survival of the cell. However, due to the incomplete replication of linear chromosomes, there is a net loss of telomeric DNA with each successive cell division. To compensate for this loss, new telomeric repeats are added onto chromosome ends in a reaction catalysed by a specialised reverse transcriptase called telomerase. In the absence of telomerase activity, telomeres shrink with each replication cycle and the erosion is so extensive that with time the telomere capping function becomes severely compromised, leading to growth arrest and eventually senescence. We have shown that the mean telomere length of P. falciparum is maintained at a constant average size during blood stage proliferation and telomerase activity has been detected in protein extracts of cells at this stage. A candidate for the P. falciparum telomerase catalytic subunit has been identified in the genome database. Knock out experiments are in process to verify that this is an essential gene for the survival of the parasite and can be considered as a new target for the development of anti-parasite therapies.
New data on the organization of plasmodial telomeres has been recently obtained in our laboratory. Telomeres form clusters of 4 to 7 heterologous chromosome ends at the nuclear periphery in asexual and sexual parasite stages. This subnuclear compartment promotes gene conversion between members of subtelomeric virulence factor genes in heterologous chromosomes resulting in diversity of antigenic and adhesive phenotypes. This has important implications for parasite survival.


3. Trafficking of parasite proteins to the membrane of parasitised erythrocytes (D. Mattei)

"Knobs", protuberances resulting from modifications to the erythrocyte membrane induced by the parasite, are observed at points of adhesion to endothelial cells and are involved in the phenomenon of parasite sequestration. Several proteins of parasite origin are present in the "knobs": PfHRPI (histidine-rich protein I), the major structural component of "knobs", and the variant antigen PfEMP1 (erythrocyte membrane protein 1), a parasite ligand that interacts with endothelial cells. PfEMP1 is anchored to the surface of the "knobs" via PfHRPI.
Studies of cytoadhesion in vitro, in flux conditions similar to those of the bloodstream, showed that parasites devoid of "knobs" adhere only weakly to endothelial cells. The mechanisms of transport and protein targeting in P. falciparum are poorly understood. Our work has demonstrated the existence of two different secretion pathways: the classical pathway, via the endoplasmic reticulum (ER) and the Golgi apparatus, and an alternative pathway insensitive to brefeldin A (BFA). We found that, in strain FCR3, the transport of PfHRPI seemed to be insensitive to the action of BFA. The C-terminal extremity of PfHRPI presents a potential isoprenylation site preceded by a sequence of several basic amino acids. The association of these two motifs constitutes a signal for targeting to the plasma membrane and may mediate the secretion of PfHRPI into the cytoplasm of the red blood cell. Experiments involving metabolic labelling with a radioactive isoprenylation precursor, followed by immunoprecipitation, suggest that PfHRPI is probably isoprenylated. Characterisation of the secretion pathways specific to the parasite may lead to the identification of new targets of potential importance for the development of drugs active against the adhesion phenotype of parasitised erythrocytes.
Our recent co-localisation studies with several secreted proteins in BFA-treated parasites suggest that the ER is composed of different domains. It is possible that the properties of the polypeptides, such as their solubility or affinity for membranes, protein-protein interactions or post-translational modifications, determine their ‘compartmentalisation'. Our result suggest that the targeting of P. falciparum proteins to the various compartments of the infected erythrocyte begins within the ER.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

LOZNER Josyane - I. P. - jlozner@pasteur.fr

BRAUN-BRETON Catherine - Chef de Laboratoire - I. P. - cbb@pasteur.fr

MATTEI Denise - Chef de Laboratoire - I .P. - dmm@pasteur.fr

SCHERF Artur - Directeur de Recherche - CNRS - ascherf@pasteur.fr

BARALE Jean Christophe - Chargé de Recherche - CNRS – jcb@pasteur.fr

BERRY Laurence - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant

FIGUEIREDO Luisa - Stagiaire Doctorant

FREITAS Lucio Jr - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant

NACER Adèla - Stagiaire

PIRRIT Lindsay - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant

UZUREAU Pierrick - Stagiaire Doctorant

VINCENSINI Laetitia – Stagiaire D.E.A.

