ressources
Home Ressources Services Exhibitions
Homepage version française
   

Document sans nom

 

Open Archives > OAI protocols

   
   
1. Definition of the protocol OAI
2. Aims of the protocol OAI
   
   
1. Definition of the protocol OAI
 

The OAI-PMH (Open Archives Initiative's Protocol for Metadata Harvesting) is an intiative to develop and promote interoperability standards that aim to facilitate the efficient dissemination of content between :

- the data provider (libraries, museum...) who set OAI repositories to expose their metadata

- the service provider (could be libraries, documentation centers, portals) who issues OAI harvesters to collect the metadata of the sites of interest.

The OAI-Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH) defines a mechanism for harvesting records containing metadata from repositories. The OAI-PMH gives a simple technical option for data providers to make their metadata available to services in full text, based on the open standards HTTP (Hypertext Transport Protocol) and XML (Extensible Markup Language) without duplication neither modification of their original location.

Through the OAI protocol, a Library acting as a data provider can offer a visibility to its documents, mainly to its electronic publications or to its specialised collections.

Vice versa, acting as a service provider , a Library can create a database or a portal in its domain of speciality by collecting the metadata of the documents and resources accessible on the internet and the OAI repositories.

Finally, the OAI protocol allows the communication between diverse and heterogenous databases and the development of partnership between various establishments very close by their collection or by their public.

The OAI-PMH has been elaborated by the Open Archive Initiative Open Archive Initiative (after the Santa Fe convention in 1999) to facilitate the description and the dissemination of metadata (= descriptive data) of scientific articles available through open access on the internet , specially in the pre-publications directories. Very quickly, it appeared to be so well adapted to the sharing of the metadata of scientific and cultural documents, existing in homogeneous and various resources. The version 2 of the OAI protocol became steady by June 2002 after an experimental phase. The last version is considered as the defined specification.
   
2. Aims of the OAI protocol
  The OAI protocol allows :
  • to lower the "invisible web "barriers by pointing out the resources non accessible by the search engines;

  • to facilitate the interoperability of documentary resources, without duplicating, neither uploading of primary digital records ;

  • to update simply and automatically the collected metadata and links, by recuperating the last modifications of the reservoirs sources, without copying the integrality of the data ;

  • to encourage the use of a descriptive format fairly generic for interdisciplinary needs ;

  • to integrate heterogeneous resources, while maintaining the descriptive traditions, and keeping the parralled maintenance of these traditions of other use.
   
   

 

Updated : February, 2nd, 2010

 
basdepage.gif

Institut Pasteur Media Library
Scientific Information Center
28, rue du Docteur Roux - 75724 Paris Cedex 15 - France

 

Imprimer cette page

Ressources
Ressources Services Expositions virtuelles
Portail Institut Pasteur english version
   

Document sans nom

 

Les Archives Ouvertes > Protocole oai
   
puce jaune 1. Définition du protocole OAI
puce jaune 2. Objectifs du protocole OAI
   
puce jaune 1. Définition du protocole OAI
   
 

Les bases d'archives ouvertes telles que HAL sont compatibles OAI-PMH (Open Archives Initiative's Protocol for Metadata Harvesting). C'est un protocole d'échange de données entre :

  - des fournisseurs de données (bibliothèques, musées...) qui ont mis en place des entrepôts OAI pour stocker leurs données,

- des fournisseurs de services (qui peuvent aussi être des bibliothèques, centres de documentation, portails thématiques) qui ont mis en place des moissonneurs OAI pour collecter les métadonnées des sites qui les intéressent.

Ce protocole d'échange permet de créer, d'alimenter et de tenir à jour, par des procédures automatisées, des réservoirs d'enregistrements qui signalent, décrivent et rendent accessibles des documents en texte intégral, sans les dupliquer ni modifier leur localisation d'origine.

Grâce au protocole OAI, une bibliothèque agissant en tant que fournisseur de données a la possibilité d'offrir une visibilité accrue à ses documents, notamment à ses publications électroniques ou à ses fonds spécialisés.

Réciproquement, en tant que fournisseur de services, une bibliothèque peut réaliser une base de données ou un portail documentaire dans son domaine de spécialité, en collectant les données descriptives de ressources et documents de tous types, accessibles sur l'Internet dans des entrepôts OAI.

Enfin, le protocole OAI permet de faire communiquer entre elles des bases de données diverses et hétérogènes, et donc de réaliser des partenariats entre plusieurs établissements que rapprochent leurs collections (complémentarité des fonds) ou leurs publics (services culturels d'une même collectivité).

L'OAI-PMH a été élaboré par l'Open Archive Initiative (à l'issue de la Convention de Santa Fe, 1999) pour faciliter la description et la diffusion des métadonnées (= données descriptives) d'articles scientifiques disponibles en accès ouvert sur Internet, notamment dans des répertoires de pré-publications. Il s'est vite révélé très adapté au partage de métadonnées de documents scientifiques ou culturels, présentes dans des ensembles de ressources homogènes ou hétérogènes, plus ou moins réparties. Après une phase d'expérimentation, le protocole a atteint une certaine stabilité depuis juin 2002, avec sa version 2, considérée comme la spécification définitive.
   
puce jaune 2. Objectifs du protocole OAI
 


Le protocole OAI permet :

  • d'abattre des barrières du "web invisible" en rendant possible le signalement de ressources non accessibles aux moteurs de recherche ;

  • de faciliter l'interopérabilité des ressources documentaires culturelles, sans duplication ni déchargement des documents numériques primaires ;

  • de mettre à jour simplement et automatiquement des métadonnées collectées et des liens, en répercutant les dernières modifications des réservoirs sources, sans copier à nouveau l'intégralité des données (la charge n'en étant que plus légère pour les serveurs) ;

  • d'encourager l'utilisation d'un format de description assez générique pour les besoins transdisciplinaires, même les plus simples, sans interdire des spécifications adaptées à des besoins plus spécialisés ;

  • d'intégrer, de ce fait, des ressources d'origines diverses, dans des traditions descriptives propres, sans empêcher le maintien parallèle de ces traditions pour d'autres usages.
   

 

Mise à jour : 02 février 2010

 
basdepage.gif

Institut Pasteur - Médiathèque Scientifique
Centre d'Information Scientifique
28, rue du Docteur Roux - 75724 Paris Cedex 15

Imprimer cette page