BLISNICK Thierry -Ingénieur - I.P. – tblisnic@pasteur .fr

SCHEIDIG-BENATAR Christine - Technicienne Sup. Labo - I.P. – cbenatar@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Bihp


  Responsable : BRAUN-BRETON Catherine (cbb@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les études menées dans l'unité concernent le protozoaire parasite Plasmodium et essentiellement l'espèce falciparum responsable des cas les plus graves de paludisme chez l'Homme. Nous nous intéressons à l'étude de l'interaction entre ce parasite et sa cellule hôte, le globule rouge, et à celle des interactions entre l'érythrocyte infecté et d'autres cellules de l'hôte mammifère comme les cellules endothéliales. L'activité de l'Unité a pour objectif une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes liés à des fonctions biologiques cruciales pour le développement du parasite chez l'hôte mammifère telles que l'invasion de la cellule hôte, les modifications de la cellule hôte induites par le parasite intracellulaire, le maintien de l'intégrité et la création de la diversité du génome parasitaire.



  rapport

cale

1. Enzymes impliquées dans l'entrée et la sortie du parasite de l'érythrocyte (C. Braun-Breton)

Nous nous intéressons à la caractérisation de compartiments sécrétoires de P. falciparum impliqués soit dans l'invasion des érythrocytes soit dans la libération de formes parasitaires infectieuses pour les érythrocytes, les mérozoïtes. Cette étude fait appel à des techniques de protéomique et devrait nous permettre de préciser quelles protéines constituent ces compartiments ainsi que le rôle biologique de ces différents compartiments. Nous cherchons en particulier à identifier l'ensemble des activités enzymatiques qui seraient cruciales pour ces étapes clés du développement parasitaire et pourraient être la cible d'inhibiteurs spécifiques.
Nous avons déjà mis en évidence plusieurs activités protéases et phospholipases dont la caractérisation est poursuivie. Nous nous intéressons particulièrement à la caractérisation de la sérylprotéase parasitaire assurant la dernière étape de maturation de la protéine MSP1 (protéine majeure de surface des mérozoïtes), maturation indispensable à l'entrée du parasite dans l'érythrocyte. Notre travail nous a conduits à proposer que cette maturation est assurée par le produit du gène sub2, gène que nous avons récemment caractérisé chez P. falciparum et chez un Plasmodium de rongeurs, P. berghei. En collaboration avec le laboratoire de A. Waters (Leiden, Pays Bas) et par l'utilisation de techniques de transgenèse des parasites, nous avons démontré que sub2 est un gène essentiel pour le cycle érythrocytaire de Plasmodium. Nous avons, par ailleurs, caractérisé le gène sub2 chez l'autre agent causal majeur du paludisme humain, P. vivax. Enfin, nous avons développé les outils permettant de préciser l'activité enzymatique de SUB2. En collaboration avec le laboratoire de Jean Martinez (Université de Montpellier) nous développons des inhibiteurs spécifiques de PfSUB2 ainsi que d'une autre sérylprotéase parasitaire Pfgp76 dont nous avons montré le rôle pour l'entrée du parasite dans le globule rouge. Des inhibiteurs actifs contre ces enzymes et bloquant l'invasion des érythrocytes à des concentrations de l'ordre du micromolaire ont été obtenus. Nous cherchons actuellement à améliorer leur efficacité.


2.1. Variation antigénique chez P. falciparum et adhérence des globules rouges infectés (A. Scherf)

L'accès pernicieux marqué par des signes neurologiques et le paludisme pendant la grossesse restent des complications redoutables de l'infection par P. falciparum. Cette pathologie semble liée à la présence de protéines d'origine parasitaire, en particulier les protéines Var, à la surface des globules rouges. Ces protéines médient des phénomènes tels que l'adhérence de ces érythrocytes aux cellules endothéliales (séquestration). L'expression de variants de ces protéines se traduit par une dérive phénotypique (variation antigénique) résultant en une variabilité de l'adhérence des érythrocytes infectés à l'endothélium vasculaire. Afin d'étudier les mécanismes moléculaires permettant la régulation d'expression et de commutation (switching) des gènes var, trois populations isogéniques de P. falciparum ont été sélectionnées in vitro, chacune d'entre elles n'adhèrant qu'à un seul de ces trois récepteurs: CD36, ICAM1 ou CSA. Contrairement à ce qui est observé chez d'autres micro-organismes faisant appel à la variation antigénique, la commutation d'expression des gènes var n'est pas accompagnée de réarrangement programmé de l'ADN; on parle donc de commutation in situ. De façon inattendue, une transcription simultanée de tous les gènes var a été observée au stade anneau. En revanche, leur expression est étroitement régulée chez les trophozoïtes mûrs, par l'intermédiaire d'un mécanisme d'extinction (silencing) de tous les gènes de la famille sauf un. Le contrôle transcriptionnel au stade trophozoïte semble donc mutuellement exclusif: une population parasitaire de phénotype de cytoadhérence défini n'exprimerait qu'un seul des gènes var présents dans son génome. Un ou des mécanismes épigénétiques sont donc impliqués dans la régulation d'expression des gènes var.
Dans les progénies de deux croisements génétiques de P. falciparum, , nous avons détecté des réarrangements majeurs d'ADN au cours de la méiose et impliquant les gènes var. La méiose semble donc jouer un rôle crucial dans la génération de la diversité des gènes var ce qui pourrait expliquer que le répertoire des gènes var de souches différentes présente très peu de chevauchement. Ces évènements recombinatoires surviennent entre les régions sub-télomériques de chromosomes hétérologues qui s'associent en "cluster" (4 à 7 télomeres par cluster) près de la périphérie nucléaire tant dans les stades asexués que sexués du parasite. Nous proposons que ce positionnement côte à côte de gènes var portés par des chromosomes hétérologues facilite la conversion génique favorisant ainsi la diversité des antigènes et des phénotypes d'adhérence.
Notre travail confirme la liaison entre variation antigènique et variation du phénotype de cytoadhérence chez P. falciparum. La variation antigénique pourrait parfois s'accompagner d'une variation de tropisme parasitaire car la répartition des différents récepteurs endothéliaux n'est pas homogène d'un organe à l'autre. Cette variation de tropisme pourrait être liée à la variété clinique des formes graves du paludisme. En zone holoendémique, les femmes sont particulièrement susceptibles à l'infection par P. falciparum pendant leur première grossesse, avec des conséquences graves pour l'enfant (hypotrophie, mortalité infantile). L'adhérence élective d'une sous-population parasitaire à la chondroitine sulfate (CSA) - récepteur présent en grande quantité au niveau placentaire - est responsable de cette susceptibilité. Des parasites qui cytoadhèrent spécifiquement au récepteur CSA ont été sélectionnés et isolés par adhérence à des cellules endothéliales exprimant exclusivement ce récepteur. Nous avons ainsi pu caractériser un gène var spécifiant un ligand de CSA. La région de la protéine qui se lie avec la CSA a été identifiée. Ces résultats pourraient déboucher sur de nouvelles méthodes de contrôle du paludisme gestationnel: déséquestration placentaire ou immunoprophylaxie.
L'expression successive de deux phénotypes d'adhérence différents, (hématies parasités par des stades jeunes sur récepteur inconnu puis hématies parasités par des stades mûres sur la CSA) couvrant toute la durée du cycle intra-érythrocytaire, permettrait à cette sous-population particulière de rester séquestrée en permanence. Nous avons proposé le terme de "cycle cryptique" pour décrire ce potentiel physiopathogénique particulier, qui a pour corollaire l'absence de cette sous-population du sang périphérique.


2.2. La télomérase plasmodiale. (A. Scherf)

Mise en évidence d'une activité télomérase chez P. falciparum. L'étude des télomères et de la télomérase de P. falciparum présente un intérêt scientifique fondamental mais aussi médical. Nous avons développé un test in vitro , le "Pf-TRAP", qui a permis de détecter, pour la première fois, une activité télomérase chez P. falciparum synthétisant de novo des répétitions télomériques à l'extrémité 3' du substrat fourni. Nos résultats suggèrent que la télomérase est également impliquée dans la cicatrisation des cassures chromosomiques observées pendant les divisons mitotiques. La télomérase étant une transcriptase inverse spécialisée, nous avons testé l'effet de deux inhibiteurs de transcriptases inverses rétrovirales, l'AZT et l'Acyclo-GTP, et montré que ces substances inhibent efficacement l'activité télomérase parasitaire in vitro. Les gènes codant pour l'activité de transcriptases inverses de la télomérase ont étés clonés pour P. falciparum et P. berghei. Nous avons commencé à caractériser la protéine.


3. Trafic de protéines parasitaires vers la membrane des érythrocytes parasités (D. Mattei)

Les "knobs", des protubérances résultant de modifications de la membrane de l'érythrocyte induites par le parasite, sont observées aux points d'adhérence avec les cellules endothéliales et ont été impliquées dans le phénomène de séquestration parasitaire. Plusieurs protéines d'origine parasitaire sont présentes au niveau des "knobs": PfHRPI (Histidine Rich Protein I), le composant structural majeur des "knobs" et l'antigène variant PfEMP1 (Erythrocyte Membrane Protein 1), ligand parasitaire interagissant avec les cellules endothéliales. PfEMP1 est ancré à la surface des "knobs" par l'intermédiaire de PfHRPI. L'étude de la cytoadhérence in vitro, dans des conditions de flux semblables à celles de la circulation sanguine, a montré que les parasites dépourvus de "knobs" adhèrent faiblement aux cellules endothéliales. Les mécanismes de transport et d'adressage de protéines chez P. falciparum sont encore mal connus. Nos travaux ont mis en évidence deux voies de sécrétion distinctes: la voie classique, via le réticulum endoplasmique (RE) et l'appareil de Golgi, et une voie alternative définie par son insensibilité à la Bréfeldine A (BFA). Nous avons observé que, dans la souche FCR3, le transport de la protéine PfHRPI semble être insensible à l'action de la BFA. L'extrémité C-terminale de PfHRPI présente un site potentiel d'isoprénylation précédé d'une séquence polybasique. L'association de ces deux motifs est susceptible de constituer un signal d'adressage vers la membrane plasmique et pourrait médier la sécrétion de PfHRPI vers le cytoplasme du globule rouge. Des expériences de marquage métabolique avec un précurseur radioactif d'isoprénylation, suivies d'immunoprécipitation suggèrent que PfHRPI serait isoprénylée. La caractérisation de voies de sécrétion spécifiques au parasite pourra conduire à l'identification de nouvelles cibles importantes pour le développement de drogues actives contre le phénotype d'adhésion des érythrocytes parasités.
Les études de co-localisation de protéines sécrétées par les parasites traités à la BFA suggèrent que le RE serait constitué de plusieurs domaines. Il est possible que les propriétés des polypeptides, comme leur solubilité ou leur affinité pour les membranes, en liaison avec des interactions protéine-protéine ou des modifications post-traductionelles, puissent déterminer leur compartimentalisation. Nous considérons l'hypothèse que l'adressage des protéines vers les différents compartiments de l'érythrocyte infecté commence au sein du RE.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

LOZNER Josyane - I. P. - jlozner@pasteur.fr

BRAUN-BRETON Catherine - Chef de Laboratoire - I. P. - cbb@pasteur.fr

MATTEI Denise - Chef de Laboratoire - I .P. - dmm@pasteur.fr

SCHERF Artur - Directeur de Recherche - CNRS - ascherf@pasteur.fr

BARALE Jean Christophe - Chargé de Recherche - CNRS – jcb@pasteur.fr

BERRY Laurence - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant

FIGUEIREDO Luisa - Stagiaire Doctorant

FREITAS Lucio Jr - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant

NACER Adèla - Stagiaire

PIRRIT Lindsay - Stagiaire Post-Doctorant

UZUREAU Pierrick - Stagiaire Doctorant

VINCENSINI Laetitia – Stagiaire D.E.A.

BLISNICK Thierry -Ingénieur - I.P. – tblisnic@pasteur .fr

SCHEIDIG-BENATAR Christine - Technicienne Sup. Labo - I.P. – cbenatar@pasteur.fr


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.